We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing Five Star Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sao Rafael Atlantico
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Sesmarias
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

We spent seven nights in this hotel and I have to say it represented amazing value for money. The rooms are large and spacious. The hotel has ample amenities for a relaxing pool or beach holiday. The beach is a short stroll away. The only negative point I would give is that we were very disappointed with our view from our room which we had paid extra for and even more disappointed with the way the receptionist and duty manager dismissed the complaint and refused to do anything for us. Other than this hotel and staff were fantastic and we would definitely return

Stayed: July 2014
2  Thank Jonlesg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,167)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

370 - 376 of 1,167 reviews

Reviewed 18 July 2014

We've been in this hotel twice last year and loved the quiet moments nearby the swimming pool - this year the experience was quite different as it is much a mass hotel with no one helping to manage the deck chaises in the swimming pool that some guests reserved with towels (from Saturday to Sunday there wasn’t even no one to take it out … imagine how it was on Sunday morning!)
Buffet is awful and you will hardly be able to have a decent meal there. Good breakfast.
Wifi is very, very bad.
Service is OK and the worst experience from this week curiously (!!!) was the Manager of the hotel who should be the guardian of the service, or not?!? Apparently he/she is too busy to do it: when we did the check in, I took my time to write a personal letter regarding a disappointment with the hotel promotional politics – well, when a client does it, the least you expect is to have an answer (whatever the answer is!) … surprisingly we are still expecting for it after 5 days!
The location of the hotel 5 min. walk to the beautiful S. Rafael beach and the exterior area are clearly the strengths of the hotel. Just don’t expect a 5 star hotel, as it isn’t … and you will have a good holiday’s week.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank mariamariamaria00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rui V, Gerente at Sao Rafael Atlantico, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Dear Mrs. Rita,
Thank you very much for your feedback.
We regret the fact that you felt that your experience with us was not as good as last year’s.
We have been working on a daily basis to improve and make our guests feel more at home.
I have to apologize, for I did not receive your letter, I will look into this and find out what went wrong. We take our guests opinion very seriously and we use it as a work basis to improve day after day.
As a result of the work that we have been developing to improve our quality, we are much busier than we were last year and this may be one of the reasons that you feel this was a different experience than the previous one, however I can assure you that we strive to exceed our guests expectations and not the opposite.
Your comments are very much appreciated and we will make sure that this kind of feeling does not repeat itself on any other of our guests, and you of course should you choose to visit us a third time for it would be my pleasure to personally welcome you back to the hotel.

My very best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

This hotel is in a great location, a few minutes walk from a nearly private beach. Has a couple of great pools and grounds. The staff are very good and helpful, and the whole place is spotlessly clean. The only let down was the hotel claimed to have 3 or 4 restaurants, but didn't (some were closed) there was a buffet restaurant which was 25 euro pp per day and the food wasn't good. The only other restaurant was the 'al fresco' which was outside (in the grounds), the food was good but service was slow and a lot of people complained, but shockingly it was closed on the Friday and Saturday for private wedding functions! So a 5 star hotel with no restaurant was a let down and we had to get cabs to other restaurants in the area. Still, a lovely place and would go there again.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Robert J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

My wife and myself stayed here 06-13 July 2014. Hotel decor and cleanliness is first rate and the staff are very pleasant and helpful with excellent English spoken by all.
The location is beautiful and very quiet with a short walk to two amazing beaches and also only a short taxi or bus trip into Albufeira. The only (minor) noise issues were from other guests, as the soundproofing in the rooms is poor, and from incessant mowing and strimming most days – I am not sure why they feel the need to cut the grass so frequently but it does get a little annoying by the third consecutive day!
We booked a sea view room and these are definitely worth the premium as the view is great and these are the most private rooms.
Hotel grounds are expansive and very pretty and the pools were always super clean and warm, weirdly the pools are all round which makes active swimming a bit difficult but looks good. Spa and gym facilities are surprisingly large and, like the rest of the hotel, modern and clean. My only real gripe with this hotel was the lack of segregated outdoor areas for smokers/non-smokers, particularly in eating areas, we had to relocate tables several times when inconsiderate smokers started spreading noxious fumes whilst others were trying to eat around them, this is 2014 and such things should be standard in any quality establishment.
We were on a half board deal and were very impressed with the quality and choice of both the breakfast and dinner buffets. We didn’t use the A La Carte restaurant on the grounds as their menu was uninspiring and didn’t vary during the week we stayed. Drinks were relatively expensive being on a par with UK bar prices.
The 3 times daily courtesy bus to Albufeira is handy but would be better if it ran more frequently and later in the evening (last return is only 5pm).
All in all this was a wonderful holiday and I wouldn’t hesitate to recommend this location and this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Sea view 3rd floor rooms were most isolated and quiet and were not overlooked, worth paying the prem...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Steven W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rui V, Gerente at Sao Rafael Atlantico, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2014

Dear Mr. Steven,

Thank you for staying with us at São Rafael Atlantic hotel.
Your presence made us proud and your review was very important for us.
Achieve our guests satisfaction is our priority every day so, we are always trying to improve and correct our failures in order to be able to exceed their expectations. To help us on it, your review have an important meaning.
It was a pleasure to welcome you!

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

Awesome location of hotel , approx 40 mins from Faro airport and five mins drive away from the marina , shopping centre , old town and restaurants. Only a few mins walk from a choice of amazing sandy beaches . Rooms are spacious & modern and have a chocolate decor theme with plenty of storage spaces. Outdoors the pool gardens has a path that leads to the beach . The beach is sandy and beautiful and has a restaurant, bar and ice cream stop. Sea food at this restaurant was very delicious , highly recommend the catch of the day!
This hotel has a lovely spa section and the treatments are priced reasonably . Recommend the seaweed wrap and de stress massage!!
Guest relations are super helpful during our 8 days stay . Thank you to Sonia and the team for organizing a birthday surprise for my mum and for handling a emergency health situation so calmly . You guys are fab xx we hope to see you next summer :)

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank Farana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rui V, Gerente at Sao Rafael Atlantico, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2014

Dear Guests,

First of all, know that was a pleasure to welcome you at Atlantic Hotel.
We feel really sorry about the health problem and at the same time feel glad to be able to help. At the end, everything was ok, and you had the chance to enjoy a great time in family. A proud for us to make part of that providing you a good service and giving you comfort and great memories!
Thank you so much!

Yours sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

If you like olive trees, you are in for a treat. This hotel is surrounded by them. Other wise the hotel is gorgeous, staff wonderful, breakfast is good,coffee is hard to get refilled,
A little walking distance to the beach, but beaches are gorgeous, pools are all nice. Food at the pool is also very good, same goes for drinks, even though they are expensive. Rooms are clean and very updated. We even got a late check out

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rui V, Gerente at Sao Rafael Atlantico, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2014

Dear Guests,

It was a pleasure to read your review, really appreciated.
We work with the primary objective to achieve our guests satisfaction and give them quality and comfort during their stays. We could not feel more happy with your feedback, thank you!
We hope welcome you again in a near future.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We were looking for a relaxing, peaceful getaway and that's exactly what we got.

The staff were extremely friendly and helpful, the rooms were modern and clean and the roof terace bar a great place to relax after dinner.

Only downside was that there were a couple of wedding whilst we were there so we could not use the al-le-cart restaurant, a bit of a pain as on one occasion we had been on a boat trip all day and didn't fancy going off site. We didn't want to try the buffet as felt 25 euros a head was a little steep. We felt that, in the height of season, it was a little greedy to have wedding running at the determent of the guests.

Apart from that, fantastic!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natalie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rui V, Gerente at Sao Rafael Atlantico, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2014

Dear Natalie,

Thank you for your preference for são Rafael Atlantic Hotel and also for your review.
In order to achieve the satisfaction of our guests, we improve our performance every day and it is with great pride that we work to exceed their expectations. Your comments will also help us in this daily work and we hope to have the chance to welcome you once again.
Best wishes

Yours sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sesmarias
6.4 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#2 of 154 in Albufeira
1,177 reviews
5.4 mi away
PortoBay Falesia
PortoBay Falesia
#6 of 154 in Albufeira
2,458 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sao Rafael Suites
Sao Rafael Suites
#3 of 3 in Sesmarias
953 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel
6 mi away
Falesia Hotel
Falesia Hotel
#4 of 154 in Albufeira
2,066 reviews
2.5 mi away
Vidamar Resort Algarve
Vidamar Resort Algarve
#15 of 154 in Albufeira
1,037 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sao Rafael Atlantico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sao Rafael Atlantico

Address: Rua dos Corais, Sesmarias, Albufeira 8200-613, Portugal (Formerly São Rafael Atlantic Hotel)
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira > Sesmarias
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Sesmarias
Price Range: £56 - £324 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sao Rafael Atlantico 5*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just minutes from the centre of Albufeira, the São Rafael Atlântico enjoys a fabulous location overlooking the Atlantic Ocean and with direct access to the São Rafael beach. The interiors are spacious, bright and airy, with contemporary design features. The rooms are modern in design and have spacious balconies with sea or garden view. The extensive gardens are magnificent, beautifully landscaped in Mediterranean style with an abundance of olive and palm trees. The hotel’s facilities also include a modern spa offering the most innovative treatments and therapies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK) and Ebookers so you can book your Sao Rafael Atlantico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing