We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice View” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Doukenie Winery

Doukenie Winery
Ranked #1 of 2 things to do in Hillsboro
Attraction details
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
290 reviews
90 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Nice View”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

We were only able to stop at this winery for the day, so we cannot compare it to the others around the area.

Healthy mix of wines available to taste and enjoy. The grounds look stunning. Bill in the tasting room offered lots of insight to the history of Doukenie.

Our favorite was Hope's Legacy...both the wine and the baklava.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank TheTangoFox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    11
    7
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“beautiful place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013

Late review but can't get this place out of my head. Went there mid August, it was sunny and beautiful! Although it was a quick whole day vineyard hopping in Virginia, I found this place the best among the rest. Wines were good and we were welcomed warmly. The duck pond/lake adds character to the place, especially when you are allowed to fish (catch and release) and we were able to catch a couple of big ones. We hung out outside the entire time because it was beautiful out. I'd definitely go back and do some serious tastings int heir tasting room.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rona L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mid-Atlantic
Level Contributor
87 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Friendly service, nice setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2013

Visited on a quiet Friday in early December. They were setting up for their staff party, but they were very happy to serve our tastings in their cozy tasting room, right next to the fireplace.

Wine was good- Virginia wine is really improving! I have been visiting this area for 15+ years, and the wine is so much better now than when I started. Our host was very attentive, and made the visit very pleasant. I like their "Wine Word of the Day"- written up on the board next to the tasting menu. It is always fun to talk wine while drinking wine.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank NATS_fan_01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampton, Virginia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Spectacular scenes in October ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013 via mobile

Enjoyed sitting in the patio, listening to bluegrass music. Overlooking the lake and picturesque mountain in the background. Not music of a wine drinker, but my friends enjoyed their wine. This is a must if your out wine tasting in these parts.

Helpful?
Thank santiagojr100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Beautiful place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013

Enjoyed the ambience of this winery, sitting by the duck pond and listening to live music on a Friday night with delicious food from a food truck.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Connie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Doukenie Winery also viewed

Purcellville, Loudoun County
Purcellville, Loudoun County
 
Hillsboro, Loudoun County
Purcellville, Loudoun County
 

Been to Doukenie Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing