We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, great staff, and great location.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Dulles Airport Hotel
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Herndon
Certificate of Excellence
Richmond, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great hotel, great staff, and great location.”
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Was traveling for work, and had a great stay. As a platinum member, we were treated superbly! Upgraded to a Queen/Queen suite in the "tower building" which was very quiet, that also had a club lounge with chips, water, coffee, and soft drinks offered for free 24/7! Also got free popcorn in room, as well as a protein bar. Rooms were very spacious, comfortable, and clean! Got free buffet breakfast at Houlihan's which was also great! Thanks for another great stay!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anonymous U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scummiskey, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Dulles Airport Hotel, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Thank you for your review of your recent stay at our Crowne Plaza Dulles hotel. We love to welcome returning IHG Rewards Club members and are glad that you enjoyed the amenities in your guest room as well as the Club Lounge and Houlihan's breakfast.
We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel during your next visit to the Herndon area. Thank you for choosing Crowne Plaza.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

970 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    598
    231
    84
    33
    24
See reviews for
132
124
101
524
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Glendale, California
Level 6 Contributor
260 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

This was a perfect place to stay before a long flight to Cape Town. Room was spacious, very comfortable with large bathroom, coffee maker and microwave. While there is not a fine dining restaurant on site, the pub had adequate choices on the menu. The breakfast buffet (additional charge) was fine. The airport shuttle was very convenient. Staff courteous and helpful. Would definitely stay again if we had another layover before a grueling flight or a trip to the space museum.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zuzka E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scummiskey, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Dulles Airport Hotel, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Thank you for your review of your recent stay at our Crowne Plaza hotel. We are glad that you enjoyed your guestroom amenities, as well as Houlihan's Restaurant & Bar and our complimentary 24-hr airport shuttle. We focus on providing excellent customer service, so are especially pleased that you found our staff helpful and courteous.
We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back on your next trip through Dulles Airport. I also would like to suggest booking our Park, Stay & Go or Air & Space packages for your next visit.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riverside, CA
Level 6 Contributor
186 reviews
186 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 222 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

At check-in we were told that we had been given an "upgraded room." This turned out to be a handicapped room. It was large, had pleasant décor, and was decently lit. It contained two comfortable chairs, a large desk, a large mini-fridge with freezer, and a small microwave. The bed was comfortable and we had a quiet night's sleep. The bathroom was large and well lit but had little counter space. The floor was sticky. The shower had no splash guards (thus it was wheelchair accessible), so water ran all over the bathroom floor. I'm sure this works for someone in a wheelchair, but for us it was just annoying. We had to spread towels on the bathroom floor. The shower head had a weak flow, too. We would rather have had a regular room than this "upgrade." We ate a good dinner at the Houlihan's onsite at a reasonable price. The shuttle service to the airport was efficient. I might have given four stars to a regular room.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank 4 Joyful Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scummiskey, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Dulles Airport Hotel, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Thank you for your review of your recent stay at our hotel. We are glad that you got a restful night's sleep and enjoyed the room's amenities, as well as our Houlihan's Restaurant and the complimentary airport shuttle.
Our handicapped guestrooms are oversized and many guests prefer them for this reason, but I have forwarded your suggestion regarding notifying guests upon check-in if a room is handicapped in case they would prefer to choose another room.
Thank you for your input and we look forward to the opportunity to host you again during your next visit to the Dulles area.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013

Let's start first with the positives: The front desk greeted us immediately; there is a free airport shuttle; there is free WIFI (but see negatives); the on-site restaurant tried hard to have innovative dishes; and the meeting space was very nice. The room was clean and the amenities offered were nice. The towels were also good. There is a frig and microwave in the room.

However, the negatives were very apparent:
1. The welcoming front desk did not answer the phone (as did anyone else) when the fire alarms went off. Staff should never leave guests unattended in such situations. I almost gave the hotel a poor rating over this action. Also, although the front desk said the elevators had resumed running after the fire alarm, the elevators were not running, which necessitated a healthy walk up several flights of stairs.
2. The internet reception in my corner room was poor at best. Although the front desk had the technician call (who indicated that there was no problem), the WIFI was so bad that I eventually gave up working for the evening.
3. The pillows were way too soft, leading to having a stiff neck.
4. The HVAC unit was loud and smelled like a burning hair dryer when the heat was on.
5. The airport shuttle ran every 30 minutes. The first time, it went right past us. The second time, the driver tried to accommodate everyone with luggage piled in every possible spot in the van.
6. This hotel is hard to get to from the DC area unless you have a car or are inventive in the use of transit options.
7. The chair in the room may look interesting but it is very uncomfortable.

If I were to need to stay in this area again, I would probably explore the other hotel options. The meeting was at this hotel, which is why we stayed there. It should also be noted that the HVAC was so loud in the meeting room, that it was sometimes hard to hear speakers.

The staff tried hard (with the exception of the fire alarm situation) but there are improvements that can be made.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Often_on_road
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scummiskey, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Dulles Airport Hotel, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Thank you for your review of your recent stay at our hotel. We are glad that you enjoyed the complimentary 24-hr airport shuttle, as well as your guest room amenities and our Houlihan's Restaurant & Bar.
Our goal is to help each guest have a successful trip by getting a good night's sleep, so we are unhappy when that is disrupted by a fire alarm . Our staff was in attendance during the fire alarm and worked to reply to all guests in a timely basis. I would like to apologize for any delay in their response. I forwarded your comments regarding the AC unit and the Wi-Fi reception issues to our maintenance department for them to follow up.
While there are currently several public transit options to get to Washington D.C. from our hotel and Herndon, it can be somewhat time consuming to get downtown. I am pleased to let you know that the new Silver Line Reston Wiehle Ave. metro station will be opening early 2014. This station is located only four miles from our hotel and will provide a very convenient option for transportation to D.C.
We appreciate your comments, and our staff will continue to work to improve our guests' experience. We hope that you will consider staying at our hotel again during your next visit to the Herndon area and allow us the opportunity to exceed your expectations.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Very disappointed in my recent business stay at the Crowne Plaza, I found this property just so-so and not very responsive to business needs:

1. Airport shuttle is every 30 minutes, which would have been nice to know beforehand. I watched the shuttles for Marriott, Hyatt, Hilton, and Marriott Suites circle around at least twice before mine came;
1. Wireless connection is so slow/intermittent that it's impossible to get any work done;
2. Mattress is thin, flat, and worn out with a tiny little mattress pad on it. Big let-down after a long day on an airplane.
3. No 24-hr room service/no place to eat late at night. Normally this wouldn't be a big deal for me, but Dulles is a place where people often arrive late at night so I thought there would be some options. My flight arrived at 11:30 PM and by the time I got to the hotel, my only option to eat was Taco Bell drive-thru...but I didn't have a car to go through, so there went that option.
4. Executive lounge not stocked with snacks as advertised. See #3 above;
5. Old-school under-window HVAC unit was quite loud and cycled on and off all night.

I'm not sure whether these issues are with this particular property or with Crowne Plaza in general; as a whole, the brand seems old and outdated to me. At any rate, next time I'm here on business I will stay somewhere else.

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank noellossie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scummiskey, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Dulles Airport Hotel, responded to this review, 25 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide us this feedback regarding your recent stay. I am truly sorry to hear that your stay was less than satisfactory. It is always our goal to provide our guests the very best in accommodations and distinguishable customer service. I have forwarded your comments to our management team for their review.
Our Houlihan's Restaurant & Bar serves a bar menu until midnight. For later night dining, there are other nearby late night dining options, including a 24-hr Amphora Diner and TGIF, for which our front desk staff would be happy to arrange transportation. Please do not hesitate to contact our staff if you notice that our Club Lounge snacks have been depleted or if you are having problems with the Wi-Fi access. They would be happy to contact our Wi-Fi server to help resolve any connection issues.
Thanks again for sharing your feedback, as we value your opinion. We hope to have the opportunity to host you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Slaton, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Very pleased with my recent 3 night stay at this Hotel. First off, the staff was extremely nice and very helpful. Hotel was clean, housekeeping was good and non-intrusive. The restaurant attached to the hotel was clean and food was decently priced. Room service was fast. As for rooms, this was your basic 3.5 star hotel room. The hotel was a 5 minute shuttle to the airport, which was convenient. Not having a car meant taking the shuttle to the airport and catching a bus downtown, which took about an hour and a half. Not the best location if you are spending your time downtown, but great if you need quick access to the airport. Overall, extremely pleased with this Hotel, would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cody B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scummiskey, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Dulles Airport Hotel, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Thank you for your recent review of our Crowne Plaza Dulles hotel. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and our hotel's amenities. I will forward your nice comments regarding our friendly staff to our management team as our focus is to always provide excellent customer service to our guests.
I am glad that you took advantage of our complimentary shuttle to Dulles Airport to access downtown DC. There is also public transportation access by bus to the closest metro stop. The new Silver line Reston Wiehle metro stop, which is just four miles from our hotel, will be opening in early 2014 and will provide much quicker access to downtown.
We look forward to hosting you again during your next trip to Washington DC/ Dulles area.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
77 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

Big size room with nice sofa. Free in room coffee maker with complimentary coffee and tea.
Good size swimming pool with whirlpool to wind down. Small fitness centre avail to sweat it out.

Free wifi in rooms. King size bed avail. Good toiletries amenities, Templespa, which my wife adores.
Airport shuttle every half hour.

No breakfast included.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zulnas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scummiskey, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Dulles Airport Hotel, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Thank you for your review of your recent stay at our hotel. We are pleased that you enjoyed your guestroom, including the complimentary Wi-Fi. Travel can be stressful, so it is nice that you were able to take advantage of our fitness center and indoor pool to help you relax.
Thank you for choosing Crowne Plaza, and we hope to have the opportunity to host you again during your next trip to the Dulles area.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Herndon hotels
1.3 mi away
Candlewood Suites Washington, Dulles Herndon
0.4 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Dulles Airport
1.1 mi away
Hyatt Regency Dulles
Hyatt Regency Dulles
#5 of 20 in Herndon
1,157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Herndon-Reston
2.2 mi away
Hilton Washington Dulles Airport
1.3 mi away
The Westin Washington Dulles Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Dulles Airport Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Dulles Airport Hotel

Property: Crowne Plaza Dulles Airport Hotel
Address: 2200 Centreville Rd, Herndon, VA 20170-4305
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Fairfax County > Herndon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Herndon
#3 Family Hotel in Herndon
#4 Business Hotel in Herndon
#5 Romantic Hotel in Herndon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Dulles Airport Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 327
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Crowne Plaza Dulles Airport, located in Herndon Virginia and in the heart of the Dulles Corridor, just 2 miles from Dulles International Airport (IAD). We provide complimentary 24-hr shuttle service to and from Dulles Airport. Onsite self parking is complimentary, and new valet service is available for a fee charged daily ($10 day, $15 overnight). Avoid traffic delays and parking fees for your next trip and book our Park, Stay & Go package. Complimentary Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel to make your stay more productive. Our Houlihan's Restaurant & Bar offers a popular and lively happy hour, as well as breakfast, lunch, dinner and room service. Starbucks Cafe is now open in the main lobby and available from 6am -6pm, 7 days a week. All guest rooms feature Hi-Def flat screen television and refrigerator. Enjoy a workout in our 24-hr fitness center. Also stay connected with our 24-hr business center. Our convenient location is within walking distance to restaurants, shopping & a multiplex movie theater. If you prefer to drive, Enterprise Car Rental is conveniently located just off our lobby. Washington D.C. Attractions are only 22 miles east, and the Smithsonian Udvar-Hazy Air & Space Museum is 4 miles away. Whether you want a comfortable stay before a flight or a base for your next business trip or vacation, you will find it at our well appointed hotel near Dulles Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, IHG, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Crowne Plaza Dulles Airport Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Herndon
Crowne Plaza Hotel Herndon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing