We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Baia Grande
Nearby Hotels
US$304
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$278
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$206
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$148
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Torre Velha Hotel(Albufeira)(Great Value!)
US$59
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Vila Joya(Gale)
US$638
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$211
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Vila Gale Atlantico(Gale)(Great Value!)
US$140
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Maritur(Albufeira)(Great Value!)
US$94
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$77
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,078)
Filter reviews
1,078 results
Traveller rating
433
420
155
41
29
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
433
420
155
41
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgale beachpiano barshuttle busold townrabbit beachpool areayear after yearfree minibuslovely hotelout of the wayrelaxing holidaysea viewhome from homeplenty of sunbedslocal beachlovely poolmain town
Filter
Updating list...
433 - 438 of 1,078 reviews
Reviewed 15 October 2013

This was our third visit to this hotel and as usual we had a super relaxing holiday. A lovely quiet location but with a free courtesy bus three times a day to take you into the old town or the beach - just remember to get a ticket from reception at least 30 minutes before you travel.

We noticed that there was less staff employed since our last visit and as a result standards have slipped. The food in the restaurant was still very good but the staff struggled to clear the tables fast enough. This was the same with our room, which was not serviced to it's usual high standard - our bins were not emptied on one occasion, the bathroom was not cleaned on another and our room could have done with a vacuum during the week we were there. The room could also do with being refurbished as it was looking a bit tired and tatty. However, the bed was huge and comfy and the air conditioning worked a treat in the heat! We also ordered lunch on our last day at the Pool Bar but had to wait 55 minutes for it to arrive - I think the kitchen staff must have been having a siesta. The barman was apologetic but as we had a plane to catch, waiting nearly an hour for burger and chips was too long, especially since guests who ordered well after us got their meals first.

On a positive note, the pool area and gardens were beautifully maintained and there were plenty of sunbeds available to take advantage of the lovely weather. The Piano Bar offers entertainment in the evening and we found the free Wi-Fi in the lobby great. And one final tip - 'Happy Hour' in the Piano Bar is between 5-7 p.m. with 30% off most drinks! Try the cocktails they are super - cheers!

Room Tip: A sea/poolside view is a must, especially if you want to sit out on your balcony. Land view rooms overlook the car park.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Linda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paulo D, Manager at Baia Grande, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2013

Dear Client
Thank you very much for you loyalty to Baia Grande and for your post about our hotel.
I am sorry that you did no find our standards as high as in the past. Although that’s a motive for concern it is also something to consider and to take action. Thank you very much for your comments about this issues.
Regarding the room I would like to inform you that we are changing several things in the rooms, namely the mattresses and the showers.
I am sure that on your next visit you will find a difference
I hope to see you once again back at Baía Grande.
Kind Regards
Paulo Dias
manager.bg@baiaalgarve.com
+351289583500

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

The Baia Grande is good value for money, and I'm sure we will come back again. I do think there are areas in need of refurbishement i.e. the bathrooms the shower curtain for example tries to cling to you when you turn on the shower, a screen would be preferable also other areas in the bathroom the taps on the basins switch off when they are not full on. The aircon could do with being on in the lobby and piano bar in the evenings. These things said we have been coming for many years and I'm sure we will return, the staff are friendly and efficient and the pool area and gardens are very well tended, with plenty of sunbeds.

Room Tip: Try for floor or 3 and a pool view room is better.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lynwWorsley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paulo D, Manager at Baia Grande, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2013

Dear Client
Thank you very much for you loyalty to Baia Grande and for your review about Baia Grande.
Refurbishment is always a key factor for us at Baia Grande. We know that we have to continue to invest in the service and in the physical aspects of the hotel and we will.
Thank you for you positive feedback about our staff.
I hope to see you once again back at Baía Grande.
Kind Regards
Paulo Dias
manager.bg@baiaalgarve.com
+351289583500

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

fantastic hotel very friendly and helpful staff great food. In a very quiet location however the hotel put a bus on in the morning to go to the old town or the beach you just get a ticket from reception the night before, last bus goes at 18.55 and it only costs 7 euros for a taxi home but make sure you get a taxi from te same place as the bus drops you off as it is 5 euros cheaper than getting it from the taxi rank at the main strip. Relaxing entertainment at night singer or pianist if you want to sit and chill. If you want to go more local to eat rather than old town turn right out hotel, left at crossroads, resteraunt on right-local shop next door sells toasties coffee beer and you can sit outside very friendly. continue uo the road bear left turn right and scoobys english bar is there, has a pool crazy golf english food park for kids. Hotel has a BBQ once a week, we had a fantastic time and will go back

Room Tip: e mail the manager and ask for a sea view.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank louisascharm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paulo D, Manager at Baia Grande, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2013

Dear Client
Thank you very much for taking you time to post a review about Baia Grande.
Thank you very much for you positive feedback about our staff
I see that a good time with us and that you enjoyed our weekly BBQ.
I hope to see you soon back at Baía Grande.
Kind Regards
Paulo Dias
manager.bg@baiaalgarve.com
+351289583500

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

rooms are great, nice and big, beds are comfy and the pool is outstanding and so is the restaurant. breakfast offers a wide range of hot or cold food and the evening meals are good.
parking is just outside and the entertainment is good. could do with getting wi fi in the rooms.
we will be back there asap

Room Tip: level two overlooking the pool is just perfect
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank alan s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paulo D, Manager at Baia Grande, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2013

Dear Client
Thank you very much for wonderful post about Baia Grande.
Please be informed that we already have wi-fi in the rooms and in the pool area.
I hope to see you soon back at Baía Grande.
Kind Regards
Paulo Dias
manager.bg@baiaalgarve.com
+351289583500

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2013

I returned yesterday after a great break in Portugal. As has already been said could not fault the hotel and used the free shuttle daily. There are beautiful beaches within walking distance Sao Rafeal is within 15 mins and gorgeous. We paid 8 euros for a taxi back from old town . There are also a couple of nice restaurants within walking distance Dom dimi and the superb prai grande also a sports amily bar that has free sunbeds and use of pool nearby for your football fix called scoobys

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ianfrankum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paulo D, Manager at Baia Grande, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2013

Dear Client
Thank you very much for your positive post about Baia Grande.
It is a pleasure to know that you had a great break at Portugal and that we contributed to that
I hope to see you soon back at Baía Grande.
Kind Regards
Paulo Dias
manager.bg@baiaalgarve.com
+351289583500

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews