We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Homestead” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Omni Homestead Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Omni Homestead Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Hot Springs
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
New York, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The Homestead”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

The Homestead is a beautiful old historic hotel and is definitely worth the experience. The outdoor and indoor swimming pools as well as the natural hot mineral springs are wonderful. The staff are very friendly and it is a great place for kids. Plenty of entertainment for kids of all ages. The price for the room is not that much - but the restaurants, spa and other things are what makes it really expensive - though I would say the spa was worth it!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
2 Thank Eustacia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,629 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,478
    1,170
    571
    275
    135
See reviews for
1,509
1,823
67
714
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (633)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Woodstock, Virginia, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

Our family loves getting together for a long weekend at the Homestead. Some other high-quality resorts have a "snobby" atmosphere. But the sincere, down-to-earth, "above and beyond" service at the Homestead makes us feel as though it is a "home away from home."

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
3 Thank Karen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

This hotel is very pretty and fancy. Rooms are all well-appointed. Just be prepared for all the extras as not much is provided within the resort charge but for Internet access and the pools. Restaurants are pretty expensive. If you have a family, do take advantage of the outdoor and indoor pools, the free movies at night, and the chess and checkers tables. Make arrangements far in advance for dining, even for their "low-end" restaurants. We dined at Martha's Market for breakfast and found that to be a great option with a family. And it was packed too. It was too chilly when we were there, but there is a playground and some nice hikes as well.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travel_with_the_kids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

Excellent spring break at a beautiful resort with something for everyone! Helpful staff at every turn and activities to draw you outside and into the rich history of the area. Family particularly enjoyed the unlimited activities package which allowed everyone to participate in activities they enjoy as well as try new activities!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
2 Thank William C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burke, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

The outside assistance was incredible and very helpful. However, when I checked in and they told me I could not have the room type that I booked, I was not happy and would have thought at this type of hotel, this wouldn't happen. All I got was, sorry, nothing else is available...do you want a rollaway bed? Seriously? Do I want an uncomfortable bed to sleep on, is that your solution? This was the kind of response I might have expected from a run of the mill hotel, but not an upper class hotel like the Homestead. I went to my room and things were going well until that night, when the light on the desk did not work. I called and they said they would fix the problem...but noone came to my room that night. I assumed they would then fix it the next day when they cleaned my room, wrong. I had to call again the following night about the inoperatable light. On top of that, when they cleaned my room, they brought in a rollaway bed and put it right in my way. This time they fixed the light. They also came and took the rollaway bed away. Outside of these issues, the amenities were incredible and we have a great time golfing, riding horses, shooting clays, and taking the gorge hike. Top notch for sure and a highlight of our visit.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Robert Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HomesteadResort, Manager at The Omni Homestead Resort, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
We appreciate you visiting The Homestead and regret that you were not happy with your room accommodations. We are delighted, however, that you enjoyed golfing, horseback riding, shooting clays, and the gorge hike. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back again soon and to doing a better job of assigning your preferred accommodations. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

Although ultimately it was a nice weekend, the Homestead was at full capacity and the service was slow and check in delayed at an inconvenience. Making & adjusting reservations was tedious the weeks prior and it seems the telephones were down. The staff kept saying they were at capacity, things were slower. Many times it seemed as if they simply were not prepared to have full capacity. The servers in the main dining hall were not all trained. For the cost we expect better. My daughter had a pedicure and had shellac nailpolish that had to be removed which clearly irritated the pedicurist and thus my daughter did not receive the full pedicure. The double bed rooms have double beds - not queens and so it was hard to fit 2 people per bed comfortably. The water pressure was low and it was not hot. The sink did not drain. For the price it was unimpressive.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
3 Thank 450craigl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HomesteadResort, Manager at The Omni Homestead Resort, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Thank you for your comments and observations regarding your stay during a holiday weekend bustling with families having a great time and enjoying all The Homestead has to offer. We do apologize for the issue we had with water during your stay, and you may expect to hear from our Spa Director regarding your daughter’s experience with her pedicure. Again, thank you for sharing your experience so we may learn from it and make improvements. We hope that you will choose to visit our historic resort again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elkridge, Maryland
Level Contributor
155 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

Staff are friendly. Excellent services; Enjoyable stay; great amenities, helpful staff at all areas. I needed some business docs scanned to my email account and was assisted immediately without any problem at the business center. We plan to be back again!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank lavinia123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hot Springs
17.0 mi away
Magnuson Hotel Mountain View
24.5 mi away
Kingston Inn & Suites
Kingston Inn & Suites
#13 of 16 in Lexington
3.0 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
2.9 mi away
Roseloe Motel
Roseloe Motel
#2 of 2 in Hot Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Inn at Gristmill Square
Inn at Gristmill Square
#1 of 5 in Warm Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
18.1 mi away
The Hummingbird Inn
The Hummingbird Inn
#1 of 1 in Goshen
5.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
11.8 mi away
Hill Crest Bed & Breakfast
Hill Crest Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 4 in Clifton Forge
5.0 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Omni Homestead Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Omni Homestead Resort

Property: The Omni Homestead Resort
Address: 7696 Sam Snead Highway, Hot Springs, VA 24445-2775
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Hot Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Hot Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Omni Homestead Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 483
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Open since 1766, The Omni Homestead is one of America's most storied resorts, offering unparalleled hospitality and southern charm in a 2,000-acre setting within the Allegheny Mountains of southwestern Virginia. Renowned for its natural hot springs, The Homestead is distinguished by 483 luxurious guest rooms and suites, 72,000 square feet of meeting space, a wide array of fine and casual dining choices, an expansive spa, championship golf courses that include one of the nation's finest mountain courses (The Cascades), Allegheny Springs, a two-acre family-friendly water attraction complete with lazy river, water slides and water play zone. The resort also offers the South's first downhill ski area, an Equestrian Center, top-rated Shooting Club, archery, canoeing, falconry, Segway tours and a wealth of other recreational attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your The Omni Homestead Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Homestead Hotel Hot Springs
Homestead Hotel Hot Springs
Homestead Va
Homestead Hot Springs Virginia
Homestead Hot Springs Va
Homestead Resort Hot Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing