We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sao Rafael Atlantico
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Maritur(Albufeira)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Baia Grande(Sesmarias)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,213)
Filter reviews
1,213 results
Traveller rating
587
396
153
46
31
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
587
396
153
46
31
Show reviews that mention
All reviewschill out barwet roomal fresco restaurantsao rafaelstar hotelold townsea viewolive treespool areahotel groundslovely hotelhalf boardbeach barprivate beachsun loungerscouples hotelbuffet restaurant
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
400 - 405 of 1,213 reviews
Reviewed 10 July 2014

This hotel is in a great location right next to the marina, and 2 min drive from old town, Zoo Marina was only a 10mintue drive too. Breakfast has a great choice at the buffet, the pool bar was overpriced but everything else has been reasonable. Lovely spa and a great choice of treatments.

Luxurious large bedrooms almost the size of a small apartment, modern design and great friendly service from staff at this hotel.

I fell sick during my stay and guest services were AMAZING! Great customer service!!!

Room Tip: choose a garden view room
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Sam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rui V, Gerente at Sao Rafael Atlantico, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2014

Dear Sam,

Thank you for your preference for são Rafael Atlantic hotel.
Provide a good service for our guests and achieve their satisfaction is our priority everyday.
It was a pleasure to welcome you and hope to have the chance to repeat that.


Best wishes,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Myself and my boyfriend stayed at the Sao Rafael Atlantic hotel for 1 week from the 16th June this year. After about 45 minutes to an hours drive from the airport we arrived at the hotel. When you pull up you will not be disappointed! The entrance and lobby is grand, spacious and gorgoues! After checking in we were shown to our room which was 302. It looked over the pool and pool bar area and was a fabulous room. Everything is modern with a massive double bed and a good size balcony. After settling in we had a wonder around and we were amazed at how gorgoues the hotel and the surroundings were. We took a stroll down to the beach which you must go and see! There is a gorgoues board walk down to the beach and it's stunning both daytime or evening!
There are 3 pools and a pool bar which served brillant food like sandwiches, pizzas, burgers, tapas etc, we ate there every day. There is also an A le Carte restaurant on site where you can eat lunch or dinner and you have a €17.50 credit to spend at that restaurant, we ate there twice and I would reccommend the steak, it was incredible and overlooks the beach! The buffet restaurant was nice and spacious with a good selection of foods. The only down side to this was that the food was not piping hot. The food is hovered on hot water so if you like piping hot food like my boyfriend you may be a little disappointed.
The spa and gym were also incredible! A big selection of exercise machines, weights, exercise balls, mats etc. The indoor pool area is pure relaxation! The lighting, music and the beds around the pool is so well thought out. We paid €10 a couple of times to use the jacuzzi, Turkish baths,sauna and steam room which again was amazing. You do have to purchase a swimming hat for €5 if you want to use the indoor spa!!
The terrace bar is lovely in the evenings, they have entertainment every night and it overlooks the pool and the sea in the distance.
Every inch of the hotel is so clean, the cleaners are very discreet but they are constantly cleaning everywhere throughout they day!
We stayed by the pool all day every day but there is a small shop about a 10 minute walk away from the hotel which is where we went to get water but if you want to travel into town the hotel have their own shuttle bus service which takes you in and picks you up again.
Overall this hotel will not disappoint, if we return to Portugal again in the future we will most definitely be returning to the Sao Rafael and asking for room 302!!!! 5 star all the way!

Room Tip: Rooms from 302 overlook the pool area!
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 568,322
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rui V, Gerente at Sao Rafael Atlantico, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2014

Dear Guests,

What a great description, thank you so much!
We feel so happy to realise that our services and facilities were able to provide you a great time.
Hope to welcome you on your next visit to Algarve with the promisse that we will keep up the good work, always trying to improve in order to give our guests our best!

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We loved this hotel the rooms were modern, clean, spacious and comfortable and the rooms where cleaned on a daily basis. The hotel is is a very quiet area however its easy enough to jump on the bus to neighbouring Albufeira - we jumped on the city sightseeing tour bus which was good and was a jump on and off all day.

The hotel was beautiful and had lovely comfortable outside furnature to sit on to read your books or soak up the sun.

I really enjoyed my holiday here and wouldnt think twice about returning.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BeanieNBarbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rui V, Gerente at Sao Rafael Atlantico, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2014

Dear guest,

Was so nice to read your review!
We feel very happy to know that you had a good time with us, thank you so much.


Best wishes,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

Hmm I have stayed in bigger plusher hotels. However - this hotel has its own wonderful beach. The staff were exceptional, were always attentive for my family's needs. The room was spacious with a balcony. The food was better then downtown. The cost difference was only £100 more (for the week) then downtown Albufeira, but at least we avoided the mayhem. Beautiful Hotel....

Stayed: June 2014
2  Thank Big3Zero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rui V, Gerente at Sao Rafael Atlantico, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2014

Dear Guests,

Thank you for choosing São rafael Atlantic hotel.
Our guests reviews are very important for us and was a pleasure to see yours.
Hope to welcome you again in the future!


Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Stayed for a week with my partner, went for a week of relaxation and that is exactly what we got. The hotel was very spacious, modern and airy, loved the clean lines and decor. The grounds and outdoor pools were exceptional. Indoor pool also great, gym looked well-equipped but did not use it. Food was good, particularly the Al Fresco restaurant in the grounds. As noted by a previous reviewer the queues for breakfast were a bit of a nuisance on some days. The roof top chill out bar was also very good. All staff very polite and knowledgable. We upgraded to a sea view room and I would strongly recommend this - the view from the balcony across the grounds and out to sea were beautiful.

The only minor criticisms of the hotel were the absence of a shop (usual to find one selling a few basics in a 5-star hotel) and a lack of information in the hotel room about the facilities.

The hotel has a boardwalk to the local beach - San Rafael - this is very nice but MUCH better, small secluded and with a great little cafe/ restaurant, La Sardinha, is the neighbouring beach of Praia dos Arrifes, also a short walk from the hotel.

We went into Albufeira for one day and spent a few hours in the old town and at the marina, however the rest of it was much too commercialised for our liking so retreated back to the tranquility of the hotel! So although the hotel runs a free shuttle three times a day into the town, if you're after R&R, the hotel and neighbouring beach has everything that you need.

Room Tip: Definitely worth upgrading to a sea-view room.

Room Tip: Definitely worth upgrading to a sea-view room.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RM_Thornbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rui V, Gerente at Sao Rafael Atlantico, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Your review was very appreciated. It made us proud and gave the motivation to keep working and improving day after day.
We feel very happy with your satisfaction and it was a pleasure to welcome you.
Best wishes.


Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews