We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Grayson Inn & Suites
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Independence
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
    Highlander Motel(Jefferson)
    View Hotel
    Good 3.5/5
      Jefferson Landing Lodge(West Jefferson)
      View Hotel
      Very Good 4/5
      • Pool
      • Fitness centre
      View Hotel
      Very Good 4/5
      • Free Wifi
      • Free Parking
      View Hotel
      Very Good 4/5
      Certificate of Excellence
      • Free Wifi
      • Free Parking
      Reviews (34)
      Filter reviews
      34 results
      Traveller rating
      13
      7
      7
      4
      3
      Traveller type
      Time of year
      LanguageAll languages
      13
      7
      7
      4
      3
      Show reviews that mention
      All reviewsroom was spacious and cleanrecommend this hotelaccommodationsvirginiaamenitieshousekeeping
      FilterAll languages
      Updating list...
      25 - 30 of 34 reviews
      Reviewed 14 July 2013

      Foremost, this hotel isn't worth the $65 they charge a night. I've stayed in nicer for less and gotten free breakfast. One of the least comfortable beds I've slept in. Although this hotel is in a quite location, the walls are thin, letting you hear everything going on in the next room.

      • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
        • Value
        • Location
        • Sleep Quality
        • Rooms
        • Cleanliness
        • Service
      2  Thank KennyMDavis
      This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      Reviewed 28 June 2013

      Stayed one night at the Grayson Inn. Rates are reasonable but $25.00 for a pet is a little expensive. The place we stayed the night before only charged $10.00. The room and bathroom was clean. The sheets were a bit thin and the carpet should be replaced. It had several stains and burnt places in it. The staff was very nice. I thought we would at least get a continental breakfast but nothing. My husband made coffee in the room but no tea bags for me.

      • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
        • Value
        • Location
        • Sleep Quality
        • Rooms
        • Cleanliness
        • Service
      1  Thank Travelgal0909
      This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      Reviewed 29 May 2013

      We were climbing Mt. Rogers in Grayson State Park and there are not a lot of handy hotels around, so we stayed at the Grayson Inn & Suites. It's a typical economy hotel with tube TV, microwave, refrigerator, coffee maker, but $75 is too much. We were advised upon arrival that breakfast had been discontinued. We were given keys that didn't work. We were directed to a pizza place for dinner that was just plain bad (not that there are a lot of options in Independence). We were the only car in the parking lot when we turned in (but there were 7 in the morning when we left). This suggests they could have spread their guests around, but...

      Nooo, couldn't do that. And, of course, at midnight our neighbor starts blasting his TV. I went to the office, but it's closed 11pm to 7am. I attempted to call TV dude, but the phone face was BLANK with no instructions how to make a call. I took a chance and dialed the room number but got somebody random and woke them up (oops, sorry). I banged on the wall and TV dude reduced his volume by 1/2 but given the paper-thin walls that was only partially helpful.

      The capper was the next morning. I asked if I could make a photocopy. "Sure, my colleague will be with you in a while once she's settled in." Um, not like there was a long line of guests, breakfast to look after or, in fact, anything else going on. His colleague emerged and said "Sure, we can make a copy, that'll be $2 for the first page and $.50 per page after that." HUH??

      No doubt we were a bit unlucky with all of this, but be forewarned.

      • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
        • Value
        • Location
        • Sleep Quality
        • Rooms
        • Cleanliness
        • Service
      3  Thank Steve S
      This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      Reviewed 14 April 2013

      We stay regularly at Grayson Inn. Rooms are always very clean with reasonable rates. We especially enjoy taking our two dogs there. Staff is always courteous and accommodating.
      Nice to have wireless internet and cable tv.

      Room Tip: Centrally located to New River and New River Trail, Appalachian Trail, and Grayson Highlands. Beautiful area and wonderful bluegrass music, too.
      • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
        • Value
        • Location
        • Sleep Quality
        • Rooms
        • Cleanliness
        • Service
      Thank applecross1
      This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      Reviewed 12 October 2012

      The staff are very friendly. The hotel rooms are spacious and have refridgerators and microwaves. Also free internet access. Very clean and comfortable. Prices are reasonable! We've stayed here several times while visiting friends and the hotel is always consistent!

      Room Tip: If you ask for a room facing the back you get a view of a green hill and trees.
      • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
        • Value
        • Location
        • Sleep Quality
        • Rooms
        • Cleanliness
        • Service
      Thank ExploringtheEarth
      This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      View more reviews