We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Southern Hospitality at it's Finest”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Omni Homestead Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Hot Springs
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 29 July 2012

My husband and I stayed at the resort for a conference so our trip was part business and all pleasure. We have been to the Homestead many times, including taking our family of fourteen for a summer vacation and long winter holiday weekend there. We have never been disappointed. From the moment we arrived this trip, staff greeted us by name and asked how they could be helpful. We have had a variety of rooms during our many visits to the hotel. Our preference is staying in the historical main building. Every room has it's own character and is well appointed and refined. The room this visit was beautifully decorated, comfortable and clean. We were able to secure spa appointments easily, even though the hotel was extremely busy. Our first evening, we attended a black tie dinner in one of the large ballrooms. The food was excellent and so was
the service which was quick, responsive and courteous. The next two days we ate in The Dining
Room for breakfast and dinner. No complaints, but the new breakfast set-up was just a little
confusing. Our evening meals were, again, very well done and service was almost too attentive if
that is possible. We had lunch at Rubinos, which is at the Lower Cascades golf course. We were
not as impressed with the meal there. We invited guests to join us and wanted to give them a
little more than casual dining experience, even if it was just lunch. The shops' merchandise
seems to be of high quality, and I actually did some Christmas shopping in July since there were several sales and discounts being offered. Martha's Market brews a good, strong cup of coffee
and their donuts are to die for. I do wonder how the new Water Park and Miniature Golf facilities
will be received ... we know our grandchildren will enjoy them, but I'm just not certain how well these activities will fit into the refined resort atmosphere of the Homestead. After a short three
days, we had to bid farewell to our beautiful home away from home. Bellman and valet services
for our luggage and car were quick and efficient as was check-out, where everYthing was in
order. We will return often, I hope.

Room Tip: When making your reservation, ask for a room or suite with an enclosed porch in the historic main bu...
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (5,249)
There are newer reviews for The Omni Homestead Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4,663 - 4,669 of 5,249 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2012

The good: beautiful setting, grand hotel, great service. The grounds, common areas and porches were impeccable. The staff was well trained, friendly and attentive. There was plenty of activities for the family.

The bad: rooms in need of remodel (carpet needed replacing, loud air conditioner, peeling wallpaper). I do not spend a great deal of time in hotel rooms usually so this was not a big deal for me. Also the food was good but not quite on par with the price level.

When the rooms are remodeled and the food improved this will get 5 stars from me!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VA_travels60893
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHomesteadResort, Director of Marketing and Communications at The Omni Homestead Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2012

We appreciate your feedback concerning your recent stay with us and are glad you were able to enjoy our scenic grounds and hospitable staff. Under the leadership of our new executive chef, Sean O'Connell, we have introduced new menu items in our 1766 Grille, Casino and Sam Snead’s Tavern. We hope you return again to experience all of our new improvements!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2012

Looking for a getaway for relaxation by day and dancing by night, we chose the Homestead for a 5-night stay. The place was absolutely gorgeous and for the most part the room ,food, and service were excellent. Our room was surprisingly very spacious and comfortable. The room was clean and the bed was also very comfortable. Our only complaint as far as the room goes was that our housekeeper was not quite up to par for a resort of this caliber. Too often she left us with insufficient amounts of toilet and bath items, to the point where I had to call housekeeping to request items be brought to our room. Most of our days were spent relaxing at the beautiful pool. A very nice young lady saw to our every need, bringing us food and drinks poolside. She was attentive but not intrusive. The young ladies at the concierge desk were also very friendly and went out of their way to be helpful. We looked forward every afternoon to tea in the tremendous lobby, with live piano music.
Each evening, we dined in the main dining room. Most nights, the food and service were excellent. Of course, when dining at the same venue for 5 nights in a row, there will always be some menu items that you enjoy less than others. Such was the case here. But overall, the food was quite good. Most nights, the sevice in the dining room was excellent also. But one night, the service was not up to par and we expressed our dissatisfaction to the maitre 'd upon leaving. He assured us that the waitstaff involved that evening would be spoken to and we would not have any further problems with them. Well, to our surprise, the next evening it seemed like we were getting punished for complaining the night before because the service was even worse. Again, for a resort of this high caliber, the treatment we received on those evenings was totally unacceptable. While not totally ruining our otherwise wonderful experience at this resort, it certainly was disappointing.
Being ballroom dancers, we thoroughly enjoyed the fact that there was a live trio each evening in the main dining room, playing music that you could dance to before, during and after your meal. This was right up our alley ! The musicians were very accommodating, taking requests and playing just about anything you asked for.
There are numerous activities offered at this resort and you can do as much ( at additional cost, of course ) or as little as you like. Shuttle vans run continuously, taking you to the various activities that are located off premises. One morning, we took one of the shuttles to the natural hot spring pool for a relaxing soak. If you do nothing else during a stay at this resort, this is a must ! You will not regret it ! We also took a guided gorge hike one afternoon. While our guide was very knowledgable and informative, the hike itself was not all that enjoyable. It didn't help that halfway into our hike, the skies opened up and it poured on us. We came back to the resort looking like drowned rats, but just in time for afternoon tea ! What a sight we must have been !
Yes, this resort is on the expensive side. But it does have a lot to offer. And except for the few staffers who need to polish up their act, they do try to make your stay enjoyable. We would probably return for another visit in the future.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank berlac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHomesteadResort, Director of Marketing and Communications at The Omni Homestead Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2012

Your feedback regarding your recent stay at The Homestead is much appreciated. Live music during dinner in the Dining Room and afternoon tea are just a couple of our time-honored traditions and we’re glad you were able to enjoy both during your stay. We do regret that some of your staff interactions did not meet your expectations and appreciate your honest comments. We value reviews such as yours as they pinpoint areas in need of improvement. When you return, we hope you will visit our new Jefferson Springs spa garden which incorporates our native springs in an adults-only outdoor sanctuary.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2012

The Homestead is a beautiful and charming hotel tucked in the mountains with a one road quaint little shopping area. Though historically old with unique architectual structure the hotel is well maintained with updated bathrooms. There are many on-property activities such as swimming, bowling, hiking, lawn games, golfing, horseback riding and skeet shooting to name a few. The Southern charm is witnessed in the daily high tea served in the lobby and the numerous places that you can sit and quietly witness the beautiful surroundings. We enjoyed the skeet shooting as the instructors were very helpful in teaching the first timers. We highly recommend the Gorge Hike with Guide Brian LaFountain. Wear good hiking shoes and in the summer wear your bathing suit as you can get in the waterfalls to cool off. Brian is a wealth of knowledge and gladly shares his knowledge (and his jokes) with you in an animated and interesting manner.We stayed for three days which was enough to enjoy the slower pace of life.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the hotel gardens/mountains. Breakfast buffet was very good...try the smoked...
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LT T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHomesteadResort, Director of Marketing and Communications at The Omni Homestead Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2012

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at The Homestead. We take great pride in providing an abundance of activities for all ages and appreciate your kind words about Brian – he is a gem! We hope you will return soon for another relaxing visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2012

This was our first time at the Homestead. We decided to go after seeing a special on Travelzoo.com for our 10th anniversary. Our room was wonderful....grand southern hospitality. Very clean and the staff was so helpful and courteous. Most of the people from the surrounding area work at the hotel so they take pride in "the lady". My husband and I played golf; I rode horses, and we just relaxed which is what we needed. The only con of our visit is.....I think the food is too expensive for the quality. We ended up walking to downtown Hot Springs and eating breakfast in and lunch in a local restuarant which was good and reasonable. We would go back and I look forward to a future trip there.

Room Tip: we had a resort room in the south tower.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank navymom1995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHomesteadResort, Director of Marketing and Communications at The Omni Homestead Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2012

Thank you for the comments regarding your recent stay at The Homestead. We’re thrilled that you chose to celebrate such a special occasion at our resort! We take great pride in providing our guests with first class service and are pleased to hear that you had positive experiences with our gracious staff. We hope you return soon for another relaxing stay at The Homestead!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2012

We stayed last weekend at The Homestead and found it to be even better than during our last stay several years ago. We were greated warmly and enthusiastically upon arrival and ushered to a beautiful, large room. Not only was the room spacious, but it also was extremely clean--in fact, I NEVER walk barefoot on the carpet in any hotel but had no qualms about that here. The first night I had sliced roast sirloin--really a New York Strip steak, which was cooked perfectly--very tender and full of flavor. Second night I had a filet mignon, which was melt-in-your mouth tender and delicious. My husband had baked salmon and baked trout, respectively, and gushed about how good they were. Everyone with whom we came in contact from the doorman, to the bellman, to the wait staff were nice, friendly and helpful. It IS expensive, but what a gracious, old-world experience that leaves one feeling quite pampered. We definitely look forward to visiting again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lynt0m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHomesteadResort, Director of Marketing and Communications at The Omni Homestead Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2012

The comments regarding your recent stay at The Homestead are much appreciated! Our staff is committed to providing each guest with a memorable experience that they will cherish for years to come. We take pride in offering a variety of quality dining experiences and our new executive chef, Sean O'Connell, has introduced new menus and new menu items in our 1766 Grille, Casino and Sam Snead’s Tavern. We hope you return soon for another relaxing visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2012

We just got back from a trip to The Homestead and were disappointed. It was our first trip there and while the hotel and grounds are beautiful, and the history behind the hotel was interesting, the service was average at best. On multiple occasions, when we had inquires into dinner, activities, etc., instead of helping us, we were redirected elsewhere or instructed to call back, check back, try over there, etc. even though the person we were asking was capable of helping us. We were not seeking special treatment, but felt that for the money we were spending, the service should be better than that at our local non-resort venues. Travis, in the Old Course pro shop, was the one exception, as he went above and beyond to make our experience a good one and simple enjoyment. The food was great, once it was served - we waited an hour for dinner one night (from the time we ordered) with not one person checking on us or explaining the hold up, including the manager of the 1766 Grill who passed us several times. This lack of service seemed to be the theme for our stay, but given all the other positive comments, maybe our experience is the anomoly. It's a beautiful place in a great setting, but given the lack of attention to service, I don't know why we would go back especially for the amount of money that we spent for our 2-night stay. I think we'll try The Greenbrier or Nemacolin next time.

Room Tip: The tower rooms offer a fantastic view, however on the upper floors with only 4 rooms ... ours share...
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ValueOrientedMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHomesteadResort, Director of Marketing and Communications at The Omni Homestead Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2012

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at The Homestead. We appreciate your kind comments about our resort and Travis but regret that your other service interactions did not meet your expectations. Your feedback is is a valuable tool for us as we constantly strive to improve our guest experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hot Springs
17.0 mi away
Magnuson Hotel Mountain View
17.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Covington VA
Hampton Inn Covington VA
#1 of 5 in Covington
19 reviews
4.1 mi away
Inn at Gristmill Square
Inn at Gristmill Square
#1 of 5 in Warm Springs
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Roseloe Motel
Roseloe Motel
#2 of 2 in Hot Springs
57 reviews
14.4 mi away
Fort Lewis Lodge
Fort Lewis Lodge
#1 of 1 in Millboro
191 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Anderson Cottage Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Omni Homestead Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Omni Homestead Resort

Address: 7696 Sam Snead Highway, Hot Springs, VA 24445-2775
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Hot Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Hot Springs
Price Range: £168 - £332 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Omni Homestead Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 483
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Open since 1766, The Omni Homestead is one of America's most storied resorts, offering unparalleled hospitality and southern charm in a 2,000-acre setting within the Allegheny Mountains of southwestern Virginia. Renowned for its natural hot springs, The Homestead is distinguished by 483 luxurious guest rooms and suites, 72,000 square feet of meeting space, a wide array of fine and casual dining choices, an expansive spa, championship golf courses that include one of the nation's finest mountain courses (The Cascades), Allegheny Springs, a two-acre family-friendly water attraction complete with lazy river, water slides and water play zone. The resort also offers the South's first downhill ski area, an Equestrian Center, top-rated Shooting Club, archery, canoeing, falconry, Segway tours and a wealth of other recreational attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Omni Homestead Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Homestead Hotel Hot Springs
Homestead Hotel Hot Springs
Homestead Va
Homestead Hot Springs Virginia
Homestead Hot Springs Va
Homestead Resort Hot Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing