We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It was once a grand lady”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Omni Homestead Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Hot Springs
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Level Contributor
108 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“It was once a grand lady”
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

The service is good and so is the food. Very pricey you pay for everything, everything is an extra. The hotel has new additions like the out door pools, the spa and the jefferson room, and they are done very well. The rest of the hotel is old and needs to be updated. Example the indoor pool on the web-sight shows that the indoor pool in elegant, when it is really falling apart. Paint is pealing from the walls and ceiling, plaster has large hole. The pool was built in the 1920's and I am sure the paint that is peeling is lead paint that is falling into the pool. I have attached pictures of the pool.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Benjamin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HomesteadResort, Manager at The Omni Homestead Resort, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Thank you for visiting The Homestead and for posting your comments. We are glad that you enjoyed the service, food, outdoor pools, spa and Jefferson’s. The Homestead has undergone extensive renovations recently and plans will be made to restore the historic indoor pool in the future. Again, thank you, and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,804 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,607
    1,198
    582
    281
    136
See reviews for
1,572
1,895
73
729
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (645)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Media, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Just got back from our first trip to the Homestead and wish we were still there! We wanted a drive-to destination getaway and the Homestead was just that. We checked in around midnight after a six hour drive from PA (last hour was very remote and mountainous – be prepared to feel ‘off the grid’!). Even though the hotel common areas were nearly empty of guests at that hour, the valet, bellhop and front desk agent named Stewart were all very polite and greeted us with warm welcomes. We soon realized the hotel is HUGE. It has many more hallways and corridors than one could imagine. It took us about two days to figure out the “lay of the land”. Our room was full of bright colors and southern touches located in the garden wing which is the newest part of the hotel with a balcony overlooking a field and mountains. Most of the rooms do not have a balcony so we were very excited and thankful for the surprise. The main lobby is breathtaking and has a swanky vibe—it was worth the drive alone just to experience the Homestead lobby. Here is a recap of our favorites:

Lazy River/Waterslides/Pool-THE BEST! We found two chairs in the water by the lazy river, and it became our go to spot the whole trip. The two slides were also addicting and no matter what age they were fun to travel down multiple times. The lifeguards at the pool were much more attentive, outgoing and observant than other resorts. We also tried out the indoor pool. It was warm and great on a cloudy day, but it needs some upkeep as you could certainly tell its age.

Hike-We wanted to do the waterfall hike but found out that it was only for $$ and all the reservations were booked. So last minute decided to get a self-guided trail map and took the South trail. What a great choice! On our way we walked through many terrains including in the forest by the mountain, alongside a pasture with two beautiful horses that came up to us and let us pet them, through more woods, alongside a new luxury housing development, homestead stables with more horses and the falconry group with a complimentary viewing of the falcon flying on command to the instructor! This trail was more intense than anticipated—not for beginners.

Jefferson’s Bar and Grill—more casual, great service by Charlene—you must try the sweet butter and bread. Filet, frites, cheesecake, wedge salad were delicious. We sat outside the last night with gorgeous views of the property.

Main Dining Room—You really feel like you have suddenly gone back in time when you visit the main dining room. Had the pricey but tasty breakfast buffet. We would have loved to have had dinner here as there was a live band, dance floor and black tie service. Maybe next time…

Martha’s—Delicious breakfast sandwich perfect after overindulging the first night. Homemade biscuit, egg and breakfast meat of your choice, yummy pastries and Starbucks coffee. *Note—we recommend visiting the convenience store, ABC liquors and Subway in town to save on some of the items sold here.

Sam Snead’s- Sat at the bar and had a delicious dinner with new menu. Our bartender was MeMe/Mimi and she was so sweet and hospitable. We had the burger, reuben, irish nachos and fried apple dessert.

History Tour-It rained and was foggy the first day so we decided to go on the complimentary history tour. We were greeted by Keene and spent about an hour in the old movie theater/auditorium then were on our feet exploring the depths of the hotel for a second hour. Keene conducted his presentation flawlessly—you can tell he has been involved in the history of the hotel and the local area for many years. He has interesting personal touches and stories about the hotel, and it’s a great way to get acclimated with some of the areas that you wouldn’t even know existed.

The biggest downfall is the cost to value ratio. The “a la carte” approach can easily lead to guests feeling tricked or slighted because everything is extra. I witnessed many guests verbalizing this to other guests and hotel employees who feel the brunt of this complaint but do not deserve it. I would visit this resort again in a heartbeat if the cost structure was amended to be more competitive/reasonable. We joked that we did “Homestead on a Budget” and had an amazing stay, but missed out on a lot of activities and services because of the added costs.

Overall, we LOVED the Homestead with its rich history, landscape, architecture, southern hospitality and pool. The staff of the Homestead, Bath County locals and hotel guests alike take time to have a conversation with you which makes for a memorable experience. It’s the one place that I have been able to truly slow down, read a book, dress up, enjoy fine food and relax.

Room Tip: Balconies in the new garden wing! In the main part floor 11 could be loud but is most accessible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ssunshine1021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HomesteadResort, Manager at The Omni Homestead Resort, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Thank you for visiting The Homestead for the first time and for posting your kind review. We are thrilled you had such an enjoyable time and appreciate all your comments, as well as suggestions. All associates you took the time to personally mention by name will be recognized. May we suggest when planning a future visit to inquire about the Adventure Package or Unlimited Activities Package, as well as the Bed and Breakfast Plan. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon and to creating more wonderful Homestead memories!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 17 August 2014

If you go you must spend more than one night or you will not be able to participate in any of the offerings besides the pool. Beautiful place with lots of historical charm. Dress code required for dining in main restaurant. Also, get directions from hotel; do not rely on GPS (we had to climb a treacherous switch back 1 1/2 lane road to get to the hotel from I-64 - the route our Garmin advised ).

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Lisa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philadelphia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

My husband and I recently spent one night and following day at the resort. We would have loved to stay longer but were just passing through the area. We took advantage of the historic tour of the hotel, ate in the Jefferson Grill, swam in the Jefferson Pools, tried a few games in Downtime, and marveled at the beautiful grounds. The road to the resort is extremely windy but it was definitely worth the trip. I want to return to the Resort and stay longer the next time.

Room Tip: Our room was in the West Wing, the same area as the indoor spa and pool. We were close to the shops...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ipt2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlottesville, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Our room was right beside the ice vending machine and the front of the hotel. The noise from the ice machine being used as well as traffic coming and going was awful! There were also noises through out the night that sounded like maintenance was being done od pipes?? The air conditioner in our room was not working properly either! I called the front desk the morning after our first nights stay and advised them of these issues. We were advised as soon as another room became available we would be moved! Well we never received and follow up call and we were never moved! The only enjoyment during our 3 night stay was the Spa Garden during the day time hours. I would expect a resort with the name Omni attached would care more for their guests than how we were treated. This was our 4th visit to the Homestead and possibly our last based on our treatment and experiences!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
2 Thank Terry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HomesteadResort, Manager at The Omni Homestead Resort, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Thank you for visiting The Homestead and for posting your review. We appreciate hearing from our repeat guests as your opinions are valuable to us. Please accept our sincere apology for the inconvenience you experienced in regard to your room accommodations and the lack of follow up by our staff. We regret we did not meet your expectations or ours. As we would welcome the chance to regain your goodwill and confidence, please contact me directly when making plans for a future getaway (540-839-7570).
Sincerely,
Leslie R. Tune
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
40 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

I stayed here one night for a women's get together. My room was in the newer section of the hotel which was standard size with a balcony. There were two sinks vanity outside the bathroom which was nice and the bath/shower was good size.
The property was pretty but some TLC is needed here and there. The grand hallway is lovely especially early in the morning when not so many people are walking around.
There is no free morning coffee or tea provided but for $6. you can purchase a latte.
There is free tea and snacks provided around 3:00pm.
We had dinner in the most expensive restaurant which had horrible service. The waitress was extremely slow and for one in our party the food had to be returned. To their credit they comp our drinks and the one meal. For a 4/5 Star property this was unsatisfactory.
The outdoor pools are clean and well taken care of as well as the Spa area.
If you're a golfer their greens looked beautiful!
I would stay here again but would walk across the street to the little downtown for dinner.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leddy215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HomesteadResort, Manager at The Omni Homestead Resort, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Thank you for choosing The Homestead for a women’s get-together. We appreciate all your comments and suggestions which we will use as tools for improvement. All guest rooms do come equipped with a coffee maker and supplies. Guests who join the Omni Select Guest Program are also given daily coupons for complimentary coffee which may be delivered to their room with their Room Service order or redeemed at Martha’s Market. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mechanicsburg, United States
1 review
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Wonderful stay. The spa is amazing! I've never experienced such unique and luxurious services inside the spa and outside in the spa garden. We've stayed here several times and our room is always super clean, outdoor activities are endless. Food is amazing. Jefferson Dining has an unadvertised kids menu with adult-type menu options for a very reasonable price.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Robert Susan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hot Springs
17.0 mi away
Magnuson Hotel Mountain View
23.5 mi away
Marlinton Motor Inn Motel
Marlinton Motor Inn Motel
#1 of 1 in Marlinton
3.0 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
4.1 mi away
Inn at Gristmill Square
Inn at Gristmill Square
#1 of 5 in Warm Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Roseloe Motel
Roseloe Motel
#2 of 2 in Hot Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
14.4 mi away
Fort Lewis Lodge
Fort Lewis Lodge
#1 of 1 in Millboro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
18.0 mi away
The Hummingbird Inn
The Hummingbird Inn
#1 of 1 in Goshen
5.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Omni Homestead Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Omni Homestead Resort

Property: The Omni Homestead Resort
Address: 7696 Sam Snead Highway, Hot Springs, VA 24445-2775
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Hot Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Hot Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Omni Homestead Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 483
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Open since 1766, The Omni Homestead is one of America's most storied resorts, offering unparalleled hospitality and southern charm in a 2,000-acre setting within the Allegheny Mountains of southwestern Virginia. Renowned for its natural hot springs, The Homestead is distinguished by 483 luxurious guest rooms and suites, 72,000 square feet of meeting space, a wide array of fine and casual dining choices, an expansive spa, championship golf courses that include one of the nation's finest mountain courses (The Cascades), Allegheny Springs, a two-acre family-friendly water attraction complete with lazy river, water slides and water play zone. The resort also offers the South's first downhill ski area, an Equestrian Center, top-rated Shooting Club, archery, canoeing, falconry, Segway tours and a wealth of other recreational attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your The Omni Homestead Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Homestead Hotel Hot Springs
Homestead Hotel Hot Springs
Homestead Va
Homestead Hot Springs Virginia
Homestead Hot Springs Va
Homestead Resort Hot Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing