We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hosts and beautiful manor”
Review of Glen Gordon Manor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Glen Gordon Manor
Ranked #1 of 1 Huntly B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Beautiful grounds, very tasteful and luxurious accommodations, relaxed and genuine hospitality and wonderful food. The breakfasts were delicious but the dinner we had (cooked by Trent) was spectacular-- we enjoyed that meal more than our meal the next night at The Inn at Little Washington. It was relaxing to sit by the pool and read with the quiet green countryside surrounding us (we saw a bear a few hundred yards away loping over the hills). We asked for a snack to tide us over till our dinner out and were brought the best cheese/ meats and crackers platter I have ever had! It was equally relaxing to sit in the back of the main house watching the chickens and horses in the pasture.
We will definitely be coming back.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Amy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GGM_11, Owner at Glen Gordon Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2013

Many thanks for your wonderful review and we will be sure to tell Trent how much you enjoyed his cooking (as do we)! We are thrilled that you felt well cared for and look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Sincerely, Nancy Moon and Dayn Smith

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (240)
There are newer reviews for Glen Gordon Manor
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

180 - 186 of 240 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2013

The estate is absolutely beautiful, our room was perfect, the views were gorgeous, and the breakfast was outstanding. Dayn, Nancy, and Trent were very friendly and really made us feel at home. We enjoyed Trent's tour of the house while having a wonderful glass of wine. We had a very relaxing time and will go back in the fall!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Monalisa J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GGM_11, Owner at Glen Gordon Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2013

We so appreciate you taking the time to post such kind words regarding your experience at Glen Gordon Manor. It was a delight to share your company!

Sincerely, Nancy Moon and Dayn Smith

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

Perfect place to get away and leave everything behind.
Every view is spectacular. I spent hours just floating around the heated pool . . . looking at the mountains and listening to nature. Every room in the main house and where we stayed, Wakefield, was incredible! Every picture, piece of furniture, artifact has a story to tell. The meals were fabulous!!! You will regret leaving!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BostonMarathon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GGM_11, Owner at Glen Gordon Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2013

Thank you for choosing Glen Gordon Manor for your "get away". It is a pleasure to share with our guests the things we so enjoy here in Virginia. Floating in the pool with a spectacular view of Shenandoah National Park is also at the top of our list of favorites! Relaxing by the fire with a great glass of wine is perhaps next...

Sincerely, Nancy Moon and Dayn Smith

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013

My husband and I spent a wonderful weekend at Glen Gordon Manor for our anniversary. The setting and the B & B property are beautiful and the drive up through Virginia was breathtaking. Dayn, Nancy and Trent were welcoming and friendly offering a wonderful glass of wine upon our arrival as well as a tour of the main house. The cottage rooms are exquisite with comfy beds, baths and furnishings, great views of the mountains, horses and chickens. The dinner was exceptional in the beautiful dining room with one course after another of fresh, delicious, extraordinary offerings. The wine list is also wonderful and made for a great celebration dinner for our 44th anniversary. We will definitely return! We have stayed in many Virginia B & B's but this is definitely our favorite.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Mary Ann T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GGM_11, Owner at Glen Gordon Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2013

We are honored that you chose to celebrate your 44th!!! anniversary here at Glen Gordon Manor. It was our pleasure to have your company. In a time when divorce is prevalent, it was inspiring to see a couple married twice as long as we have been still so happy! We will look forward to your return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

My fiancee Andrea took me to Glen Gordon Manor for my birthday. Upon arrival we were greeted by one of the chefs who gave us a brief tour of the grounds. He then escorted us to our cottage a few paces away. Our cottage was right off the main house and was beautiful. Very clean, large king bed, huge bathroom overlooking the farm and horses. After dinner we walked the grounds and the stars were out and the view of the horizon was breathaking. When we got back to the room after dinner we literally passed out and could not hear a thing the whole night. It was so peaceful. Breakfast the next morning was delicious. We started with a warm berry scone (best we've ever had), then a balsamic glazed warm pear with greek yogurt and homeade granola. The main course..yes main course for breakfast...was a poached egg (chickens roam the grounds) on a potato cake with lump crab, arugula, and fresh tomatoes. Great cup of coffee to top it all off. We will be back!!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank pifranklin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

My wife and I just got back from spending 4 wonderful days at Glen Gordon. It's hard to add to all of the amazing things mentioned here so far about the place other than to say that they are all true. The food is better than perhaps all but a few of the top DC area restaurants. High praise for a B&B! The welcoming service by the hosts is warm and inviting without the pushiness and over-friendly manner that sometimes B&Bs can have. The grounds are immaculate. The views of the Blue Ridge mountains amazing. The rooms are cozy, yet spacious enough to be comfortable.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikeSAlex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2013

We recently stayed at Glen Gordon Manor for 3 nights. It was a wonderful experience in every way. We had breakfast and dinner there and the food was incredible! Dayn, Nancy, and Trent do a terrific job. Beautiful rooms (we stayed in the two bedroom side of the cottage) and the setting is so peaceful with rolling hills, clucking chickens and grazing horses. Relaxation is easy amongst the towering trees with swings and seats beneath the canopy. The pool is a perfect 85 degrees and the waterfall mesmerizes and lends itself to napping after a day visiting the nearby local wineries . Dayn was extremely helpful with directions, suggestions regarding vineyards and pointing us to the best meals in the vicinity. All in all a little slice of heaven in the beautiful Virginia Shenandoah Valley.

Room Tip: Two bedroom side of cottage is great for families.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BandD30269
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Huntly
10.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Front Royal
Hampton Inn Front Royal
#1 of 10 in Front Royal
858 reviews
22.2 mi away
The Mimslyn Inn
The Mimslyn Inn
#1 of 9 in Luray
994 reviews
12.0 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Quality Inn Skyline Drive
Quality Inn Skyline Drive
#3 of 10 in Front Royal
318 reviews
21.6 mi away
Skyland
Skyland
#1 of 1 in Shenandoah National Park
2,287 reviews
8.0 mi away
The Inn at Little Washington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glen Gordon Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glen Gordon Manor

Address: 1482 Zachary Taylor Hwy, Huntly, VA 22640-3139
Region: United States > Virginia > Rappahannock County > Huntly
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Huntly
Price Range: £171 - £287 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Glen Gordon Manor 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxurious destination bed and breakfast in Virginia Wine Country, Glen Gordon Manor boasts a rich history having formerly hosted members of the British royal family for many memorable hunts and balls. Overlooking the Shenandoah National Park from 45 acres of pasture, lawns, and gardens, guests will enjoy glorious views of the Blue Ridge Mountains. Dining at Glen Gordon Manor is truly an experience not to be missed! Your stay includes a leisurely, multi-course breakfast, and your trip would not be complete without joining us for dinner at least one night in our award-winning Houndstooth Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Glen Gordon Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing