We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect location, perfect stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sao Rafael Atlantico
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Sesmarias
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect location, perfect stay.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2011

Stayed for 4 nights in this hotel and enjoyed every minute of it. Location is a bit remote but the hotel has a shuttle service into Albufeira for those who want it. For a longer stay a car would be an advantage. The staff were very welcoming and helpful. The hotel itself is ultramodern, clean and very comfortable. The indoor pool was lovely with subdued lighting and relaxing music. The buffet breakfast was more than adequate and we found a restaurant a few yards up the road which was not fancy but served the most delicious steaks we have tasted for a while.The beach was beautiful though there is a climb back up from it. The restaurant on the beach was closed while we were there but that is the price we paid for the wonderful peace and quiet we experienced. This hotel might not suit the real partygoers amongst us but if you want to chill in wonderful surroundings then this is the place for you.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Malcolm63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CSHOTELS, Manager at Sao Rafael Atlantico, responded to this review, 28 March 2011
Thank you very much for sharing your review from your recent stay at CS São Rafael Atlantic Hotel.
I must say that was with great satisfaction that I read your comments about our/ yours Hotel and I have already the chance to pass them to our team, that really enjoy your positive feedback.
Achieving and mantaining high quality standarts is our main goal and your review tell us that we are on the right path.
Our Beach Restaurant & Bar will be open daily very soon with our fish suggestions " catch of the day " and our relaxing sunset cocktails.

Kind Regards,

Álvaro Aragão
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,002 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    485
    325
    132
    35
    25
See reviews for
121
711
11
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (272)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vila Nova de Gaia, Portugal
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2011

Very good hotel with great facilities. The staff is great, always with a smile to offer you an appropriate answer to our questions. The beach is very beautiful likewise the restaurant in it. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pmpsv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CSHOTELS, Gerente at Sao Rafael Atlantico, responded to this review, 23 March 2011
We are very pleased to read your review regarding your recent stay at CS São Rafael Atlantic Hotel.
We are very fortunate to be supported by a group of professional and passionate colleagues who will go an extra mile to ensure that we exceeded our guest expectations and I have shared your feedback with the team. You are right, the São Rafael beach it´s an idilic place and our restaurant is the perfect spot to relax and taste our Algarvian fresh fish.
It will be our pleasure to welcome you again on your next visit.

Sunny Regards from Algarve,

Álvaro Aragão
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2011

Very nice hotel in a terrific location on São Rafael Beach. The hotel facilities are modern and cosy, we enjoyed the fireplaces in the bar and lobby it produced a warm and relaxing feeling. The room had a balcony were we could see the garden and swiming pools. We had a dinner in the restaurant and food was nice and not too expensive but there is no soul in that design, the walls too "clean" in my opinion.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brunoaze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CSHOTELS, Gerente at Sao Rafael Atlantico, responded to this review, 23 March 2011
At CS São Rafael Atlantic Hotel we highly value your feedback which gives us motivation to maintain our hight standarts.Our fireplaces are a detail that CS Hotels are proud to offer.

Thank you for your review and we look forward to see you again soon.

Your´s sincerely,

Álvaro Aragão
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2011

I very recently stayed at the CS Atlantic and would have to say it was an absolute pleasure. Everything, from the professional, prompt and polite service, to the comfort of the rooms was fantastic. The Day Spa is unbelievable and an idilic way to wind down after a hectic day (or night). The rooms are spacious, thoughfully laid out and very very comfortable, with perhaps the best bathrooms I have ever seen. Last of all, the breakfast buffet is comprehensive in selection and very good quality.I will definitely stay again when I next visit the Algarve.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank GolfTragedy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CSHOTELS, Gerente at Sao Rafael Atlantico, responded to this review, 23 March 2011
Thank you very much for your review, our guests satisfaction is our main concern.
It was a pleasure to share your comments with all of CS São Rafael Atlantic Hotel team, we due value our guests opinion.

Looking forward to welcome you again in a near future.

Kind Regards,

Álvaro Aragão
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2011

The hotel itself is really spacious and has minimalistic decor which works well. The staff are in general were not very good, did not speak very good englis. There is however so much detail missing. We chose this place to relax and be without any hassle, expecting everything to be in place. Sadly it was not.
ordered lamb chop but no lamb!!! soup was cold, service pathetic.
There is a big sign asking guests to take a shower before going into the outdoor pools. Problem is there are no showers! The same sign asks guests to check pool depth signs but there are none. There are no tables to go by the uncomfortable sunbeds and for smokers no ashtrays. There is no pool bar or pool side drinks service -5*?.
We had a suite. Lovely and spacious, hugely comfortable bed. No waste bin only in the toilet? No bath just showers.
Location was well out of town 15-20 minutes at least. Yet there was no shop in the hotel. Unusual or anywhere in sight.
There was no management presence that we saw. Thats it, I could go on and inspite of all these small details if they just got it right I would go back. we checked out after 1 night!!!!!! and did not get any compensation

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank michellemason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CSHOTELS, Social Media Administrator at Sao Rafael Atlantico, responded to this review, 31 January 2011
Dear Madam,

We are sincerely sorry that you did not have a pleasant experience with us. The hotel is in fact quite recent and is still in soft opening, which is why some of the things, such as the ones you mention, are being worked on and dealt with. We appreciate your position and subsequent feedback which we will obviously take into consideration. We do hope you change your mind and do come back to stay with us so we are given a chance to change your opinion on our services and facilities. We would like to welcome you again but in the meantime please accept our sincere apologies for the inconveniences.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vilnius, Lithuania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2011

The hotel without doubt deserves all 5 stars. Rooms are good size with
huge windows floor to ceiling and amazing views. I recommend see view to
make the most of them. Beds and pillows are the most comfortable.
Breakfast is very impressive, excellent variety and quality of food.
Beach is very close and so cosy even in winter. Unfortunately no cliff
walks around. There are many cliffs in the area but its too dangerous to
walk there.
What is really unforgettable is SPA. You have to pay €15 to get there
but it's well worth it. If you don't want to pay you have indoor pool
and well equipped gym for free.
You need a car to get to Albufeira and other places, because there is
nothing around at all. That's the price you pay for tranquility and
privacy.
We went to Armacao de Pera a few times for dinner, nice fishing village
about 20 min drive. Silves and Loule are very nice too (30 min drive).
Don't miss New Year celebration on Albufeira beach if you are there for
Xmas- about 50.000 people gathered for beach party and there was live
concert directly on the beach and a lot of fireworks!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Angelanew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CSHOTELS, Gerente at Sao Rafael Atlantico, responded to this review, 23 March 2011
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your stay at CS São Rafael Atlantic Hotel. We are pleased to learn that we managed to correspond to your expectations. The Chef and his team particurlarly thank you for your compliments on the food.
That´s true, we are blessed to be so closed to the São Rafael beautiful beach.

We truly look forward for your return hopefully in the near future.

Yours Sincerely,

Álvaro Aragão
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
139 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2010

Although it is 3 months since we've been back, our stay at this hotel remains unforgettable. It is a very modern, design hotel built only 1 year ago and happens to be on THEE most beautiful beach in the Algarve and one of the most beautiful in the world. In September, it was perfect but I heard that it is very crowded in the summer. There were beautiful cliff walks to take and get great photos of the surroundings.
The hotel remains discrete as it is about a 5' walk down to the beach on a good wooden pathway. It can't even be seen from the beach.There is also a bus service, if necessary. There are the original olive groves that were left there between the hotel and the beach.
The hotel itself, very design, had such powerful showers, it was incredible (but can be regulated of
course) .Needed some advice as to how to manage the ultra modern facets of the room. Some rooms are accesible only througha labyrinth of levels and corridors . Another negative point is that the spa was not free although seemed very good. Balcony lights could never be turned off and we thought that was a waste of energy. It never bothered us otherwise.
We ate a couple of times in the hotel restaurants (one by the beach and the other a la carte one). Both were good but one buffet dinner (Portuguese night) was disappointing. No indications as to what was on each buffet platter but after complaining, the labels were there. The breakfast was always excellent although unfortunately open till 10 only. I must admit that there was still a good choice to have had even at 10:30 and they were not strict about closing at a specific time..There is a beautiful terrace bar often with a musicien open from late afternoon.
The staff, especially Carlos and Diane were very helpful and treated each guest as if he was the only one there. Always good ideas as to what to do (even in Lisbon when we were leaving the hotel) and where to eat.
There were special golf rates at some courses, with a cart free and 1/2 price on green fees.
One should try to eat at the Don Carlos restaurant in Albufeira, and the the Marinheiro at Praia da Coelha. The Do Leme was simple but good as well , in Albufeira.
All in all a wonderful vacation.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jocaloda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sesmarias
0.3 mi away
Sao Rafael Suites
Sao Rafael Suites
#2 of 3 in Sesmarias
4.0 of 5 bubbles 840 reviews
6.6 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#2 of 163 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 956 reviews
2.1 mi away
Salgados Dunas Suites
Salgados Dunas Suites
#22 of 163 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
PortoBay Falesia
PortoBay Falesia
#7 of 163 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,117 reviews
6.2 mi away
Falesia Hotel
Falesia Hotel
#4 of 163 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,815 reviews
1.6 mi away
Vila Gale Praia
Vila Gale Praia
#3 of 163 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sao Rafael Atlantico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sao Rafael Atlantico

Property: Sao Rafael Atlantico
Address: Sesmarias, Albufeira 8200-613, Portugal (Formerly São Rafael Atlantic Hotel)
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira > Sesmarias
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Sesmarias
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sao Rafael Atlantico 5*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel Sao Rafael Atlantico enjoy a spectacular location overlooking the Atlantic sea, direct access to Sao Rafael Beach and only at a short drive to Albufeira centre. The interiors have contemporary design features with space and light throughout. The rooms are modern and have large balconies with views over the sea and gardens. The extensive gardens offer a beautiful mediterranean landscape with olive and palm trees. There is also a state-of-the-art SPA featuring leading wellness therapies and treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK) and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sao Rafael Atlantico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing