We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great food”
Review of Charcoal Kebab

Charcoal Kebab
Ranked #13 of 225 Restaurants in Herndon
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$20
Good for: Child-friendly
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Reston, Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great food”
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Excellent food and very affordable prices. They use many different sauces and flavors from Afghanistan. They also have a variety of side orders to choose from. The restaurant also has long enough hours so you can eat there for lunch and/or for dinner.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank deboulos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    46
    12
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Harrisonburg, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Very good Quality...but rice is not that good!”
Reviewed 29 October 2013

The meat is so fresh and halal . But the rice is little bit low in Quality.

Love to eat in it ...recommend the combo ...also they have the salt milk drink ...called Ayran with mint.. very nice drink

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Samy1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Consistently Excellent”
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Every few weeks we visit Charcoal Kebab for lunch, and even occasionally for dinner. As other reviewers have noted, it's basic decor and counter service, but clean and serviceable. It's the food that brings us back - Generous portions of freshly grilled and perfectly seasoned meats, tasty sides, and fresh, puffy, perfect naan bread for under $10. My personal favorite is the tandoori chicken with a side of chickpeas. All kebabs come with naan that's bigger than your plate, a choice of sides (chickpeas!), rice and a small salad, plus cucumber yogurt dip. There are a few other non-kebab choices as well, but I just can't get away from the tandoori chicken. Colleagues love the lamb and regular chicken kebabs - I don't think you can go wrong with any of the kebabs. It gets busy at lunch if you don't go early, but it's worth the wait.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank flyiad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leesburg, Virginia
2 reviews
“Tasty kabob lunch spot”
Reviewed 8 October 2013

This is a standard lunch spot here and the kabobs and bread are quite tasty. At lunch time the service can be a bit slow and the seating arrangements are pretty basic. However, the wall decorations fit nicely with the Afghan theme.
In summary, don't expect fancy décor or even the most efficient service, but if you want a nice tasty kabob lunch, this is one of the better option in Herndon.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrisonburg, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“This place is awesome!”
Reviewed 4 September 2013

I love this place so much, although I live one hour and half from it. However, I usually when I pick up or drop a friend to Dullas Airport, I have my lunch or dinner in it...

Excellent options, and people are so friendly...little bit spicy but you can tell them less spicy...

Also, not expensive for the amount.

Fresh bread...made in the restaurant... i totally love it...one of my best places

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Samy1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Charcoal Kebab also viewed

 

Been to Charcoal Kebab? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing