We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous”
Review of Baia Grande

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Baia Grande
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Sesmarias
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 July 2014

This hotel is amazing, we had a sea/pool view and it was well worth the money.

Rooms are fab with satelite TV, with plenty of english channels and air con is brilliant. Staff and food lovely. We only stayed b&b but so much to choose from for breakfast.

Only downfall is the location. Nowhere to walk to, taxi is needed at all times to get to places.

Overall, amazing hotel and would return.

Room Tip: Get a pool/sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank mdev_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paulo D, Manager at Baia Grande, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Dear Guest mdev_12,
Thank you very much for sharing your opinion about Baia Grande.
I am pleased that you had an excellent stay with us.
I will be our pleasure to welcome you back to Baía Grande
Kind Regards
Paulo Dias
Manager
manager.bg@baiaalgarve.com
+351 289 583 500

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,053)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

345 - 351 of 1,053 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2014

We have just returned from an 11 day stay at the Baia Grande. This is our second time here and I will definitely be returning. Lovely, quiet and relaxing. Staff are friendly and helpful although at times we had a bit of a wait in the Piano Bar if it was busy. They could maybe do with an extra member of staff here. The pool is gorgeous and there were always loungers available. I loved the swinging hammocks. Rooms are a decent size, clean and towels are changed regularly. It’s worth paying a bit extra for a pool view. There are some lovely small beaches nearby and Praia Da Coelha about 10 minutes away is well worth a visit. If you are feeling adventurous there are some lovely walks along the top. From the right there are amazing views and you can walk to some other beaches a bit further along the coast. From the left there is a walk which will take you the scenic route back to the hotel. The hotel provides a shuttle bus to Albufeira (Old Town) and Gale Beach which is great. The one downside to this is the last bus is just before 7 so if like us you are half board it is too early to go at this time. A taxi to the old town is only around 7 or 8 euros so we often got a taxi there after our meal. The marina is also worth a visit. It is only around a half hour walk and some nice bars there. Overall probably not for anyone looking to party the night away but if you are looking for a relaxing away from it all break then Baia Grande is a definite winner.

Room Tip: Pay extra for a pool/sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Caroline H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paulo D, Manager at Baia Grande, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Dear Guest Caroline H,
Thank you very much for your recent visit to Baia Grande and for your post on this site.
I am very pleased that you had an excellent stay with us.
We, as a team, are very happy that you are planning to return to Baia Grande. It will be our pleasure to have you once more.
Kind Regards
Paulo Dias
Manager
manager.bg@baiaalgarve.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Stayed here with my boyfriend for 10 Days at the end of June. Hotel is lovely- clean, good quality and all the staff are really friendly and will do their utmost to ensure your stay is exactly as you had planned. We were B&B and breakfast was good- had a large range of food and drinks which get replenished throughout the duration of breakfast, although it tended to be a lot busier from 8.45 am-end.
Cocktails in the bar are amazing, high quality drinks presented in a great way- they do take a little while to be made but that is only because the staff take a lot of time over them to ensure they are right and taste nice! They also have a happy hour in the early evening which is good!
The hotel runs a shuttle bus into Albufeira a few times a day, which is free- we used this service a lot to go into Albufeira for tea and then got a taxi back later on in the evening. Taxi back from where the bus drops you off is around €7.50.
The bus takes you into the Old Town of Albufeira which is more restaurants and a couple of streets of bars. There are some amazing places to eat which are a little more pricey, as you might expect, but also cheap and cheerful places on the beach front too. If you want to go into the new town then you can get the shuttle bus into the Old Town then catch the tourist train to the Strip which is a lot more active, a lot more bars but also a wide range of places to eat also. Round trip on the tourist train is €4 each or a one way trip is €2.50- it is walking distance to the strip from the old town in about 15 minutes.
The hotel also runs a free shuttle bus to Gale Beach which is a large beach about 7-10 minutes drive away. We found this a lovely day out and there are a couple of places to eat on the beach front.
Praia de Cohela is about a 10 minute walk from the hotel- quiet little beach with a couple of caves that the Algarve is famous for. You can also walk along the top of the cliffs from here which is enjoyable in the evening.
Overall a really pleasant stay at Baia Grande- location issues can be tackled through use of the shuttle bus and taxis, although hire cars are available too! We didn't have any issues with the location, but be aware that not many places are within walking distance.

Room Tip: Definitely pay for a sea view room- it is worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank tand123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paulo D, Manager at Baia Grande, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Dear Guest Tand123,
Thank you very much for taking your time to review about Baia Grande.
I am very happy that overall you had a positive experience at our hotel. Thank you very much for you positive remarks about our staff and service.
I hope that you return to Baia Grande in the future.
Kind Regards
Paulo Dias
Manager
manager.bg@baiaalgarve.com
+351289583500

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We stayed here for a week in June/July and was pleasantly surprised. The hotel is lovely and also very clean. The reception staff are always very helpful and cheerful. The rooms are big, as is the bathroom, more than enough room for two people. We did not pay extra for a sea/pool view room so looked out over the car park, which was not great but as we only slept in there, was sufficient for our needs.

Breakfast is also very good with a great selection of food - even nice bacon and decent sausages, which are usually unheard of except in the UK! You can fill your water bottles from the machine in the restaurant, so no need to go to a mini mart and pay extra.

Drinks prices are, of course, more expensive than outside but we only drank in the hotel when we had been out beforehand. We usually took the free shuttle to the town, where everything is cheaper.

There are a few restaurants around the hotel within walking distance and two of them were excellent. One is 500yds opposite the hotel called something like O'Meirheiro and the other is Dom Dinis a short 5 minute walk. If you like Indian food the Shaan Palace, which is a short cab ride away, is worth a visit.

The Coelho beach is a 10 minute walk and is OK but very small and the water is freezing. Good if you have children though as small enough to keep your eye on them.

Only downfall for the hotel is that the wifi is only available free in the reception area. Hotels should have free wifi throughout, as holidays as expensive anyway.

if I went back to Portugal I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JackieL54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paulo D, Manager at Baia Grande, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Dear Guest JackieL54,
Thank you very much for your recent stay and comment about Baia Grande.
I am very happy that you had a positive experience with us. Thank you very much for you positive remarks about our staff and service.
I hope that you return to Baia Grande in the future.
Kind Regards
Paulo Dias
Manager
manager.bg@baiaalgarve.com
+351289583500

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We went at the end of June 2014 for 10 days as two families in two rooms and firstly stayed in the resort facing rooms for 6 days which had limited views before getting the opportunity of upgrading to two pool facing rooms for the remainder of our holiday; which was very much worth it as the rooms were beautiful with good balconies and a private corridor between the rooms which meant the kids could run freely between rooms.

The piano bar staff, pool bar staff, restaurant staff and reception staff were all very friendly and helpful and it surprised me to read people who stayed at the same time thought they were rude; but I guess you get back what you give, it's nice to learn the basic local language pleasantries when speaking to the staff; yes most of the staff speak many languages but if you make an effort back for them the reception in their face is wonderful. The pool bar staff are exceptionally nice and have an excellent and patient way with the children in a bar which van be very busy at times with food and drinks.

The hotel is away from the busy parts of Albuferia but close enough to many lovely restaurants and secluded beaches. The hotel has a good variety of buffet food for breakfast and evening meals which have a Portuguese flavour to them; and you either like buffet meals or you don't; but you'd be hard pushed or overly fussy to say there was nothing you liked. Our children weren't overly keen with the buffet food; but that is more down to them being young and fussy eaters. The Pool bar has a good range of simple meals for during the day which I couldn't fault.

Out and about we found the Margem Sol restaurant a 5 minute walk away was very friendly with good food, (sea bass was excellent), or get a short taxi drive to Sao Domingos restaurant if you want an excellent choice of meals from a menu in super clean and friendly restaurant. We would thoroughly recommend the Sao Domingos to anyone.

We met a lovely couple who are well travelled yet they have been coming back to this hotel for the past 13 years; so it was no surprise when we found ourselves asking the hotel staff for contact details for 2015 offers they might be running as we will definitely be going back.

Well done to Paulo and his team at the Baia Grande!

Room Tip: There are rooms called sea view or pool view, depending upon which website you book through, but the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MartyBabz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paulo D, Manager at Baia Grande, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Dear Guest MartyBabz ,
Thank you very much for your recent stay with us and for sharing your comments about Baia Grande.
I am very happy that you and your family had a wonderful experience with us. I glad that we were able to accommodate you request and provide you and your family a good experience with us.
It will be our pleasure to receive you again at Baia Grande.
Kind Regards
Paulo Dias
Manager
manager.bg@baiaalgarve.com
+351289583500

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

lovely week stay in June. couldn't fault the hotel cleanliness, rooms lovely. breakfasts very good.
entertainment on every night. armed guard patrols evenings. the bus is on daily to the beach and town. nice restaurants by gale beach and bar . nice restaurant straight down the track straight ahead when out of hotel on he left. Supermarket 10 mins walk. would go again, and recommend this hotel. not really for children but great for adults

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KatMillie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paulo D, Manager at Baia Grande, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Dear Guest kathrynmole,
Thank you very much for your recent stay and comment about Baia Grande.
I am very happy that you had a wonderful experience with us. Thank you very much for you positive remarks about our staff and service.
I hope that you return to Baia Grande in the future.
Kind Regards
Paulo Dias
Manager
manager.bg@baiaalgarve.com
+351289583500

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Spent 5 days here, really clean and ideal sized hotel, great facilities, pool and area is lovely, staff on reception are polite and really helpful. food was great, drink prices were reasonable for the area. only downsize is there isn't a shop or supermarket nearby, so getting water is a bit of a pain, hotel has a tourist shop, but doesn't sell food or drink, we seemed to have a bit of a problem at night in the piano bar, getting served, 20 min wait for a drink, one waiter serving, and when i went to the bar, couldn't get served there either,
wouldn't put us off going back though, Definitely a 4 star hotel.
Thanks again

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paulo D, Manager at Baia Grande, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Dear Guest Paul R,
Thank you very much for your visit and for your positive post about your stay with us.
I am happy to know that overall you had a positive stay at Baia Grande. I am sorry for situation at the bar. We already took action to overcome that kind of issues
I hope that you return to Baia Grande in the future.
Kind Regards
Paulo Dias
Manager
manager.bg@baiaalgarve.com
+351289583500

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sesmarias
6.8 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#2 of 154 in Albufeira
1,168 reviews
3.8 mi away
Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel
3.7 mi away
Muthu Clube Praia da Oura
Muthu Clube Praia da Oura
#85 of 154 in Albufeira
3,416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Alfagar II Aparthotel
Alfagar II Aparthotel
#10 of 154 in Albufeira
1,003 reviews
3.0 mi away
Luna Clube Oceano
Luna Clube Oceano
#26 of 154 in Albufeira
480 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hotel Topazio
Hotel Topazio
#53 of 154 in Albufeira
799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baia Grande? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baia Grande

Address: Rua Joao Guita | Praia da Coelha, Sesmarias, Albufeira 8200-385, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira > Sesmarias
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Sesmarias
Price Range: £33 - £140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Baia Grande 4*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in the Algarve, the Baia Grande Hotel is 3km from the center of Albufeira and 750mts from the Coelha Beach. Four star high quality with 131 rooms, spacious play areas and gardens, providing an elegant, comfortable and relaxing environment. Located 750 meters from Coelha Beach and 3 kilometres from the centre of Albufeira, Baia Grande Hotel with amazing sea views has 131 spacious rooms, play areas and gardens. Of the 131 rooms 10 are Senior Suites with Sea View, 2 Junior Suites with Land View, 80 rooms with Sea View and 39 with Land View. All rooms are equipped with 2 single beds (for up to 1 extra bed), private bathroom, LCD TV with satellite channels, individual air-conditioning, minibar, safe, direct telephone and balcony. In the public areas are 1 restaurant, the "Mermaid Restaurant" where you can taste buffet breakfast or dinner overlooking the pool and theme nights (includes barbecue in summer), also available à la carte menu. The "Piano Bar" overlooking the sea where you can enjoy live music and great cocktails and "Neptune Bar", located next to the pool where you can enjoy snacks, light meals and drinks throughout the day. Hotel Baia Grande also offers indoor heated pool, outdoor swimming pool for adults and children, Jacuzzi (in both pools), sauna, massage and treatment room, table tennis, billiards, table football, giant chess game, free WI-FI internet in all the hotel, live music, a limousine service, rent-a-car, TV and reading room, private parking and transportation for hotel guests to Albufeira (4 times per day, 7 days a week) and Praia da Gale (Monday to Friday, 3 times per day). The reception is open 24 hours. Baia Grande Hotel has 4 meeting rooms for your events, "Sao Rafael", "Sesmarias", "Albufeira" and "Atlantico" with a maximum capacity of 300 people. The Baia Grande Hotel can also organize your banquets, weddings, company parties and other special occasions meet your needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Alpha Holidays Limited, TravelUp, LoveHolidays, Splitty, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Baia Grande reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baia Grande Albufeira
Baia Grande Hotel Albufeira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing