We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worn, but clean”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Candlewood Suites Petersburg/Hopewell
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Hopewell
Reviewed 23 August 2014

This is definitely an older hotel, but it is fine for an overnight stop. It was quiet and the beds were comfortable. We arrived late evening and had trouble finding the desk clerk - didn't answer the phone number you had to call - but service was good after that.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank droofus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (94)
There are newer reviews for Candlewood Suites Petersburg/Hopewell
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 94 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2014

This is where you stay when you want a studio or one bedroom suite and save $15 to $20. We stayed here on our way up to New York from Georgia. There is no lobby. I would describe the entrance as a hallway with a pass-through window serving as the front desk. Upon entering, we immediately noticed one of the housekeepers sprawled out in a chair snoozing the afternoon away. The front desk attendant was pleasant and helpful. Note, however, the front desk is closed from 11 pm to 7 am. I would say the overall feel of the place is more that of a college dormitory.

The room was laid out well, but a little dated. The air conditioner was leaking and the carpet around it was wet. They do have free internet and a little store with laundry on the first floor. This is a basic hotel with minimal amenities. On our return from New York we stayed at the Country Inn one exit north of here and got a bigger room, pool, free hot breakfast, and better overall feeling for $17 more, which I would gladly pay before returning here.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ron t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Petersburg/Hopewell, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2014

Dear ron t,

Thank you for leaving us feedback on your recent stay. We are pleased that you liked our complimentary internet connection and found our front desk staff helpful. On the other hand, it is regrettable that issues with the air conditioning system in your room prevented you from fully enjoying your stay. We appreciate all the feedback we receive as this helps us gauge what we are doing right and what we need to improve on.

Thank you again for your comments, we hope to have the pleasure of serving you again soon.

Sincerely,

Tracy V.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We chose this hotel due to location and cost. The Staff was very friendly and helpful. We arrived for our nights stay at 12 midnight, and the check in clerk had our room keys and paperwork ready to go. The room was very clean and we were very impressed with all of the appliances that came with the room. Wish we could have stayed more than just a night! The next time we are in the Hopewell/Fort Lee area, we will be staying here again without a doubt. I highly recommend that anyone traveling to the area check this hotel out first. Very impressed and have no hesitation to give this an Excellent rating (and then some!).

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Randy_Dee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014 via mobile

While traveling south from NJ we picked this place as our stop for the night based on trip advisor reviews. This was an excellent choice. We called to let them know we would be checking in late. The weekend check in clerk was very accommodating. We were very pleased with our room, location and courtesy. Highly recommend this hotel to others.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank hojonal354
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

The service and hospitality was nothing less than excellent. All appliances worked. Believe it or not, but I have been traveling for 25 plus years and if something doesn't work its frustrating and could make the stay lousy. My crew & I stayed there on and off for four months and always went back because of the atmosphere and well, everything. They could have paid less down the street but didn't. What made a big difference is I had to go to another project so I was gone for three weeks, when I returned, Karen Gay, Kimberly Jone and Marc Jackson all asked me, by name, "How are you doing and where have you been?". They extended this courtesy to my crew members. To me, that is great customer service and the workings of an excellent team.

M&M

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scott M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Nice quiet area. Staff was friendly. Close to grocery stores and restaurants. The room had all the amenities for cooking and everything. Very quiet area so that made it very nice. I parked right in front of the room I was staying in and I never heard any outside noise.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shimere W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2014

We Pcs from Ft. Carson, Co to Ft. Lee, Va and stayed at Candlewood with two kids, a dog, and a cat for over a week. The rooms were very nice. The staff went out of their way to make us feel welcome and help us out with anything. We had such a great stay with them. The cleaning lady let us use the vacuum and gave us fresh towels when we asked her. If we had to stay there again we definitely would. Prices were great also. If any military or anybody is coming to this area pick Candlewood you will be glad you did. Pet friendly too.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karla M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hopewell
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Petersburg / Hopewell
0.7 mi away
Stay - Over Suites
Stay - Over Suites
#3 of 7 in Hopewell
82 reviews
0.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Hopewell
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Hopewell Inn
0.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Prince George at Fort Lee
3.6 mi away
Comfort Suites Southpark
Comfort Suites Southpark
#3 of 8 in Colonial Heights
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites Petersburg/Hopewell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Petersburg/Hopewell

Address: 5113 Plaza Dr, Hopewell, VA 23860-7324
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Hopewell
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Hopewell
Price Range: £99 - £122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites Petersburg/Hopewell 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and experience our new Comforts of Home bedding collection. The Candlewood Suites Petersburg Hopewell Hotel offers weekly housekeeping service for stays of 7 or more nights. Fully equipped kitchens, 25' TV, VCR, AM/FM/CD/alarm Clock radio, iron/ ironing board, hairdryer, 2 telephone lines and free high speed Internet access. At the Candlewood Suites Petersburg Hopewell Hotel, we put the amenities where they really count: in your room. We are an all suite property, the perfect place for your next stay, and a great alternative to a corporate apartment. Each spacious suite has a full kitchen complete with microwave and full size refrigerator. Work efficiently at your over-sized executive desk and two separate phone lines - check email and talk on the phone at the same time. Relax in the overstuffed recliner while you enjoy the CD player and VCR. Borrow your favorites from our free video and CD library. Work off some stress in our fitness center or visit our Candlewood Cupboard. You can purchase meals, snacks and sundry items at value prices. Our setting is the perfect choice for business or leisure travelers, you can earn Priority Club reward points for each qualifying stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Candlewood Suites Petersburg/Hopewell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Petersburg/Hopewell Hotel Hopewell
Candlewood Hopewell
Candlewood Suites Hopewell
Hopewell Candlewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing