We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A nice rest after many miles”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Hillsville
Greenwood, Indiana
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A nice rest after many miles”
Reviewed 25 July 2013

This was a nice place to stop and rest after driving over 400 miles. Rooms were not real abundant because of special events, but we got one at last minute.
It was really nice and clean. The breakfast was great.
My only concern was the group of M/C riders sitting outside the door smoking where you had to go through their smoke to go in and out.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    48
    17
    4
    2
See reviews for
51
44
8
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cumberland, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 7 July 2013

We stayed one night here on our way to Florida. When done right the Holiday Inn Expresses rarely disappoint and he experience was very good. The room was, clean and in great condition. The staff was helpful and friendly. WIFI was not slow and satisfied my needs, which are not that of normal users. The breakfast was filling and plentiful. The pool was okay, one of the handrails on the main pool did not seem properly secured and the spa could have had cleaner water. It wasn't overly dirty, but you could tell it had been used frequently.

Room Tip: I liked my king suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Veritas938
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chillicothe, Ohio
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2013

We arrived at 2:30 am , check in was a little difficult. I had called an hour prior to arrival to check availability and was told they did have a king room. When we got there computer wouldn't allow check in for that date because then you had to check out the next day, big confusion. We were finally allowed to check in and was told in would be fixed when the day manager came in, room had a very funny smell, this is a non smoking non pet motel but it had a smell of cat urine. I didn't complain, too tired and still had to be checked out by 11. It was very clean, bedding was nice and bed very comfortable. There is a Shoneys next door that has an excellent breakfast bar even though the Holiday Inn Express has a free breakfast but since we didn't get into bed until three didn't quite make the breakfast bar before 9:30. I would recommend this lodging but would've asked for a different room because of smell had it not been the middle of the morning.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 22faith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level Contributor
50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2013

We stopped here on our way to Myrtle Beach. The room was very clean and the staff was very friendly. Overall the room was very quiet and made for a great one night stay. We will keep this hotel in mind should we ever go back that way.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hockeygypsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, South Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2013

We stayed here on a long road trip when our headlights went out and we had to stop for the night.The staff was very nice and helpful, the room was clean, breakfast was better than we expected, and the indoor pool was very nice and clean. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauren H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2013

Reasonable prices and very nice rooms. Comfortable beds, clean, good free breakfast. Would have liked to check out the indoor pool. Price with tax was $151. Staff was very nice and we were very happy with our stay.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sparkythebear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guelph, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2013

Stopped here en route from Myrtle Beach. Friendly staff upon check-in. We had a suite room which was a great size for our family of four. Room was quiet, but the air conditioner was quite loud. The décor at this hotel is quite out-dated, but it is impeccably clean and the beds are comfortable. In the morning, breakfast staff was again very friendly. The manager on duty opened the pool early for us so that our three year old could burn off some energy before hitting the road again (pool opens at 10 a.m. which is quite late). All in all, a good, comfortable stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lindseyt213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hillsville
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 8 in Hillsville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Hillsville
Hampton Inn Hillsville
#2 of 8 in Hillsville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn Hillsville
Quality Inn Hillsville
#8 of 8 in Hillsville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Motel 6 Hillsville
Motel 6 Hillsville
#3 of 8 in Hillsville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
7.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Galax
Hampton Inn Galax
#1 of 5 in Galax
4.5 of 5 bubbles 475 reviews
17.9 mi away
Best Western Bryson Inn
Best Western Bryson Inn
#2 of 8 in Mount Airy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express

Property: Holiday Inn Express
Address: 1994 Carrollton Pike, Hillsville, VA 24343-5203 (Formerly Comfort Inn & Suites)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Hillsville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Hillsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express 2.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newest addition along the mountains of southwest Virginia is the Holiday Inn Express Hotel of Hillsville, Virginia, conveniently located to I-77 and Exit 14, Adjacent to Shoney s Restaurant. The hotel is located just two miles from the Annual Labor Day Flea market and Gun Show. Special in room amenities include: FREE HIGH SPEED INTERNET, microwave and refrigerator, and free local calls. BUSINESS: Crossroad Institute, Vaughan Bassett Furniture Store, Wilcohess, Tune & Toler and Parkdale Mills. HOSPITAL: Twin County Regional Health Care UNIVERSITIES: Radford University and Virginia Tech University Local Attractions are Blue Ridge Parkway, New River Trial State Park, Annual Fiddlers Convention, Annual Labor Day Gun Show, Foster falls park and Blue Ridge Music Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), IHG, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Holiday Inn Express reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel Hillsville
Holiday Inn Hillsville
Holiday Inn Express Hillsville
Hillsville Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing