We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old World Charm & Hospitality”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Omni Homestead Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Hot Springs
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Alexandria, Virginia
2 reviews
“Old World Charm & Hospitality”
Reviewed 3 September 2014

I took my wife for her birthday to enjoy the natural hot springs and spa, but was
pleasantly surprised with outstanding service and hospitality with old world charm!
The hotel looks like something out of the roaring 20''s, but the rooms were spacious
and had all the modern conveniences. The Jefferson Pools were relaxing as was
spa, but we had the most fun on the hikes around the mountains. Their naturalist,
Brian, took us on an adventure into one of the prettiest valleys I have seen in this
country that included 12 waterfalls and a tropical forest! We thoroughly enjoyed our
and will definitely be back. I would highly recommend their restaurants and world
class golf courses as well.

Room Tip: I would upgrade to the King suites for the view and it was the best value.
See more room tips
Green Features: Their restaurants all serve sustainable dishes. The hotel has also been awarded for it's green practices with their staff and with educating their guests.
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Todd H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,117 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,767
    1,266
    624
    313
    147
See reviews for
1,714
1,997
77
769
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (669)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Williamsburg, VA
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2014

The Homestead Resort is very elegant and high end. It has beautiful buildings and the natural setting is to die for. The landscaping is great and very well done. There is an incredible array of things to do, ranging from the spa (which has been famous for over 200 years), to golf, to shooting to falconry, to tennis, to croquet, and to many more. There are also many quiet areas where you can sit, read, and sip a glass of wine if you like. It is tough to be bored at the Homestead. The rooms are very nice. There are high ceilings, big comfortable beds and nice bathrooms. There are a few signs of wear, such as spots of rust on metal baseboard heating units, some small cracks in tile in bathroom tile. But given the scale of the place (it is huge) I don't fault that much at all. The food is incredible, and I will review the restaurants separately, but there is nothing to fear but the bill from eating at the Homestead. As to dress for dinner, it ranges from coat and tie for the main dining room to purely casual in other venues.

In a nutshell, this is a wonderful place, very comfortable, and very expensive. The huge staff and size of physical plant help explain cost level, so I am not at all saying that it is overpriced or not worth it. But visiting the Homestead is not something we can do very often. Every year or two, would be a treat,however.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EdinVA09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nc
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2014

We stayed here in April 2014. It was a great time of year to be in Warm Springs. There are lovely places to hike. The warm springs are a must to experience. The hotel is absolutely gorgeous and historic. There are many small rooms in lounge in and read, play cards, just relax. I would love to stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashburn, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2014

I came here over Labor Day weekend 2014. I am still trying to figure out why people voluntarily pay $250+ per night to stay here. This is the most outdated hotel (I don't care if it's a historic landmark). They don't even have central AC but instead have AC units which don't work very well as our room was so muggy. When we first checked in our carpet, bed and sofa all had stains. We told the front desk and they "upgraded" us to a suite. It was hardly an upgrade as the suite was pretty bad as well. We wanted to get massages since we had heard good things about the spa but they were all booked. We looked at the area with the "hot springs" water and it looked mediocre. We went to the indoor pool which at least was heated, but that's all it really had going for it. We went to the Jeffersons Restaurant for dinner one night and it was extremely overpriced and not even remotely worth the money. Then we went to their Labor Day cookout which was $55 per person and all the food was cold and bland. WHY would you serve fried chicken when you know it's going to sit out and get cold? And that price didn't even include drinks -- we paid $50 for a mediocre bottle of wine. On the day we left we went to their cafe to grab a few breakfast sandwiches and they were sold out of the Bacon, Egg and Cheese Biscuit. Upon checkout I find that they tried to charge me $14 for a lunch that I never had. So I had to call and get that situated the next day. So yeah, we will NEVER be back.

  • Stayed September 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Sapna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HomesteadResort, Manager at The Omni Homestead Resort, responded to this review, 4 September 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We apologize for the aspects of your visit that could have been better. We rely heavily on receiving guest feedback to ensure we are providing the best resort experience possible and truly appreciate you taking the time to send your comments. We will continue to work on the areas of your concern and hope that you will visit us again in the future so we can show you a true Homestead experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roanoke, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 2 September 2014

Always enjoy the stay at the Homestead. They have a great family atmosphere and they always make you feel like family. Their swimming area is great for kids of all sizes. Water slides, lazy river and a great area for toddlers. They always have something for the whole family to do together. One of my favorite places to stay.

  • Stayed September 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank George S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfax, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2014

If my intention was to rate the atmosphere and incredible surroundings of this historic resort, it would easily be 5 stars, but I have to involve the other things as well, like you know food, service, amenities and the likes.

The drive to get here was quite scenic and can be an adventure in itself if you don't have GPS. Now that Omni has taken over, they really need to do a better job of placing directional signs within a 50 mile radius (like the exit on I-81 for starters) to at least try and direct people to this resort, unless that is, they don't want incidental visitors. Once you do arrive though, the grandeur of the palatial hotel makes up for the long drive. I opted to self-park in one of the 2 small lots near by, you can valet if you please. Upon arrival, several staff members are always around to assist you to get around and the main lobby area is very welcoming, especially in the midst of Winter it's extra cozy (this isn't my first time here).

Up in the rooms, it's pretty much a clean standard issue experience as with just about any other hotel. I suspect you wouldn't want be wasting your time in the rooms anyway, too many activities await. We actually never turned on the TV the entire 3 days, that says something considering I am a TV junkie. Don't be surprised to find the occasional Jurassic era cockroach in the main hallways, it happens, they're harmless.

Didn't golf, but did play some tennis and briefly checked out the pool and activity area. This part was great. The (clay) tennis courts were free to reserve and were a pleasure to play on with awesome mountain views in the background, no issues here. There was a croquet area with corn hole set up as well which was a fun little break on the way to the Casino to grab a bite to eat. The Casino was great, relaxing environment, great service, food was good and of course full bar service. Don't be confused now, there is no gambling in this casino, not even slots. This is however, where you go to set up your tennis or golf reservations. Once again, some signage would have been helpful, our group had to walk for 15 minutes to figure that one out.

So much more I can say, but let me get to my least favorite aspects that give this place 4 stars. The breakfast area, which isn't cheap mind you, was just a playground for kids to run around. The unruliness wasn't my biggest problem though, it was the fact that it seemed like utter chaos to get my food from the multiple buffet lines, worst of all, pancakes were completely out within minutes. You would think one of the hottest breakfast items would be quickly restocked, but nope, I went without pancakes sadly. Perhaps an adults-only area for the breakfast crowd would be nice, some of us come here to get away from kids and screaming, just a thought.

I'm pushing over 3000 characters now for this review, so I'll stop at this final note: this place has become less of an adult retreat that it was 6-8 years ago to more of a full blown family resort atmosphere, so keep that in mind if you want a quiet escape from your hectic life. This isn't the only resort in VA.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wombosi703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HomesteadResort, Manager at The Omni Homestead Resort, responded to this review, 4 September 2014
Thank you very much for continuing to be a valued guest of ours. We do recommend that all guests driving to The Homestead use the directions we have on our web site. Please accept our sincere apologies for not feeling we provided the same experience that you had in the past, but we assure you that our focus on guest services, quality of our dining outlets and overall guest experience has never been more concentrated. We really appreciate you taking the time to inform us of your thoughts pertaining to this last trip and we have reviewed your comments with our staff. We hope you will continue to visit us and if I may assist you in the future with a reservation, please contact me directly at (540) 839-7570 so I may ensure an enjoyable stay.
Sincerely,
Leslie R. Tune
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockville, MD
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2014

My wife and I really enjoyed our 3 day stay at the Homestead. We expected a stodgy old Hotel , but found just the opposite. The room was spacious and very quiet. WE ended up eating at the Wine Bar both nights and had the best soft shell grabs I have ever had. My wife's shrimp and grits were outstanding ..Had a great time playing a round of golf at the Old Course. We
look forward to returning soon ---

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelowls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hot Springs
17.0 mi away
Magnuson Hotel Mountain View
4.1 mi away
Inn at Gristmill Square
Inn at Gristmill Square
#1 of 5 in Warm Springs
215 reviews
2.9 mi away
Roseloe Motel
Roseloe Motel
#2 of 2 in Hot Springs
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.4 mi away
Fort Lewis Lodge
Fort Lewis Lodge
#1 of 1 in Millboro
187 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Anderson Cottage Bed and Breakfast
19.4 mi away
The Inn at Mountain Quest
The Inn at Mountain Quest
#1 of 6 in Marlinton
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Omni Homestead Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Omni Homestead Resort

Property: The Omni Homestead Resort
Address: 7696 Sam Snead Highway, Hot Springs, VA 24445-2775
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Hot Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Hot Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Omni Homestead Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 483
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Open since 1766, The Omni Homestead is one of America's most storied resorts, offering unparalleled hospitality and southern charm in a 2,000-acre setting within the Allegheny Mountains of southwestern Virginia. Renowned for its natural hot springs, The Homestead is distinguished by 483 luxurious guest rooms and suites, 72,000 square feet of meeting space, a wide array of fine and casual dining choices, an expansive spa, championship golf courses that include one of the nation's finest mountain courses (The Cascades), Allegheny Springs, a two-acre family-friendly water attraction complete with lazy river, water slides and water play zone. The resort also offers the South's first downhill ski area, an Equestrian Center, top-rated Shooting Club, archery, canoeing, falconry, Segway tours and a wealth of other recreational attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Omni Homestead Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Homestead Hotel Hot Springs
Homestead Hotel Hot Springs
Homestead Va
Homestead Hot Springs Virginia
Homestead Hot Springs Va
Homestead Resort Hot Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing