We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good room, no problems at all, but somewhat pricey”
Review of Super 8 Hillsville

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Super 8 Hillsville
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Hillsville
Raleigh, NC
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Good room, no problems at all, but somewhat pricey”
Reviewed 16 April 2012

I stayed over a recent Friday night, getting in fairly late and leaving early the next morning.

I found everything in the room to be clean, in good working order, and no significant problems at all. The motel had a large crowd judging from the log, yet it was very quiet and I got a good night's rest.

The room, bed and linens were all very clean (didn't check for dust bunnies...) and there were no pests. As I was walking to my 2nd floor room, the hallway floor felt sort of "squishy", but once in the room, everything was in good shape. The TV worked great, as did the network connection. The room didn't have a fridge or microwave, which I didn't need. I didn't check to see if the motel had a pool, weight room, or other amenities which I never use.

The only downside is the price- this motel is located in a cluster of other motels with attending fast food and restaurants, conveniently over the NC border along I-77; I had expected a fairly low price being way out in the middle of nowhere, but rates here were approx.$75 per night, more expensive for a Super 8 than I've see even in large metro areas. I can only imagine what other motels in the area must be like. If you plan staying on this stretch of road, first check the rates in Mount Airy, NC or Wytheville, VA to see if rates are better.

Other than that, this is a good Super 8.

Room Tip: Check rates at nearby motels or get discount coupons for this one- rates tend to be high
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank htomc42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bob24333, Manager at Super 8 Hillsville, responded to this review, 2 May 2012
Thanks for taking the time to post your review! We work everday to make sure are guest enjoy their stay and the experience. We hope to see you on your trip to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

423 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    122
    154
    96
    33
    18
See reviews for
165
141
40
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kutztown
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2012

The room was clean enough, and the bed was comfortable. We were given enough towels. The only problem was that the water was warm but not hot. I wouldn't stay here again unless I were sure that the water would be hot.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lindun104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bob24333, Manager at Super 8 Hillsville, responded to this review, 2 May 2012
Thanks for taking the time to post your review! We did have a problem with our hot water tank that night and have replaced it. We hope to see you again on your next visit to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goldsboro, NC
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2011

The motel is conveniently located to the Blue Ridge Pkwy and was quiet and comfortable. The room (210) had two queen beds was fairly clean except for the heavy dust/bunny's covering the edges of the carpet. The reason I have given them a poor rating mostly boils down to some cleanliness issues, staff attitude and treatment.
Check in was not friendly or pleasant. I asked for a ground floor room without any stairs. Scott wasn't friendly and said sarcastically that we were on the 2nd floor and there wasn't an elevator to the ground floor. That started us out on the wrong foot. I said I didn't care what floor we were on as long as there were no stairs.
Right after check in we noticed we had a dirty coffee pot (inside and outside). It looked like toothpaste had been splattered on it. I called from the rooms filthy telephone and asked Scott Sinnett (The Manager) for a clean coffee pot. He met us in the hall with one. We also mentioned we forgot to mention we had AAA and would he adjust the bill. He turned away from us, walked away saying "no" and went back into the office. My friend went into the front office and asked if we heard him correctly say "no" to our request, at which time he said he didn't hear us ask him that question. My friend told Scott that he was looking right at us when we asked him. He then said he would apply the discount and to "remind me in the morning".
We realized later that the 2nd pot was also dirty. I took the coffee pot to the office and told another staff member about the problem and he gave us yet another dirty coffee pot that had coffee splashed on inner carafe area and dusty dirt around the water entrance and top. He thought my asking for a clean coffee pot was just the glass part and argued that the coffee pot was the glass part. I told him that part was called the carafe! I told him regardless, both parts were dirty. With an attitude, he said he wasn't able to get another from the housekeeping department. I asked his name and he said Trevor. I asked politely for his last name and he said "My mother taught me not to give strangers my full name". I told him he was an adult now and he might need to give his full name at some time in his life, then asked for his employee number which he couldn't give me. He said, "You're not my mother". By this time it was 1:30am. I told him to forget the coffee pot He suggested we could go to another motel and the bill would be taken off. I told him I wasn't going anywhere else at that time of night. I thought this very disrespectful and intended to report his and his managers behavior to the owner and mention it on tripadvisor. I might mention it to AAA also.
The next morning I spoke to Scott again and asked to speak to Bob Patel (The owner). He said the owner was only in on Mondays and Wednesdays from 7:30 to 3:30 and wouldn't tell me how I could reach him. This customer service was ridiculous. In no way was I rude to either of them. I just wanted good service and a clean coffee pot! My pictures hopefully won't be too small.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank yearningtotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ohio
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2011

It was OK for an overnight stop. Breakfast was very basic Drinks,Ceral,Donuts,Waffles...
Be sure to use the coupon from the coupon books at the welcome centers on I-77 for the best room rate......

Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank OldEd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2011

We stayed here on our way down to and back from our vacation on Topsail Island, NC. The location is great, right on the way for us. The staff were friendly and helpful. The rooms were comfortable. The cable TV was fuzzy sometimes, but it worked. The Internet works fine, but makes you log back in every so often. The breakfast they provided was okay.
If you are looking for a better breakfast, go to the Comfort Inn in Hillsville, but you will pay almost twice as much.
There are not a lot of decent restaurant choices in Hillsville, so we drove to Mt Airy, NC (about 20 mins away) and found a lot of selection.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SFCtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Key West, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2011

Stayed here for the night before resuming our drive on the Skyline Drive. Great for the price. Nice dinner down the reet at a sports bar, 3 B's I think? Would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christopher E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HAMILTON
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2011

we stayed there on way to Myrtle Beach SC. very friendly staff very clean rooms . the breakfast very satisfying

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank go-away
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hillsville hotels
0.2 mi away
Motel 6 Hillsville
Motel 6 Hillsville
#3 of 8 in Hillsville
228 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 8 in Hillsville
428 reviews
0.3 mi away
Red Roof Inn Hillsville
Red Roof Inn Hillsville
#5 of 8 in Hillsville
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn Hillsville
Quality Inn Hillsville
#6 of 8 in Hillsville
134 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Express
#7 of 8 in Hillsville
136 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Hillsville
Hampton Inn Hillsville
#2 of 8 in Hillsville
472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Hillsville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Hillsville

Property: Super 8 Hillsville
Address: 99 Farmers Market Dr, Hillsville, VA 24343-3649
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Hillsville
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Hillsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Hillsville 2*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Super 8 Hillsville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super Eight Hillsville
Hillsville Super Eight
Hillsville Super 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing