We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sao Rafael Atlantico
Nearby Hotels
US$304
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$278
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Baia Grande(Sesmarias)(Great Value!)
US$142
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$138
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Torre Velha Hotel(Albufeira)(Great Value!)
US$59
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Vila Joya(Gale)
US$638
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$211
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Vila Gale Atlantico(Gale)(Great Value!)
US$140
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Maritur(Albufeira)(Great Value!)
US$94
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$77
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bayside Salgados(Albufeira)(Great Value!)
US$80
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$65
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$164
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,233)
Filter reviews
1,233 results
Traveller rating
600
401
154
47
31
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
600
401
154
47
31
Show reviews that mention
All reviewschill out barwet roomal fresco restaurantsao rafaelstar hotelold townsea viewolive treespool areahotel groundslovely hotelhalf boardbeach barprivate beachsun loungerscouples hotelbuffet restaurant
Filter
Updating list...
525 - 530 of 1,233 reviews
Reviewed 4 October 2012

Just back from a great week,a thoroughly lovely experience celebrating our silver wedding anniversary. The staff were very helpul, and our room was spotless and very comfortable. Yes, the food could have been better, but it is hard to mass cater for so many people with the choices available. On the whole it was good, but i must ask one thing, please get some more salt and pepper pots !!!!! There were not enough for every table, and every meal we had there were always one or the other without anything in it. Please get the waiting staff to fill them up once a week:) We had a lovely surprise for our anniversary, with champagne and strawberries being delivered to our room. If you are reading this and thinking of going to this hotel then please do, you will not be disappointed. We would love to go back, with more of our family next year. Just one more thing, the hotel could make better use of the garden area, as a lot of guests liked to sunbathe there rather than the pool area. With a little bit of imagination it could be a lot better, without too much expense or effort.

Room Tip: sea facing, or 4th floor facing the gardens
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bertybhoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CSHOTELS, Manager at Sao Rafael Atlantico, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for sharing such positive review regarding your recent stay with us.
It is a great honor to know that you choose the CS São Rafael Atlantic Hotel for celebrate such a special occasion like your Silver Wedding Anniversary. I am thankful to know that you enjoyed the surprise that we arranged for you on this special date. Thank you very much for your kind words about the Hotel Team, they were delighted to know that you appreciated their services. I was grateful to know that you enjoyed our Hotel rooms they are very well equipped in a stylish design just to provide you an unique and relaxing experience.
I do highly value your comments, it helps us to improve the quality of our Hotel services and standards.

It is a great honor to know that you would love to visit us again.

I do hope to have the pleasure of welcome you back in a near future,

Sunny Regards from Algarve,

Álvaro Aragão
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2012

We visited this hotel last oct.. We stayed in room 450. We really enjoyed everything this hotel had to offer... So therefore we booked for this oct... I must admit the reviews are somewhat startling It does not sound like the hotel we stayed in last oct.. So if you are reading this Alvaro Aragao the manager we hope your standards have been ,maintained.. Firstly reviews have stated that. The lawns were overgrown. Last year we always sat on the lawn with a pod and it was delightful the grass was always attended to. So lets hope when we arrive on oct 11th they will be a delight again.. Looking forward to meeting the staff again. Marie....

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank granhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CSHOTELS, Manager at Sao Rafael Atlantico, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2012

Dear Guest,

On behalf of CS São Rafael Atlantic Hotel thank you for taking your time to share your opinion regarding your stay with us.
I was delighted to read that we were up to your expectations on your last visit and that you are coming back to visit us again.
Our Hotel Team strives to maintain a continuous improvement of the quality of our Hotel standards and to provide you the best service in order to achieve our daily goal: our Guests’ satisfaction.

It will be my pleasure to welcome you back on the 11th October.

Kind Regards,

Álvaro Aragão
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2012

My Wife and I have just returned from a weeks stay, it was very disappointing! What a difference a year makes! We usually like to visit places that we have never been too before but we had such a great holiday here last year that we thought we would return, what a mistake. The standard of the rooms and indoor cleanliness was still of a high standard but the gardens and pool areas were poorly maintained. The gardens last year were maintained and were spotless but now are overgrown and neglected as if the place were about to be closed down. The food in the restaurant was just about edible, wouldn't even call it 2* standard. The staff in reception and the bars were friendly and helpful but the waiter staff were moody and uninterested. The A/C in our room was very poor, we reported this to the reception staff and were told it was fixed but it never seemed to work properly which made sleeping uncomfortable. Overall we felt very let down by our experience at the hotel and would not return again. Perhaps if the restaurants and the gardens were sorted out this hotel could be a great place to go again!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LondonNicola1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CSHOTELS, Manager at Sao Rafael Atlantico, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your time to post your feedback regarding your recent stay at the CS São Rafael Atlantic Hotel. It was a great pleasure to know that you visit us for the second time, thank you for your loyalty. I deeply regret to read that that you were disappointed with our Hotel services and standards. It is always our intention to provide most warm and caring service to each and every guest, however your experience certainly felt short of the high standards we daily strive to achieve.
I will take on board your valued comments and they will be discussed with the Hotel Head Departments in order to implement the necessary measures to improve the quality of our Hotel services and facilities.

I hope that you give us another opportunity to welcome you again in a near future and show you our improvements.

Kind Regards,

Álvaro Aragão
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2012

Just back from spending a fabulous week in this wonderful hotel with my husband.
We arrived in the morning like most other people to a glass of bubbly and a very speedy check in. Our room was ready so we didn't have to wait at all. Our room was on the 2nd floor and over looked a garden area with a small pond/fountain so was extremely quiet and peaceful!

The room itself was great with a huge comfy bed. As others have said the shower was amazing!!!! There was lots of cupboard space for your clothes.

The hotel is very modern looking and was always very clean. The 3 pools were wonderful - yes a little cold when you 1st got in but that was welcomed in the baking sun! Both myself and my husband used them frequently.
The garden area was nice and there were more than enough sunbeds/pods to go around. Although I was always annoyed to go down after breakfast to find about 75% of them with towels on them even though it stats in black and white that you are not allowed to do this, i wish Thomson and the hotel would enforce this rule abit more.

Myself and my Husband treated ourselves to a couples massage as they had a special offer on in the spa and this was excellent!!! The girls in the spa are extremely professional and very good!
We then had the full use of the spa facilities for the rest of the day including Jacuzzi, steam room etc...i think if you are staying at this hotel it would be a great shame not to take advantage of these wonderful facilities.

I also used the Gym and indoor pool. The gym was quite small and one of the treadmills was out of use but overall it wasn't bad.

As a couple in our late twenties we found that most people in the hotel were alot older than ourselves which didn't really bother us and found that the low key entertainment catered for everyone. I enjoyed it all, including Elvis! The Portuguese dancers were very good aswell.

The food is pretty much as other reviewers have said, slightly disappointing in the Buffet resturant in the evenings but the Al Fresco resturant was lovely.

Overall, We went to this hotel for a relaxing week in the sunshine and thats exactly what we got, would definitely return.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WeeRo84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CSHOTELS, Manager at Sao Rafael Atlantico, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2012

Dear Guest,

On behalf of CS São Rafael Atlantic Hotel let me thank you for sharing with us and with other travelers your positive feedback regarding your recent stay.
It was a pleasure to read that you had a “fabulous week” with us. I was glad to know that you enjoyed our luxurious and peaceful rooms. They are special decorated with modern equipment just to provide you an enjoyable stay. Thank you very much for your comments about the SPA Team. I already pass them your inspiring words and they were grateful to know that you appreciated their services specially the Couple Massage. It is true, our modern SPA equipped with the latest technology, innovative treatments and wellness therapies provide you a truly unique experience.
I do regret if you felt disappointed with our food options at the evenings buffets, I will pass your opinion to our Executive Chef who always makes the necessary improvements just to please our guests.

I do hope to have the pleasure of welcome you again as we would like nothing more than to continue creating amazing CS Hotels memories for you.

Kind Regards,

Álvaro Aragão
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2012

We stayed at this hotel for a week during mid-September and we would definitely return. We have stayed in self-catering accomodation in Sao Rafael before, so we knew the area, and decided to treat ourselves by staying at the hotel, which was being built last time we were there. Having read some of the previous reviews we weren't quite sure what to expect - but we needn't have worried.

The hotel itself is bright, airy and spacious and decorated tastefully. On arrival we were welcomed with a glass of champagne and the check-in process was very quick and efficient. Even though it was only about midday, our room was ready, so we were able to get unpacked straight away.

Our room was great - a good size and really clean. It was at the front of the hotel, so didn't have sea views - but it was very peaceful looking out over the trees at the front. The bed was really comfy and the shower was incredible. The housemaids did a brilliant job every day - the room was always spotless. The only slight downside was that noise travels - for example chairs being scraped on the floor of rooms above/along the corridor, but it wasn't too often.

The pool area is beautiful - the 3 pools were always really clean, and the space around them, so I'm not sure where some of the negative comments below came from. We went swimming every day and it was a real treat. We tended to use the sunbeds and pods in the gardens, rather than the ones round the pool - and whilst there were a few broken sunbeds, there were enough for everyone and the pods were especially comfy. Again, our experience of the gardens was only a positive one - lots of olive trees dotted around, creating shade if needed for the sunbeds - very peaceful.

We chose Sao Rafael because of the beach, which is gorgeous. It's 5 minutes' walk from the hotel and definitely worth it. It was a lot busier this time than when we have been previously, and the sea seemed to be a bit rougher, but we still spent several happy afternoons there, watching the world go by. If you don't want a sunbed, we would recommend walking down to far left of the beach and setting up camp there.

As other people have pointed out, the hotel's general location isn't great if you want to be surrounded by lots of activities, bars etc - but we didn't, and a quiet holiday was exactly what we wanted. It's about 30 minutes to walk to Albufeira, through the marina - worth doing once during your holiday. In Albufeira itself, we would recommend the Casa de Fonte restaurant - lovely food in a shaded courtyard.

The food itself in the hotel was fine - there could be a bit more choice at some of the evening buffets in the main restaurant, but we always found something we liked. The Al Fresco restaurant is definitely worth a couple of visits in the evening, but make sure you book by midday on the day that you want to eat there.

All in all, we had a wonderful week away - wonderful warm weather, sunshine every day, and a lovely hotel. Beats being in cold, grey England and we would love to return!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KatieR663
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CSHOTELS, Manager at Sao Rafael Atlantico, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2012

Dear Guest,

On behalf of CS São Rafael Atlantic Hotel thank you for taking your time to share you feedback regarding your recent stay with us.
I did appreciate very much your pleasant and very detailed review. I was delighted to read that overall you were very satisfied with the Hotel room, they are very well equipped with modern furniture and nice decor just to provide you a pleasant stay. I completely agree with you, the São Rafael Beach is an outstanding place and it really worth a visit. Thank you for your compliments about the food, our Executive Chef was very happy to know that you appreciated our options. It is true, the Al Fresco a la carte Restaurant is very much appreciated by our guests not only for its amazing views but also for its tasty food options.

Knowing that you would like to visit us again is without a doubt our best Award. I am sure that your expectations will be met and we will provide you another “wonderful week”.

I do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in a near future.

Best Regards,

Álvaro Aragão
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews