We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had to move to another hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Hillsville
Reviewed 24 June 2014

I had booked an room with two beds via the mobile app. We arrived very late and the room given to us was a king with a pull out that smelled of cigarette smoke. As a gold member of this chain and having booked a two bed property online, I was very disappointed at the changing of my reservation to this room type. My guess is that someone else complained and we were booted since we arrived so late. We had to move to another chain since there were no more rooms available. The computer system was also down which put the gal at the front desk in an impossible situation. The smoked in room should have been taken care of by housekeeping long before I arrived, and how about a plan B for the computer system issue?! Geez.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank mamptl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Dear mamptl,

Thank you for being an IHG Rewards Club Gold member and for leaving us a feedback. I apologize for the inconveniences you experienced with the room accommodation and is the level of service received did not meet your standards. Rest assured, your comments will be reviewed by the management of the hotel and will be used to target opportunity areas to avoid same incident in the future. We hope you give us another chance to show you how great our hotel is and allow us to redeem your faith in our award winning service.

Kind Regards,

Charisse V.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (149)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

86 - 92 of 149 reviews

Reviewed 6 June 2014

I think that the difference between this property and many of the other HIX properties is that this one is not corporately owned. This is my new favorite HIX!

Upon our arrival at this property, we were pleasantly surprised by the decor in the lobby. Beautifully and tastefully decorated, very welcoming and warm. The staff were the same way. Helpful and friendly, and the check in process was a breeze.

Our room was large and comfortable, with many extras that are not usually included in a regular hotel room. We appreciate the attention to those small details, such as chocolates, that make customers feel valued and comfortable. The best thing about our room was that it was extremely clean. Excellent housekeeping!

The breakfast in the morning was the usual HIX breakfast. The room was clean and well-stocked, and they had flavored creamers for the coffee. That should be standard for the chain, but surprisingly it isn't. It's always such a disappointment to go for coffee in the morning and find none...I asked about that at one property and they said "oh, we don't do that"....sad.

The staff is helpful, friendly, and welcoming. I felt like I was visiting with friends. I really hoping that we have a chance to stay here again. Good job!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SonriseBMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We were so tired from driving and we were lucky enough to get a room here very late at night. The desk clerk was very helpful and checked us in quickly. The room was great. The bathroom had everything we needed and we were lucky enough to get toothpaste from the front desk. The beds were comfortable and I loved the fact that there was 4 pillows on the bed. There was coffee ready for us early in the morning and we felt great to start our long drive home. Great stay. A little bit higher price than we wanted to pay but it was ok for one night.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank slc1255
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014 via mobile

In town for business hotels booked for miles because of graduation weekend Virginia tech. Got the last room available jucuzzi suite. Huge room. Clean but dated. Comfortable beds. Check in was very pleasant. Not much around the area to eat. Fast food is it. Breakfast buffet was good. Would stAy there again if in a pinch.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank maggie t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

This hotel was a last minute pick after 12 hours of driving. The man at the desk during the evening was very nice. He booked our room and gave us the internet prices. The room was huge and very clean. The breakfast on Easter Sunday was very good and well attended to.

Room Tip: We choose a suite and it was one of the biggest suites we have ever had. I will definitely keep thi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank spoonrice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Stayed at the HIE Friday night March 14. A friend and myself were tired after traveling all day. We were greeted at the front desk by Brad, a nice and very helpful young man. We wanted a room on the top floor, but the hotel was filling up fast. Brad somehow was able to get that room for us. We were so grateful for that. Thank you Brad !

Our room was very roomy, comfortable and clean. Big flat screen T.V., and nice fridge and microwave.
By far the best shower ever at any hotel. Did seem to not be an exhaust fan in the bathroom, which seemed kind of odd. Very comfortable beds.

The next morning, we ventured down to the breakfast bar. Was very pleased with the selection.
The food was good also. Our only complaint was the sausage gravy, which was just barely warm. Everything else was impressive.

Would surely stay at this HIE again.

Room Tip: Request a room on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank craig c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

This is a slightly above average hotel. The room was vey clean and was a nice size. The staff were very helpful and the price was average. It is a very good choice if you are in the Wytheville area and want to save some money. The room had a refrigerator, microwave and coffee maker.

This hotel serves a true complimentary hot breakfast. They have eggs and sausage along with a pancake maker. We didn't get a chance to use the pool, so I cannot comment on it.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PD2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

Dear PD2000,

We want to thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay.

I am glad to read that you were pleased with the services we provide. One of the greatest rewards is receiving encouraging feedback such as yours. Our staff takes pride in creating a memorable, exceptional experience for our guests. Hearing that we have accomplished that goal means that we have delivered you the value and experience you expect.

Thank you again for your kind words and we look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you again.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hillsville
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Hillsville
Hampton Inn Hillsville
#2 of 8 in Hillsville
510 reviews
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 8 in Hillsville
460 reviews
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn Hillsville
Quality Inn Hillsville
#7 of 8 in Hillsville
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mount Airy South
7.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Galax
Hampton Inn Galax
#1 of 5 in Galax
553 reviews
17.9 mi away
Best Western Bryson Inn
Best Western Bryson Inn
#2 of 8 in Mount Airy
639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express

Address: 1994 Carrollton Pike, Hillsville, VA 24343-5203 (Formerly Comfort Inn & Suites)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Hillsville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Hillsville
Price Range: £69 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express 2.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newest addition along the mountains of southwest Virginia is the Holiday Inn Express Hotel of Hillsville, Virginia, conveniently located to I-77 and Exit 14, Adjacent to Shoney s Restaurant. The hotel is located just two miles from the Annual Labor Day Flea market and Gun Show. Special in room amenities include: FREE HIGH SPEED INTERNET, microwave and refrigerator, and free local calls. BUSINESS: Crossroad Institute, Vaughan Bassett Furniture Store, Wilcohess, Tune & Toler and Parkdale Mills. HOSPITAL: Twin County Regional Health Care UNIVERSITIES: Radford University and Virginia Tech University Local Attractions are Blue Ridge Parkway, New River Trial State Park, Annual Fiddlers Convention, Annual Labor Day Gun Show, Foster falls park and Blue Ridge Music Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel Hillsville
Holiday Inn Hillsville
Holiday Inn Express Hillsville
Hillsville Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing