We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relax in Comfort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sao Rafael Atlantico
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Sesmarias
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Relax in Comfort”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

My wife and I stayed 6 days at the end of April 2014 following the advice on trip advisor which was spot on.The location of the hotel is beautiful, with the walkway down to two really sandy beaches, our room was facing the village but was quiet even whith the door open ( air conditioning is not turned on for another two weeks).The shower room was massive with constant hot water, and the bed so big that I kept losing my wife :-).The staff were really friendly, and had a lot of information on bus boat and other trips if asked.A taxi to Alberfuira costs around €9 to Fishermans Beach Area which had some lovely restaurants and bars ( the hotel does run a free bus 3 times a day which we did use ), a meal for two with beer, wine and brandy and coffe to finish costs around $55 which I consider a bargain.My only gripe was the the hot breakfast selection was not hot, tried it once anfd then swapped to all of the other food on offer. Would go back tomorrow :-)

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank B14BILL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rui V, Gerente at Sao Rafael Atlantico, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Guest,

first of all, thank you for choosing São Rafael Atlantic hotel as your holiday destination!
We are proud to know that you left satisfied. We work everyday trying to improve the less positive aspects and we hope to show you it on your next visit.


Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,044 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    506
    333
    139
    39
    27
See reviews for
127
745
12
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (275)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 26 April 2014

We stayed for 6 days starting the easter weekend and it was amazing from start to finish.
The beach front access was beautiful, The sea room view was a beauty especially when you wake up in the early hours to see the sun rise.

The hotel was neat and the facilities were great. The location is ideal as it's close to the albufeira town and the marina which gives you a variety of everything.

Hotel staff were really lovely and helpful

Definitely going back there in the near future

Room Tip: The sea view is defo the best .
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michael A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014 via mobile

My boyfriend and I chose this hotel specifically because the CS group's website suggests it when you select 'adults only hotel' on its search function. We don't have, nor want to spend our holiday with children but unfortunately there were more than a few there over Easter (can't understand why parents would take children there as there's nothing to entertain them as far as we could tell). Children aside, the hotel is not 5 star by UK standards; probably more like 3.5. There are cosmetic issues like patches of chipped wallpaper and water stains on ceilings which take the shine off an otherwise smart, modern hotel. Our non-smoking room suffered from the smell of cigarettes coming in through the toilet/shower vents which was not pleasant. Nor was the lingering smell of sulpher in the toilet. The hallways are part carpet, part tiled which makes it ridiculously noisey with people walking past. The on-demand film system has problems which means the film you've paid $9.99 for jams, won't restart or keeps cutting out - we gave up after 8 attempts and the hotel refunded the charge. The toilettries provided were basic; bath gel, body lotion and shampoo - no conditioner?! You don't even get that much in the spa though, where you're expected to wash hair and body with the hand wash! That spoilt an otherwise relaxing afternoon in the spa as I had to return to the room to re-shower and wash (but not condition!) my tangled barnet! You get access to the spa facilities with a treatment or you can pay €10 which seems reasonable. Another downside though is you have to wear a swimming hat in the pool and jacuzzi which can be purchased for €5 (although this didn't seem to be enforced as one man felt the rules didn't apply to him and got away with it). Food at the buffet was average, the breakfast queues ridiculous but the a la carte restaurant should not be missed. We had a wonderful meal in there for a very reasonable price. There is nowhere nearby to eat or drink outside of the hotel with the nearest place being the 'old town' part of Albufeira. It's a 15 minute taxi ride which costs less than €10 and has bars and restaurants aplenty. It is nice for a daytime trip out, but be prepared for the stereotypical 'Brits abroad' and by evening, it turns into a tacky hen/stag paradise, all about loud music and cheap booze.
We didn't use the three pools (the brown tiles don't make the water look appealing) and the sea-view restaurant was closed as out of season.
The few plus points of the hotel; the staff were very helpful, professiobal and courteous and spoke very good English. The lobby bar was pleasant for some drinks, massages in the spa were very good and not priced unreasonably. There is a private beach which is a plus point, and our sea-view room was very nice.
To sum up, we didn't have an awful holiday, but it certainly wasn't the standard we expect from a 5 star hotel. Would we return? No, but those who prefer a slower pace, quiet surroundings and not a lot going on would undoubtedly enjoy it.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lovetheelf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Great location. Minutes to a beautiful beach.

The service was excellent and staff are welcoming and friendly. Children can use the kids club up the road at the Atlantic Suites but my daughter didn't,the outdoor pool and beach kept her occupied. The breakfast is amazing plenty of variety. The only downside here is the limited access to Wi-fi.

Room Tip: Apparently Rooms on 4th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChigwellFlyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Stayed here with my family but is was very quiet. Not music in almost any area. It was boring for my vacations.The suite was fantastic with beautiful luxury rooms. The food was good. The barman took little care who is next on line was disappointing though . Pool water is warm and is big. The beach was rough stayed for a short time. Initially, booked the other hotel with the same name but it did not have access to the beach, that's when we decided to pay the difference and moved to this one. When booking on (Booking.com) was not easy to tell if both had access to the beach. If you have all included, you need to get it yourself.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mcardenas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VALENCIA
Level Contributor
116 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

One of the best hotels. Location is great on the coast with its own beach. The gardens are really good. The Spa is excellent. Food is superb. Rooms are clean and comfortable. You cannot ask for more. Staff are friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: We had a garden room which was superb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EXPATMAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Stayed in this hotel during low season in March, and seemed to own the whole place. Very quiet indeed, a great place to relax. Set among beautiful landscaped gardens with many palm trees, modern architecture and decor of minimalist style.
Stayed in a suite on level 4, huge space with 2 large balconies overlooking the swimming pools and the sea beyond. Liked the design of open plan bathroom, walk-in shower room and separate room for toilet/bidet.
For dinner only the a la carte restaurant was open. Food was outstanding, with a modern twist. I also had the best tasting club sandwich in the bar one afternoon. I must salute the chef for achieving such high culinary standard.
Great massage, in-door swimming pool nice and warm. The spa was closed for maintenance for 2 days during my stay. There were many facilities but not as good as I had expected, jet stream not relaxing and Turkish bath had strong aroma.
Wifi only available in lobby and bar area, not in the bedrooms.
Nice walk down to 2 beautiful beaches with stunning rocky landscape, but beach restaurant closed at this time of the year.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank 132s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sesmarias
6.4 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#2 of 154 in Albufeira
1,010 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sao Rafael Suites
Sao Rafael Suites
#2 of 3 in Sesmarias
861 reviews
2.4 mi away
Salgados Dunas Suites
Salgados Dunas Suites
#21 of 154 in Albufeira
573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Vila Gale Praia
Vila Gale Praia
#3 of 154 in Albufeira
637 reviews
5.4 mi away
PortoBay Falesia
PortoBay Falesia
#6 of 154 in Albufeira
2,209 reviews
2.6 mi away
Vidamar Resort Algarve
Vidamar Resort Algarve
#16 of 154 in Albufeira
898 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sao Rafael Atlantico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sao Rafael Atlantico

Property: Sao Rafael Atlantico
Address: Sesmarias, Albufeira 8200-613, Portugal (Formerly São Rafael Atlantic Hotel)
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira > Sesmarias
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Sesmarias
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sao Rafael Atlantico 5*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel Sao Rafael Atlantico enjoy a spectacular location overlooking the Atlantic sea, direct access to Sao Rafael Beach and only at a short drive to Albufeira centre. The interiors have contemporary design features with space and light throughout. The rooms are modern and have large balconies with views over the sea and gardens. The extensive gardens offer a beautiful mediterranean landscape with olive and palm trees. There is also a state-of-the-art SPA featuring leading wellness therapies and treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sao Rafael Atlantico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing