We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family of four”
Review of Baia Grande

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Baia Grande
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Sesmarias
Certificate of Excellence
Borehamwood, United Kingdom
1 review
“Family of four”
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Came home yesterday after a 9 night stay at the Baia grande with husband, 7 year old and my 1 year old. Hotel was ok, very clean and spacious although our room was a little crowded with a portable bed and a travel cot but we still had enough space. The staff were very helpful, pleasant and polite, housekeeping came in every day made beds and cleaned. As a family we all enjoyed the food served in the main restaurant at breakfast/dinner, a very good choice of different dishes but if you want fresh fish/shell fish head into either the old/new town where there are some good restaurants. The hotel had a bbq on thurs which they held outside around the pool area, the food was lovely but we were attacked by millions of mozzies!! We had to abandon our meal and go indoors, such a shame as they had entertainment too. I know the hotel have no control with regards to the mosquitoes so be prepared and take some spray! Maybe they could put citronella candles on the tables or something that repels the little critters! The only issue I had was that when my husband booked the hotel with 'on the beach.com' it stated that the hotel has a kids club and a playground and they have neither! I did point this out to a receptionist who informed me it was there other hotel in the Algarve that has these facilities which was a disappointment. My 7 year old was fine, happy to play in the pool all day but my 1 year old would have benefited from these facilities. The beach which is approx 10-15 min walk away was lovely, small but not crowded and there is a restaurant there too. The only other point to make is that you are a bus/taxi ride away from the main town, with small children its nice to be able to take a walk after dinner or whenever and have a little bit more too see/do. The hotel welcomes families and was very friendly but personally I think it is more suitable for couples or families with older children.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Elyse E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paulo D, Manager at Baia Grande, responded to this review, 19 August 2013
Dear Client
Thank you very much for your visit and for your comments about Baia Grande.
I am glad that you and your family had a good time with us.
I am sorry for the experience with the mozzies. According to the Portuguese authorities the problem is now solved, but on the safe side, we will be having citronella candles in every table on the next couple of weeks on BBQ nights. We want that our clients enjoy totally this special evening.
We never had a Kid Club at Baia Grande. I will do my best to clear this issue with so this situation does not repeat itself.
I hope to see you again at hotel Baia Grande
Kind Regards
Paulo Dias
Manager
manager.bg@baiaalgarve.com
+351289583500
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

982 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    391
    384
    142
    38
    27
See reviews for
214
544
21
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (273)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

We found that the staff were always ready to help (most of them)
The place is clean and there is plenty of food choice.
Some updating needs to be done to bathrooms as shower is fixed and no extractors are working
The air conditioning does not work properly and it is hot at night
Extractors in all hotel toilets need to work as the smell does not go away for ages
Wi-Fi not available in rooms at all and on the reception works only some times.
Better ventilations system required in all hotel and in the restaurant (maybe it is not switched on)
The above things need addressing and the rest is great.

Room Tip: Higher floor and Ocean - Pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Agde2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paulo D, Manager at Baia Grande, responded to this review, 28 August 2013
Dear Client
Thank you very much for your visit and for your comments about Baia Grande.
I am glad that you had a good time with us.
Please be informed that we have changed our internet system and is working perfectly. We expect to have internet in all the rooms by the end of September 2013.
I passed your comments about the extraction systems to our maintenance department
I hope to see you again at hotel Baia Grande
Kind Regards
Paulo Dias
Manager
manager.bg@baiaalgarve.com
+351289583500
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Just returned from a week away and it was nice. The shuttle bus to town could do with having a return slightly later even as you have to get a taxi back which is about 10 Euro's. The restaurant's around the hotel are slightly high but if you walk towards the beach there are affordable lovely places. The staff were pleasant but seemed tired and we had to wait 40mins one night to be served at the bar. A relaxing hotel but if you go to the beach get there by 9.30 as it gets really busy or wait till 12/1 when it gets less busy.

Room Tip: We had a pool view room which was brilliant a defiant must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paulo D, Manager at Baia Grande, responded to this review, 19 August 2013
Dear Client
Thank you very much for your visit and for your post about Baia Grande.
I very happy that overall you had a good experience with us.
I appreciate you comments about the shuttle bus, regrettably it is something that will not be feasible in the short term.
We are at the peak of the high season; we may be a little tired but we still have plenty of energy to our clients. I am sorry for that episode at the Bar that is an unusual situation that is not according to our standards.
I hope to see you again at hotel Baia Grande
Kind Regards
Paulo Dias
Manager
manager.bg@baiaalgarve.com
+351289583500
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013

I really enjoyed my time at this hotel. I went for a calm and relaxing holiday and that is exactly what I got.

The staff are very pleasant and are helpful whenever possible. One cleaner in particular was very nice and always said good morning when I walked past her.

The breakfast was delicious and there was plenty of variety, including fruit, croissants, cereal and warm food like bacon. I found that it got particularly busy later into the morning so I would recommend to go before 9.30am. The outdoor space was clean and there was plenty of seating available by the pool and in the sunshine, shaded areas were also provided.

I do feel that the floors in the bedroom and bathroom could have been more thoroughly cleaned as a dead insect lay in the bathroom for the last two or three days of my holiday. Also the corners near the window of the bedroom were slightly dusty and had a couple of cobwebs which I only noticed when the water from the hose the window cleaner was using leaked onto the floor creating a small puddle. Luckily I didn't keep anything near there! I did mention this to reception in case they were unaware of the problem.

The shuttle bus was efficient and regular enough for me. It wasn't far into the town where there are some great places to eat, especially by the beach.

I have already recommended that my parents go there for a peaceful holiday, I also would visit again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that overlooks the pool for the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spooble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paulo D, Manager at Baia Grande, responded to this review, 19 August 2013
Dear Client
Thank you very much for your visit and for your post about Baia Grande.
I am glad that you had a good experience with us and enjoyed your vacations.
I am sorry for the situation with the cleaning of the room. I passed and discussed this situation to our head housekeeper. We work very hard to avoid any situation like the one you describe but sometimes, regrettably, some details go unnoticed.
Thank you very much for recommend us to other follow travellers.
I hope to see you again at hotel Baia Grande.
Kind Regards
Paulo Dias
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

The Baia Grande Hotel is superb. The staff are excellent and attentive, the pool is great and if you're looking for a holiday away from it all it's ideal.

As we were B&B we had to look further afield for decent restaurants which became costly. However, we were grateful overall not to be confined to half or full board restrictions as we got to see more of the area. Also, the evening entertainment in the hotel wasn't great - although not terrible.

A lot of reviews mention getting a pool/sea view. This would definitely be worth it - we had a room labelled 'garden view' and it wasn't so much 'garden' but more 'car park'.

Overall, fantastic hotel for a relaxing week away, but just be aware of the lack of public transport, or hire a car if you want to explore and have more freedom.

Room Tip: Pick a room with a pool/sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eyaf1205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paulo D, Manager at Baia Grande, responded to this review, 19 August 2013
Dear Client
Thank you very much for your visit and for your positive comments about Baia Grande.
I very happy that overall you had a good experience with us.
The Algarve is such a beautiful region that to hire a car is always a good option to explore the surroundings.
I hope to see you again at hotel Baia Grande
Kind Regards
Paulo Dias
Manager
manager.bg@baiaalgarve.com
+351289583500
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Absolutely everything we were looking for in a summer hotel. Friendly and attentive staff, good facilities, clean and well-maintained pool area, good access to local beaches, varied and enjoyable evening entertainment (especially weekly barbeque with local music and dancing). The hotel staff misinformed us regarding our meal plan but resolved the situation in a considerate and satisfactory manner. We would definitely recommend this hotel for families and those looking for a peaceful, relaxing holiday.

Room Tip: Definitely worth paying extra for a sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bente_Iren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paulo D, Manager at Baia Grande, responded to this review, 9 August 2013
Dear Client
Thank you very much for your visit and post about Baia Grande.
I am pleased that we reached your expectations during your stay with us. It was a pleasure to meet you during you stay with us and do my small part to improve your stay.
Thank you very much for recommend us to other travellers.
I hope to see you again at hotel Baia Grande
Kind Regards
Paulo Dias
Manager
manager.bg@baiaalgarve.com
+351289583500
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castleford
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013

Huge room at front of hotel, huge balcony that we could have fitted the whole family on! friendly staff, huge choice at breakfast. A very big plus-there were plenty of sunbeds. Within easy range of restaurants -plenty of choice for dinner.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Muvver57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paulo D, Manager at Baia Grande, responded to this review, 9 August 2013
Dear Client
Thank you very much for your positive review about Baia Grande.
I am glad that you and your family had a good time with us.
I hope to see you again at hotel Baia Grande
Kind Regards
Paulo Dias
Manager
manager.bg@baiaalgarve.com
+351289583500
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sesmarias
3.3 mi away
Hotel Topazio
Hotel Topazio
#47 of 154 in Albufeira
770 reviews
6.8 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#2 of 154 in Albufeira
1,071 reviews
3.7 mi away
Muthu Clube Praia da Oura
Muthu Clube Praia da Oura
#78 of 154 in Albufeira
3,284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel
3.0 mi away
Luna Clube Oceano
Luna Clube Oceano
#16 of 154 in Albufeira
456 reviews
5.9 mi away
PortoBay Falesia
PortoBay Falesia
#6 of 154 in Albufeira
2,294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baia Grande? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baia Grande

Property: Baia Grande
Address: Rua Joao Guita | Praia da Coelha, Sesmarias, Albufeira 8200-385, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira > Sesmarias
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Sesmarias
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Baia Grande 4*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in the Algarve, the Baia Grande Hotel is 3km from the center of Albufeira and 750mts from the Coelha Beach. Four star high quality with 131 rooms, spacious play areas and gardens, providing an elegant, comfortable and relaxing environment. Located 750 meters from Coelha Beach and 3 kilometres from the centre of Albufeira, Baia Grande Hotel with amazing sea views has 131 spacious rooms, play areas and gardens. Of the 131 rooms 10 are Senior Suites with Sea View, 2 Junior Suites with Land View, 80 rooms with Sea View and 39 with Land View. All rooms are equipped with 2 single beds (for up to 1 extra bed), private bathroom, LCD TV with satellite channels, individual air-conditioning, minibar, safe, direct telephone and balcony. In the public areas are 1 restaurant, the "Mermaid Restaurant" where you can taste buffet breakfast or dinner overlooking the pool and theme nights (includes barbecue in summer), also available à la carte menu. The "Piano Bar" overlooking the sea where you can enjoy live music and great cocktails and "Neptune Bar", located next to the pool where you can enjoy snacks, light meals and drinks throughout the day. Hotel Baia Grande also offers indoor heated pool, outdoor swimming pool for adults and children, Jacuzzi (in both pools), sauna, massage and treatment room, table tennis, billiards, table football, giant chess game, free WI-FI internet in all the hotel, live music, a limousine service, rent-a-car, TV and reading room, private parking and transportation for hotel guests to Albufeira (4 times per day, 7 days a week) and Praia da Gale (Monday to Friday, 3 times per day). The reception is open 24 hours. Baia Grande Hotel has 4 meeting rooms for your events, "Sao Rafael", "Sesmarias", "Albufeira" and "Atlantico" with a maximum capacity of 300 people. The Baia Grande Hotel can also organize your banquets, weddings, company parties and other special occasions meet your needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Baia Grande reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baia Grande Albufeira
Baia Grande Hotel Albufeira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing