We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful holidays ! ”
Review of Baia Grande

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Baia Grande
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Sesmarias
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 April 2014 via mobile

Excellent hotel, friendly, polite and very efficient staff, VERY tasty food, outstanding surroundings. All the ingredients for a unforgettable break, far from the madding crowd . Will definitely go back!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
4  Thank Laura G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paulo D, Manager at Baia Grande, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your recent stay and for your wonderful review.
I hope to have the pleasure of receiving you again at Baia Grande in the future.
Kind Regards
Paulo Dias
Manager
manager.bg@baiaalgarve.com
+351289583500

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,058)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

383 - 389 of 1,058 reviews

Reviewed 26 April 2014

Just returned from a short break at the Baia Grande .Could find no fault with the hotel. It was spotless. Good choice of breakfast and evening meal, which, contrary to other reviews we always found to be hot and plentiful.

The hotel was in a residential area however there was a free shuttle bus to Gale beach or Albufeira . Other beaches were in walking distance.

Staff were very attentive. Bedrooms were large and very quiet . The pool looked lovely and clean although we did not use it. Entertainment was very limited but it suited us fine. The pianist was excellent.

I think overall it was excellent break,good value for money and well suited for an older couples or families of young children who make their own entertainment.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JFB5645
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paulo D, Manager at Baia Grande, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your recent stay at Baia Grande and for your positive review.
Thank you for choosing us for your stay. I am glad that you had a good time with us.
I hope to have the pleasure of receiving you again at Baia Grande in the future.
Kind Regards
Paulo Dias
Manager
manager.bg@baiaalgarve.com
+351289583500

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

After several vacations in Italy our first time in Portugal... Have been to Baia Grande Hotel in Albufeira, Algarve. Superb hotel... Nice, comfortable and clean rooms, friendly and helpfull staff, nice swimmingpool, and fantastic kitchen... Very nice bay, praia's in a walking distance... and good organized shuttle to the center of Albufeira...
PS. Don't forget the bar... Happy Hour.. ;-)

Room Tip: Swimmingpool view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Peegys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paulo D, Manager at Baia Grande, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your recent stay at Baia Grande and for your comments on this site.
Thank you for choosing us on your first visit to Portugal. I hope that you return, there is plenty to see.
Thank you for you comments about our staff
I hope to have the pleasure of receiving you again at Baia Grande in the future.
Kind Regards
Paulo Dias
Manager
manager.bg@baiaalgarve.com
+351289583500

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Fantastic hotel, very beautiful, lovely spacious rooms, very clean, friendly staff, fantastic cocktails with a pianist. Gorgeous Pool. Great food with plenty of choice. And a beautiful beach only a short walk away from the hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank MissTudorRose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paulo D, Manager at Baia Grande, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your recent stay at Baia Grande and for your positive feedback.
I am very happy that you had a wonderful time with us
I hope that you return to Baia Grande in the future. You will be most welcomed.
Kind Regards
Paulo Dias
Manager
manager.bg@baiaalgarve.com
+351289583500

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Relaxing and peaceful stay. If you are looking for a chilled out holiday for couples, young and old, for a few days this is the place. The layout of the hotel is clever. If you are buying a promo room, although the balcony is over the car park, this didn't bother us as when we wanted to sit out on the balcony in the late afternoon, the sun was perfectly placed. The room is spacious, good air con. To improve, house keeping could be better. The ladies are very kind and welcoming, but we did notice towels weren't changed regularly and floor not swept. I wasn't bothered, as we were only staying for 4 nights. There were also scuffs on the walls. Moving to other things, guests were friendly, mostly elderly. The pool looked very clean and had plenty of sun loungers but pool very cold so couldn't swim.i can imagine in peak season it would get warmer with more people in it. They also had a hammock which swung round which was comfy. Food: we webt full board. Breakfast a good variety. Very fresh. Lunch we got from by the pool, also good selection. Dinner: my boyfriend wanted more variety. I thought it was fine. They have different themes some nights. Salad bar. Amazing chocolate mousse!! Good trip to albufeira free!!
. Lots of shops. Cheap to eat out but not much at galà beach which is the other shuttle bus. 2 snack places. Good golden sand. Overall, enjoyed our stay, very friendly staff, only a few points to improve.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank iloveaircon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paulo D, Manager at Baia Grande, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your recent visit to Baia Grande and for your review.
I am glad that overall we had a positive experience at Baia Grande during you stay
I hope to have the pleasure to receive you again at Baía Grande
Kind Regards
Paulo Dias
Manager
manager.bg@baiaalgarve.com
+351289583500

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Stayed here for 5 nights recently on a bed and breakfast basis. Rooms were excellent and very spacious, breakfast was really good, and on the one occasion we ate an evening meal the buffet was also excellent.

Pool and the surrounding area were excellent, although all guests commented on how cold the pool was! Maybe this is better in the hotter summer months. The indoor pool is very small, and there is also a Jacuzzi which I didn't think was working properly and a sauna, which I didn't use.

The only bad thing about the hotel is the location. They do counteract this by offering a free shuttle service to Albufeira and Gale beach, but it would be nice if they offered these trips more frequently, especially at night time - drinks are up to a third of the price in Albufeira and there are many excellent restaurants where you can opt for "tourist" menus which always include fish for around 3 courses for 15 - 20 Euros.

Staff were very good and spoke excellent English. Felt a bit sorry for them having to answer the same questions - perhaps an Algarve welcome pack in the room would be a good idea.

Overall really enjoyed my stay and would gladly return, but next time with a Car!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank themon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paulo D, Manager at Baia Grande, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your recent stay at Baia Grande and for you positive review.
Thank you for your suggestion about the welcoming pack.
A car is always a good idea in this part of the Algarve because it gives you mobility to visit many wonderful places around this area.
I hope to have the pleasure to receive you again at Baía Grande.
Kind Regards
Paulo Dias
Manager
manager.bg@baiaalgarve.com
+351289583500

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

We have just returned from our 10th visit in 12 years to the Baia Grande and we find it as good as ever .If you want a peaceful location with excellent facilities this hotel is worth a visit.If you want a rowdy hotel with lots of nightlife then choose a hotel nearer to the centre of Albufeira.The Baia Grande is about 4 Km outside Albufeira just beyond the new marina.It is in a residential area of Sesmerias and a 10 to 15 min walk to a lovely small bay with a small Café Bar and spectacular views.
The staff at the hotel are always pleasant,friendly and helpful.The breakfasts are excellent offering a full range of hot and cold food at the help yourself buffet.We tend to stay on a B+B basis because we like to do our own thing at Dinner but have eaten in as well and food is generally good again in a buffet with a wide choice to satisfy most palates..Service in the restaurant and bars is excellent with a poolside bar if you fancy something to eat when relaxing by the pool.The pool is large(very) and well designed for both children and adults and there is room to relax in the sun or the shade if you prefer with plenty of loungers for everyone.The indoor pool is smaller but heated.
Standard of cleanliness is first class throughout the hotel and standard of service from reception to bar and restaurant excellent and very polite.
The views from the balcony of sea view and pool view rooms is well worth the extra money and views from 3rd and 2nd floor rooms much better than the first floor..All rooms with a sea view are a good size to accommodate a child in the room with parents easily.
Reading some of the reviews of this hotel I find that some are very critical and unfair.All I can say is that we would not have returned 10 times if it was not good.we have stayed in hotels all over the world and all I can say is that if you want a hotel with good food and service in a quiet location I can thoroughly recommend it.Entertainment is offered 3 or 4 times a week in the Piano bar and is not of the loud head banging variety but more of the easy listening varirty which we like but can understand it may not be for everyone particularly for the youngsters but at the end of the day it suits our taste.

Room Tip: Choose a sea view room on 2nd or 3rd floor for best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Alan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paulo D, Manager at Baia Grande, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your recent visit to Baia Grande and for your loyalty .
I appreciate your comments about our staff and service.
I hope to have the pleasure to receive you again at Baía Grande for many years.
Kind Regards
Paulo Dias
Manager
manager.bg@baiaalgarve.com
+351289583500

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sesmarias
4.5 mi away
Alfagar II Aparthotel
Alfagar II Aparthotel
#10 of 153 in Albufeira
1,019 reviews
3.8 mi away
Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel
3.7 mi away
Muthu Clube Praia da Oura
Muthu Clube Praia da Oura
#80 of 153 in Albufeira
3,445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Vila Gale Atlantico
3.5 mi away
Golden Beach by 3HB
Golden Beach by 3HB
#1 of 153 in Albufeira
257 reviews
5.9 mi away
PortoBay Falesia
PortoBay Falesia
#6 of 153 in Albufeira
2,465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baia Grande? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baia Grande

Address: Rua Joao Guita | Praia da Coelha, Sesmarias, Albufeira 8200-385, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira > Sesmarias
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Sesmarias
Price Range: £19 - £141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Baia Grande 4*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in the Algarve, the Baia Grande Hotel is 3km from the center of Albufeira and 750mts from the Coelha Beach. Four star high quality with 131 rooms, spacious play areas and gardens, providing an elegant, comfortable and relaxing environment. Located 750 meters from Coelha Beach and 3 kilometres from the centre of Albufeira, Baia Grande Hotel with amazing sea views has 131 spacious rooms, play areas and gardens. Of the 131 rooms 10 are Senior Suites with Sea View, 2 Junior Suites with Land View, 80 rooms with Sea View and 39 with Land View. All rooms are equipped with 2 single beds (for up to 1 extra bed), private bathroom, LCD TV with satellite channels, individual air-conditioning, minibar, safe, direct telephone and balcony. In the public areas are 1 restaurant, the "Mermaid Restaurant" where you can taste buffet breakfast or dinner overlooking the pool and theme nights (includes barbecue in summer), also available à la carte menu. The "Piano Bar" overlooking the sea where you can enjoy live music and great cocktails and "Neptune Bar", located next to the pool where you can enjoy snacks, light meals and drinks throughout the day. Hotel Baia Grande also offers indoor heated pool, outdoor swimming pool for adults and children, Jacuzzi (in both pools), sauna, massage and treatment room, table tennis, billiards, table football, giant chess game, free WI-FI internet in all the hotel, live music, a limousine service, rent-a-car, TV and reading room, private parking and transportation for hotel guests to Albufeira (4 times per day, 7 days a week) and Praia da Gale (Monday to Friday, 3 times per day). The reception is open 24 hours. Baia Grande Hotel has 4 meeting rooms for your events, "Sao Rafael", "Sesmarias", "Albufeira" and "Atlantico" with a maximum capacity of 300 people. The Baia Grande Hotel can also organize your banquets, weddings, company parties and other special occasions meet your needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Alpha Holidays Limited, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Baia Grande reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baia Grande Albufeira
Baia Grande Hotel Albufeira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing