We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place but Very Expensive”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Omni Homestead Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Hot Springs
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Great resort, like an all-inclusive but nothing is included in the room rate. Very pricey - they nickle and dime you for everything. It was gorgeous though and the food, staff and amenities were wonderful. We were there for 4th of July, the fireworks were great and so were the outdoor concerts. Would recommend only for friends willing to spend big bucks!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank A2085VSjulies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (5,253)
There are newer reviews for The Omni Homestead Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3,401 - 3,407 of 5,254 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2014

Unclean bathroom. Hair found in bathroom floor, tub, rug, etc. Didn't want to use the robe - seemed uncle too. Water stains in carpet. Door handle to balcony fell off. TV remote did not work. I don't know if I would recommend this to members of my family who are used to high end experiences.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts
3  Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HomesteadResort, Manager at The Omni Homestead Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Thank you for visiting The Omni Homestead. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience you experienced. Your findings are unacceptable and will be shared with our Executive Housekeeper so we may improve the quality of cleanliness in our accommodations. It is our goal to provide each and every guest with clean, comfortable, luxurious accommodations, and delightful memories of their visit. We hope that you will give us another chance so we may regain your goodwill and confidence. Please contact me directly (540-839-7570) so I may personally make your reservations and ensure an enjoyable stay. We do hope that you will return again soon.
Leslie Tune
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Only areas for improvement are the breakfast buffet food quality and the Hotel is getting a bit run down and needs modernization. This could be turned into one of the best 5 star level attractions desparately needed in Virginia. People / staff are just excellent with and really good attitude. Activity choices are really good. A bit pricey but overall good. The Jeffereon offers a very small choice for meals and needs options for vegetarians. It has an excellent opportunity for improvement. The lobby bar was almost always empty as it didn't seem inviting. Maybe convert it to a cigar bar and let the rest use Jeffereson as was the case.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank ND111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HomesteadResort, Manager at The Omni Homestead Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Thank you for visiting our historic resort and for posting your review. We appreciate your observations and suggestions. It is good to know that you enjoyed the hospitality of our associates and the wealth of activity choices we offer. Our new Lobby Bar, with portraits of the 23 presidents who have visited The Homestead, has proven to be a popular venue with our guests on most evenings. We would not be able to convert it to a cigar bar due to its proximity to the Great Hall and current Virginia law, but, again, appreciate the suggestion. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Our fifth time for the 4th of July celebration. This past visit was the best yet! The facilities are fresh, clean and inviting. The new pool areas and arcade for youngsters are GREAT! There has been obvious effort made to be more family friendly and it makes a difference.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank Jon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HomesteadResort, Manager at The Omni Homestead Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Thank you for visiting The Homestead many times to celebrate the 4th of July. It is good to hear from our repeat guests as your opinions are important to us. We are delighted that you had a great experience and we appreciate your kind comments. We look forward to welcoming you back again next year, if not before!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Our family of 5 (2 adults, 3 kids) visited the Omni Homestead over the holiday weekend and had a wonderful time. We have been several times previously, including during the winter but this one topped them all. The staff could not have been more friendly and helpful, always wishing us a good morning or afternoon. There were tons of planned events and activities indoors and outdoors for the weekend, including a mini carnival, huge 4th of July BBQ, lawn games, and concerts.We had a large suite with a porch that was more than big enough for our family. Warm cookies and milk were left for the kids our first night, which were a big hit. We had one of the best meals ever at the Casino restaurant, and our server was wonderful! We hit Martha's Market every morning for coffee and doughnuts - can't go wrong there. There are great hiking trails around the mountains, and the Allegheny Springs pool complex is top notch (though - - warning - - though saving chairs is discouraged by the hotel, you will find it is done very early by a lot of guests and chairs are hard to come by later in the morning). Our only big complaint was the totally disconnect in service and quality of food between all the other resorts restaurants and Sam Snead's (SS) tavern. We arrived 10 minutes early for our reservation at SS, only to have one hostess grab menus and ask us to follow her to our table, when the head hostess immediately interrupted and said we were early and would have to wait until our table was ready (there was no one at the table were we eventually seated at, by the way). The food was terrible for each of the five meals we ordered, and highly overpriced even for the resort. We will not be returning there unless changes in the staff and meal quality are made. All in all, however, our family had a fantastic time at the Omni Homestead!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts
3  Thank J H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HomesteadResort, Manager at The Omni Homestead Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Thank you for visiting The Omni Homestead with your family. We are delighted that you had a wonderful time and appreciate your many kind comments. We do apologize for your experience at Sam Snead’s Tavern and want to assure you this is being reviewed by our Food and Beverage Director in order to prevent a recurrence. I note you also like to visit during the winter, and if I may be of assistance with a reservation, please feel free to contact me at 540-839-7570.
Leslie Tune
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

My wife and I decided to stay at the homestead as a nice change for the typical 4th celebrations. We were given a queen room on the 21st floor, which was in need of an update. The girl at the front desk was very helpful and understanding and moved us to a king in the new wing. This room had a small balcony but again needed updating especially to the bathroom. Carpets were also stained. Third time was a charm in the west wing were decorating and updates happened several years ago. Loved this room in the west wing (room numbers starting with 1080 thru 1480).
Fireworks and music were fantastic and I would return next year. Played the Old Course and it was in excellent condition. Playing an untouched Donald Ross layout was a treat.
Food was average and not what I would expect from The Homestead. The dining room food was expensive and not worth the price. Dining room service was poor as the staff needs training badly. Go to Jefferson's instead and eat on the porch or dining room. The food, service and ambiance are all better than main dining room. Martha's Market had the worst breakfast sandwich that I have ever seen or tried to eat.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank fardog1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We had our fifth family reunion at the Homestead over the 2014 Independence Day weekend, and had yet another wonderful stay. The service is polite, genteel, and gracious, the staff warm and welcoming, and the food spectacular as always. And they always put on one heck of a fireworks display!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank DCStark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hot Springs
17.0 mi away
Magnuson Hotel Mountain View
17.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Covington VA
Hampton Inn Covington VA
#1 of 5 in Covington
19 reviews
4.1 mi away
Inn at Gristmill Square
Inn at Gristmill Square
#1 of 5 in Warm Springs
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Roseloe Motel
Roseloe Motel
#2 of 2 in Hot Springs
57 reviews
14.4 mi away
Fort Lewis Lodge
Fort Lewis Lodge
#1 of 1 in Millboro
192 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Anderson Cottage Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Omni Homestead Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Omni Homestead Resort

Address: 7696 Sam Snead Highway, Hot Springs, VA 24445-2775
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Hot Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Hot Springs
Price Range: £167 - £331 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Omni Homestead Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 483
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Open since 1766, The Omni Homestead is one of America's most storied resorts, offering unparalleled hospitality and southern charm in a 2,000-acre setting within the Allegheny Mountains of southwestern Virginia. Renowned for its natural hot springs, The Homestead is distinguished by 483 luxurious guest rooms and suites, 72,000 square feet of meeting space, a wide array of fine and casual dining choices, an expansive spa, championship golf courses that include one of the nation's finest mountain courses (The Cascades), Allegheny Springs, a two-acre family-friendly water attraction complete with lazy river, water slides and water play zone. The resort also offers the South's first downhill ski area, an Equestrian Center, top-rated Shooting Club, archery, canoeing, falconry, Segway tours and a wealth of other recreational attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Omni Homestead Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Homestead Hotel Hot Springs
Homestead Hotel Hot Springs
Homestead Va
Homestead Hot Springs Virginia
Homestead Hot Springs Va
Homestead Resort Hot Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing