We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place to hang your hat for one night or extended stay!”
Review of Stay - Over Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Stay - Over Suites
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Hopewell
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 January 2014

Spacious, luxurious, affordable place to stay, it truly is a home away from home. The rooms are bigger than most studio apartment I have been in. Management was outstanding, if you are a Soldier looking for a place to stay long term, I highly recommend this hotel, as they really cater to the military family and their transition to a new area. As a military member myself, this is probably one of the nicest hotel that I have stayed in around a military installation.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ryan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly C, Manager at Stay - Over Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2014

Thank you so much for that review about the hotel and the team. We are so glad you chose to stay with us while you are re-locating to the Fort Lee area. You and your family have been a Joy it lights my heart when your son comes down and visits. We know it's hard during this process and we are truly glad you feel at home.

Kelly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (84)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

69 - 75 of 84 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2013

Jason D Henry.
My stay from May to June 28 2013 were great. The staff was very helpful in anything I ever needed. They accept dogs. I had my dog with me while I was in school in Ft Lee and the manager and all the staff loved my dog tank. They would always give him toys and treats every time they saw him and he sure loved the attention. The rooms were very spacious and clean with a kitchen. Made me feel like home. I recommend this hotel for anyone who is staying near Hopewell, VA.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jdhenry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly C, General Manager at Stay - Over Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2013

Jason,
Thanks so much for the kind words.....Home Away From Home is the goal we work towards for each and every person who stays here and I am so glad you felt that way. It is always an Honor to house our Military and their families while you are in school, vacations, etc. And Tank what can we say.....it's like we watched him grow to a little man. We still talk about him and miss his morning kisses.
Anytime you and your family come this way we hope you stay wtih us.
Kelly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2013

I travel to the Ft. Lee area for 60+ days a year and have stayed at 4 other Hopewell hotels, Stay-Over Suits is by far the best and the most friendliest. The rooms are spotlessly clean, the hotel staff are good people, and the beds are very comfortable. Thank you for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kirby C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly C, General Manager at Stay - Over Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2013

I can't thank you enough for the wonderful words about our hotel and the team. It is our Honor to serve the military. We know that being away from home and family is part of the job but we like to ease that as much as possiable.
I hope when your travels bring you back from the Great State of Texas you will call Stay-Over home.

Kelly Clark
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2013

We stayed at the hotel visiting my son at Fort Lee. The rooms were larger than the normal size room. They were comfortable and beautiful. We even had the opportunity to grill and enjoy the pavillion. The staff was great. We were greeted by Megan, Front Desk Clerk. She was very helpful and our checkin process was very easy. Our rooms were cleaned by Pinky, outstanding job. We will definitely recommend this hotel and will stay again.
Keep up the great work!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Denise D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly C, General Manager at Stay - Over Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2013

Thanks so much for the wonderful things said about the hotel and the team. Our goal is to ensure you have a great stay. We want you to feel like family and most of all we want your family to feel welcome.
We hope if your travels ever bring you back to our area we will be your hotel of choice.

KellyClark
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

My husband and I stayed at this hotel while he was working in Hopewell. We travel with our dog and staff is beyond pet friendly! They seem to genuinely love pets and will know their names, provide them toys and treats and can give you the location of several pet stores, veterinarians, pet friendly parks, etc. The guest rooms are huge and immaculately clean. Other reviews adequately detail what is included in each room, I will only add that the huge custom closet, granite countertops, stainless steel appliances, fully outfitted kitchenette, routinely steam cleaned and extremely comfortable king sized bed, beautiful furnishings and large wall mounted flat screen TVs certainly make you feel like you're living in luxury! The hotel boasts a fitness center, which includes a treadmill, stationary bike, elliptical, weight bench and multi-stage weight machine. There is a guest laundry with four washers, eight driers and a change machine (rarely found in most hotels!) $1.25 per machine, which is very reasonable, from what I've experienced. Hotel provides a free breakfast, and fresh cookies daily. Guests may also use the hotel's oven if needed (as there is no oven in the guest suite). A very nice outdoor area, with tables and a large gas grill, is available for guest use. We were blown away by the friendly staff, immaculately clean and well appointed rooms, and quiet, yet central location. Only disappointment was finding out they are not a chain hotel! The world definitely needs more Stay Over Suites!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta
Thank hlclark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly C, General Manager at Stay - Over Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2013

Thank you so so much for the wonderful review, we know you and your husband travel alot and I am glad we made you feel at home while you were here and hope that you will always stay here if life ever brings you back to our area.
We have recently added taking pets to our hotel, I myself have a spoiled rotten Boxer I understand that they are part of the family and we have loved having Capone here .
Ya'll will be missed

Kelly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2013

Really great accommodations with spacious and comfortable rooms. Staff was friendly and made my stay away from home a very welcomed choice. They even provided fresh baked cookies daily for those of us with sweet tooth. Nice…
Rooms were immaculately kept and housekeeping staff took the time to make the beds daily and not just pull the blanket over the beds as I’ve experienced in some of the bigger hotels chains recently.
Again, the stay was great, comfortable and welcoming, and the staff were equally as impressive and caring. Well Done.

Room Tip: Hotel is located off the beaten path, but close proximately to everything. Well worth the search..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly C, General Manager at Stay - Over Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2013

I can't thank you enough for your wonderful comments about the Hotel and our team. We know how hard it is to be away from home and I am very glad we in some small way made you feel like you were part of our family.
We know you have many choices when you travel but should you ever find your self back in our neck of the woods we hope your choice is us.
Stay safe in all your travels and we look forward to seeing you in the future.

Kelly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2013

Great experience! Rooms are new and large. The faculty are very supportive. You are about 5 minutes from post and an additional 8 minutes to the class parking lot. Flat screen wall mounted televisions, custom closets, stove, large refrigerator, bar area in your room, pull out additional bed. Morning breakfasts all you can eat. Occupants are good. I would definitely stay here again if in the area.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank queen m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly C, General Manager at Stay - Over Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2013

Boy, it's hard to believe that 4 months have come and gone. I can't tell you what an HONOR it's been having you all stay with us. I am so glad your time here was good and that if you are back in the area we are your hotel of choice.
I know it's been hard being away from your family , but I hope in some small way we made you feel at home.
Best of luck you will be missed, and thank you so much for your SERVICE, we are the Home of the Free only because of the Brave such as yourself.

Kelly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hopewell
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Hopewell Inn
0.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Hopewell
0.5 mi away
Quality Inn at Fort Lee
Quality Inn at Fort Lee
#6 of 7 in Hopewell
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Petersburg
8.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Petersburg - Ft. Lee
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Petersburg / Hopewell
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stay - Over Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stay - Over Suites

Address: 4115 Old Woodlawn St, Hopewell, VA 23860-6531
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Hopewell
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Hopewell
Price Range: £70 - £81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Stay - Over Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay-Over Suites, of Hopewell, Virginia provides executive suite accommodations and luxury extended stay services for travelers and vacationers at prices that are more than affordable. Our Proprietor, James Clayton established Stay-Over Suites in 2008 to honor armed service personnel that freely give their all defending our nation. We are proud to be able to offer Luxury Accommodations for armed service members and others while they are away from home.With Luxurious accommodations and a service staff that is ready to provide you with everything and anything to ensure your stay is pleasent and relaxing Stay -Over Suites is like staying at a good friend's home.... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Booking.com so you can book your Stay - Over Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing