We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sao Rafael Atlantico
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Sesmarias
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 October 2013

We spent 8 nights in the CS Atlantic in mid September. The rooms were large, comfortable and spotless with an amazing shower. The spa was to die for. I had a facial which relaxed me so much I thought I'd gone to heaven! I found the breakfast fresh with plenty of choice but the hot option was a little cold. One of the outdoor pools was out of action for 3 days due to a conference but we were not inconvenienced as the hotel beach was beautiful. We made use of the free shuttle some days which was fabulous. The restaurants near the hotel were very reasonable and good quality.

One thing I would recommend is asking for a pool/beach view as we had a dull 'garden' view overlooking the car park. Saying that tho, I can't recommend this hotel enough.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank L_H60Wales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,177)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

434 - 440 of 1,177 reviews

Reviewed 14 October 2013

Let's start with the good things. Staff is very friendly and helpfull.
They take the luggage to your room, park the car etc... reception also give a nice amount of info and responds well to questions.
The rooms are nice and spacious, nothing bad about them at all to say.
The location is great, peacefull and with a very nice beach.
The restaurant was a bit noisy, due to loads of people getting their meal at the same time I guess.

Some bad points, the furniture in the bar, the reception, the lobby, looks like animals have aten from them, the leather is ripped and old, the glass in the bar of the tables doe not look clean, on top yes, but underneath, totally not.
In the end our bill of the hotel was wrong for about 50 euro's and it took really a long time before it was arranged.

Too bad for these, but it makes a a moderate 4**** or a good ***

This was the third from four hotels on our trip..

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bjorn8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013 via mobile

I had an outstanding stay in this lovely peaceful resort hotel. The ambience and architecture is contemporary and beautiful with modern rainfall showers and sleek appliances. The grounds were breath taking and well kept with tall palm trees clean cut lawns an rock formations overlooking the Mediterranean. Beaches were clean and surrounded with rock formations in which the algarve is famous for. Breakfast was great with many options and an outdoor eating area. Spa and gym facilities were above average with many spa packages to choose from. Not far from old town and new time by taxi. One downfall is wifi is only accessible in the foyer and some communal areas in the hotel and doesn't reach your room. Would recommend to a couple on their honey moon or anniversary or someone really wanting to relax.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nragheb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

My boyfriend and I chose this hotel for our first holiday away together and it did not disappoint. We booked through an easy jet agent and paid £260 each for our 5 night stay at the beginning of October 2013. On arrival I was amazed by how the hotel was exactly as the website described which often isn't the case on arrival. The hotel room was spotless and a great size with plenty of storage. There was a daily maid service and both towels and sheets were replaced every time. The bed was so luxurious and with black out blinds I was guaranteed 5 of the best nights sleep for a long time.

My only recommendation, and this is by no means a complaint, is that there weren't enough tea bags in the room and there were no milk either. We grabbed a few tea bags from breakfast though and got a small milk to put in the fridge in the room.

Now let's talk about breakfast.... A... Maze... Ing! Tonnes and tonnes of choice, an egg chef cooking eggs and omelettes on request and pretty much anything you would want for breakfast. Being British I didn't stray too far from a good old fry up and a cuppa each day but all of it was fresh, hot and replenished frequently. The sausages were incredible! We even had champagne on the last day (which was available everyday).

We experienced poor weather but we had hired a car and we're able to explore the Algarve and spent a couple of lazy afternoons in the hotel spa which was amazing. So luxurious and comfortable and very clean. I didn't mind spending 5 Euros on a swim hat as we used it several times and it made for a cheap lazy afternoon. It also made sure the pools were kept cleaner too which is never a bad thing.

We were also glad to have hired a car to get to and from the local town for the evenings. It's quite a distance and we would have racked up quite a taxi bill. The hotel does offer a shuttle service but we obviously didn't need this. There was parking at the hotel which was off road so that was good too.

Had an amazing meal at a really tiny and local restaurant in Albufeira Old Town which I shall also be writing a review about called O'Argos where we were served traditional Portugese food by a waiter completely run off his feet and with a steady stream of people quieting at the door.

All in all we had an amazing break at this hotel and would visit again and again and recommend it to friends and family.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Pocket83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

We stayed for 1 week and had an amazing stay. Everything was superb, from the location to the service. The staff were accommodating and helped us with tours, transportation... We loved the spa services and the meal selection was fantastic. Rooms were clean. Our only complaint was that we were on the main floor, so we had no view from our outdoor patio; we looked at a cement wall.

Room Tip: All rooms face the ocean, so just be surety go higher than 2nd floor, to have a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diane F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Stayed 4 nights end of Sept. Weather was not good at all. The hotel is in a quiet residential area ..few bars/restaurants close by BUT I guess if you are staying in a 5* hotel you can afford taxis to town.
The hotel is tranquil, the rooms are lovely, the service top drawer.
We stayed on a B&B basis. The breakfast is fabulous. We tried two restaurants close-by ... Fish restaurant on the beach (turn right out of hotel door walk 5 mins up road and turn right....dirt track road ....ace food. Fresh caught fish) 2nd was just along from the supermarket/Chinese/bar...had chateaubriand and was delish.
I would defo recommend this hotel for anyone looking for tranquility but with the option of the old town/strip just for a change.
We loved it.
THE BEDS ARE ACE TOO AND THE PILLOWS ARE LIKE MARSHMALLOWS.......OH AND THE SHOWER IN THE WETROOM IS SOOOOO GOOD

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ladybird2254
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

I stayed with my mother for 3 nights at Sao Rafael Atlantic and it was a great experience. The hotel has an excellent location at one of the nicest beaches in Algarve and it is close to the town Albufeira. The rooms are clean, modern furnited and the bed huge and comfortable. Service staff was very friendly and helpful. I highly recommend a visit to the a la cart restaurant in the middle of the olive trees and on top of the coast. Facilities and spa are great, super comfortable and relaxing! Will visit this hotel again at my next Portugal trip!

Room Tip: Highly recommend a room with sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stefaniez917
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rui V, Gerente at Sao Rafael Atlantico, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Thank you very much for your review!
We are really glad that you enjoyed your stay and we are looking forward to welcoming you back!

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sesmarias
6.4 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#2 of 152 in Albufeira
1,180 reviews
5.4 mi away
PortoBay Falesia
PortoBay Falesia
#6 of 152 in Albufeira
2,473 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sao Rafael Suites
Sao Rafael Suites
#3 of 3 in Sesmarias
953 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Vidamar Resort Algarve
Vidamar Resort Algarve
#17 of 152 in Albufeira
1,049 reviews
3.4 mi away
Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel
6 mi away
Falesia Hotel
Falesia Hotel
#4 of 152 in Albufeira
2,071 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sao Rafael Atlantico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sao Rafael Atlantico

Address: Rua dos Corais, Sesmarias, Albufeira 8200-613, Portugal (Formerly São Rafael Atlantic Hotel)
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira > Sesmarias
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Sesmarias
Price Range: £73 - £336 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sao Rafael Atlantico 5*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just minutes from the centre of Albufeira, the São Rafael Atlântico enjoys a fabulous location overlooking the Atlantic Ocean and with direct access to the São Rafael beach. The interiors are spacious, bright and airy, with contemporary design features. The rooms are modern in design and have spacious balconies with sea or garden view. The extensive gardens are magnificent, beautifully landscaped in Mediterranean style with an abundance of olive and palm trees. The hotel’s facilities also include a modern spa offering the most innovative treatments and therapies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sao Rafael Atlantico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing