We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant hotel”
Review of Baia Grande

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Baia Grande
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Sesmarias
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 August 2014 via mobile

We booked this hotel last minute for a week in the sun. It has good facilities and a clean, spacious pool area with plenty of sun loungers. The rooms are a bit dated but are large and clean. The staff are friendly and helpful. The cocktails were nice and the pool bar food was good.

On the downside though:-

- it is not close to Albufeira town or the larger beaches. There is a small pretty cove with a beach 15 mins walk away called Rabbit Beach with a bit of a hill on way back. There are only 3 shuttle buses to Albufeira a day which you need to book and the last one leaves quite early teatime (6.40pm during the week and 5.30pm weekends). To go at other times or get to other places or beaches you will wait about 30 mins on average for a taxi. One day we waited an hour for a taxi and another day the driver refused to take us to Vilamoura as it was too far so we had to order another. We heard a few people complaining about this.

- the breakfast is really good with plenty of choice but the coffee is undrinkable (from a machine too bitter and too sweet). The orange juice was not fresh and also too sweet.

- there is no iron in the room which is odd. They will iron things for you at a cost with min 24 hours notice. This means you have to plan ahead or iron everything which crumpled in your suitcase (which is pretty pricey at between 3-5 Euros per item).

- contrary to what we read on the website there is no A La Carte restaurant open. We went to try it and were told there is only the buffet. The buffet was ok but it felt like eating in a canteen with bright lights and no music. It was also not worth the price. You also can't eat or drink outside like it shows in the pictures other than one night where they do a BBQ.

We had a good stay though. I think it is more suited to families than to couples.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank TracyMacMurray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paulo D, Manager at Baia Grande, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Dear guest TracyMacMurray,
Thank you very much for you recent stay at Baia Grande and for your comments.
I am glad that overall you had a good stay with us.
Regarding the location of the hotel I see it as a big advantage since we are away from the crowded Albufeira, but I can understand your point of view. For that reason we advise all travelers to check our localization before travel.
Please let me clarify that our shuttle bus runs 4 times to Albufeira, daily, and always with the same schedule.
At the restaurant we have two types of coffee – powder and grain. I regret to know that you did not enjoy them.
We do not have irons in the rooms due to security reasons.
Regarding our A La Carte Restaurant I would like to inform you that this outlet is currently not working. We already informed our business partners about this fact. Nevertheless in the main restaurant there is always an option, besides the buffet, to our guests.
It will be our pleasure to receive you again at Baia Grande.
Kind Regards
Paulo Dias
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,021)
There are newer reviews for Baia Grande
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

313 - 319 of 1,024 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2014

Went to Baia Grande in July. Had a brilliant time, we stayed b&b as we wanted to get out and about on an evening.
Pool area was lovely and always clean (not sure the pool temperature was what was written on the board every day - but it was nice in 35 degree heat).
Pool area menu was nice - had toasties nearly everyday - they love their salt on chips though so if you don't tell them not to put it on before you get it!
Quite expensive for drinks - water was 2 euros for a small bottle, sangria was 5.50 but very nice indeed. Magners and other imported drinks were all over the 7 euros mark so we stuck to sangria most days.
The biggest disappointment was that the pool bar shut at tea time and didn't re-open on a night! There is nowhere to go for a drink outside on an evening and as the piano bar wasn't air conditioned we couldn't stand to sit in there. Why, with a hotel this far out of town did they not think that people would want to be sat outside on an evening in 30 degrees I cannot understand.
The only other problem we found was that it was so far away from the centre of town. There are lots of other comments on about walking into town but there is no way it is either a, near or b, safe. There is a pathway some of the way into Albufeira but it is like a dual carriageway and not safe especially not for children. It took about 7 minutes in a taxi to get to town so i would say a good few miles. Not a leisurely walk down a promenade as others have put.
The hotel has a little mini bus to take you either to the beach or to the old town and we just ordered at reception an hour before and went it was free and a good idea for during the day. I think the last one was about 6 in the evening so you could go to town there and just get a taxi home later. A taxi to the old town was 7 euros and we just got a taxi every night. The new town was a little bit more maybe 8/8.50 euros but worth going on an evening as at least we could sit outside then.
There is a secret beach but we only found it by accident. Beware of the restaurant there though it was 12 euros for a salad the size of a side plate boo :-(

Room Tip: Our room overlooked the car park which was a lot quieter than the pool area rooms.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paulo D, Manager at Baia Grande, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Dear guest Jane B,
Thank you very much for staying at Baia Grande and for taking you time to write this review.
I see that you had a good time with us during your stay and enjoyed our pool bar. I appreciate your suggestion to open the pool Bar until a later time.
Regarding the location of the hotel I see it as a big advantage since we are away from the crowded Albufeira, but I can understand your point of view. For that reason we advise all travelers to check our localization before travel.
It will be our pleasure to receive you again at Baia Grande.
Kind Regards
Paulo Dias
Manager
manager.bg@baiaalgarve.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014 via mobile

I'm currently sitting in the piano bar of the Baia Grande, not looking forward to going home tomorrow and feeling compelled to write a review of this lovely hotel

Of particular note:

The cocktails here are amazing and if you're used to London prices then incredibly reasonable for the quality, whether at the piano bar or the pool bar. I can particularly recommend the kiwi caipirinha and raspberry martinis and a strawberry daiquiri by the pool is always a winner

The pool area is great, kept very clean, huge pool that never seems too busy despite a full hotel. Food at the pool bar is lovely and service very quick

Staff are very friendly and helpful. I'm going to give a shout out to Alberto in the restaurant and Paulo in the piano bar for being particularly charming

Rooms are spacious and clean and not too warm - we didn't have a balcony but didn't spend much time in the room so it didn't matter much

Breakfast is great, huge amounts of choice and amazing sausages. Even the scrambled eggs were good and I'm a total fusspot about scrambled eggs cooked by anyone other than me

Also lots of choice at the dinner buffet although an indication of the contents of some items in the salad buffet might be helpful as there was a bit of guessing going on! Food generally pretty delicious though

Other tips:

Make use of the shuttle bus into the old town, punctual and quick and worth it

Praia de Coelho is a lovely little beach just 10mins walk away. Do get there early as it fills up and isn't large. Albufeira beach is lovely and much larger but sure it gets very crowded later in the day

Bad points:

Ummmm, hard to think of any really. I did pay for the upgraded wifi which didn't work in my apparently lead-lined room. Worked everywhere else, even in the corridor outside the room. But only a very mild irritation and good to unplug anyway

So all in all 9.5/10 for a wonderful stay in a peaceful and relaxing hotel. If you want a strip of bars and clubs on your doorstep then this isn't the place for you!

Stayed: August 2014
2  Thank EssexDolly213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paulo D, Manager at Baia Grande, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Dear guest EssexDolly213,
Thank you very much for your recent stay at Baia Grande and for you post.
It is rewarding to know that you enjoyed Baia Grande, namely our cocktails. Let me agree with you by saying that they are rally wonderful.
Thank you very much for your comments about our staff. They are the most important element of the hotel!
It will be our pleasure to receive you again at Baia Grande.
Kind Regards
Paulo Dias
Manager
manager.bg@baiaalgarve.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

We had a lovely time at the Baia Grande on Honeymoon.
The room was lovely and the food and facilities were great. (Sauna, jacuzzi)
The other patrons were mainly mature holiday goers, so it was quiet, and not rowdy in anyway.
It is a bit further out, which makes it a nice peaceful spot compared to the other hotels we saw as we were being dropped off from the airport. We were relieved there were no neon flashing lights!! They have a bus service to shuttle you around or you can take a taxi into the Old Town.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Allypallypally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paulo D, Manager at Baia Grande, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Dear guest AllyG77,
Thank you very much for your recent visit, particularly on such an exceptional occasion as your Honeymoon.
I think that our localization is a plus. We are set in a quite area that is ideal to relax.
I hope that in the future you return to Baia Grande.
Kind Regards
Paulo Dias
Manager
manager.bg@baiaalgarve.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Outstanding 2 week break in July 2014. Peace, quiet and relaxation. Friendliness of the staff and Cleanliness of the hotel outstanding. Reception and Restaurant staff friendly and helpful. Plentiful selection of quality food at both Breakfast and Evening meal. This is the first and only time I've left a review, I genuinely tried my hardest to think of any criticism or negative comments-and boy can I be picky-!, however I can't find any!!!

This was by far the best and most stress free relaxing quality holiday I could have ever dreamt of. Thank you so much Paulo and the team for making it the perfect resort!!! I look forward to coming back and staying again and wish you all well and keep up the very high standards.

Thank you so much,

Marc and Beata

Room Tip: Poolside Rooms, Overlooking the sea, upgrade for that little more luxury!!!
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Marc B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paulo D, Manager at Baia Grande, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Dear Marc and Beata,
Thank you very much for your recent visit to Baia Grande and for your positive feedback.
I am very happy that both of you had an excellent stay at Bia Grande.
Thank you for your comments about our staff and service.
It will be our pleasure to receive you again at Bia Grande.
Kind Regards
Paulo Dias
Manager
manager.bg@baiaalgarve.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

GOOD
Rooms are clean and comfortable
Good Breakfast with plenty of choice
Reasonably priced (£330 for a week in July)
Good pool with plenty of sun loungers
Friendly helpful staff

BAD
Location is a 8 euro taxi into the Old Town but there are free shuttle buses which are punctual and easily available.
Entertainment was a bit cheesy...a man on a piano and a woman singing ABBA

Mainly couples in this hotel with a good mix of nationalities....not a lot of children but they are welcome and the staff/Portuguese are great with the kids

I would recommend this hotel...nice and relaxing....not for the club 18-30 crowd

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jimbob53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paulo D, Manager at Baia Grande, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Dear guest Jimbob53,
Thank you very much for your recent visit Baia Grande and for positive post.
I am very happy that overall you had a good time with us.
Thank you for you comments about our staff and for recommend us to other travellers.
Kind Regards
Paulo Dias
Manager
manager.bg@baiaalgarve.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Me & my husband stayed for 1 week in May 2014 excellent hotel & great location for peace & quiet But if u want a few lively nights out you are not too far away we are booked to return sept the 22nd we have recommended this hotel to all family & friends wot more can I say accept first time we have returned to an hotel anywhere we have been before taking bro & sister with us sue & ken Burrett

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Suekenbow123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paulo D, Manager at Baia Grande, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Dear Sue & Ken Burrett,
Thank you very much for your recent visit Baia Grande and for your wonderful post.
I am very happy that you had a good time with us.
It will be our pleasure to receive you and your family next September.
Kind Regards
Paulo Dias
Manager
manager.bg@baiaalgarve.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sesmarias
3.3 mi away
Hotel Topazio
Hotel Topazio
#50 of 154 in Albufeira
785 reviews
6.8 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#2 of 154 in Albufeira
1,117 reviews
3.7 mi away
Muthu Clube Praia da Oura
Muthu Clube Praia da Oura
#81 of 154 in Albufeira
3,339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel
3.0 mi away
Luna Clube Oceano
Luna Clube Oceano
#20 of 154 in Albufeira
469 reviews
2.0 mi away
Salgados Dunas Suites
Salgados Dunas Suites
#19 of 154 in Albufeira
620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baia Grande? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baia Grande

Address: Rua Joao Guita | Praia da Coelha, Sesmarias, Albufeira 8200-385, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira > Sesmarias
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Sesmarias
Price Range: £36 - £280 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Baia Grande 4*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in the Algarve, the Baia Grande Hotel is 3km from the center of Albufeira and 750mts from the Coelha Beach. Four star high quality with 131 rooms, spacious play areas and gardens, providing an elegant, comfortable and relaxing environment. Located 750 meters from Coelha Beach and 3 kilometres from the centre of Albufeira, Baia Grande Hotel with amazing sea views has 131 spacious rooms, play areas and gardens. Of the 131 rooms 10 are Senior Suites with Sea View, 2 Junior Suites with Land View, 80 rooms with Sea View and 39 with Land View. All rooms are equipped with 2 single beds (for up to 1 extra bed), private bathroom, LCD TV with satellite channels, individual air-conditioning, minibar, safe, direct telephone and balcony. In the public areas are 1 restaurant, the "Mermaid Restaurant" where you can taste buffet breakfast or dinner overlooking the pool and theme nights (includes barbecue in summer), also available à la carte menu. The "Piano Bar" overlooking the sea where you can enjoy live music and great cocktails and "Neptune Bar", located next to the pool where you can enjoy snacks, light meals and drinks throughout the day. Hotel Baia Grande also offers indoor heated pool, outdoor swimming pool for adults and children, Jacuzzi (in both pools), sauna, massage and treatment room, table tennis, billiards, table football, giant chess game, free WI-FI internet in all the hotel, live music, a limousine service, rent-a-car, TV and reading room, private parking and transportation for hotel guests to Albufeira (4 times per day, 7 days a week) and Praia da Gale (Monday to Friday, 3 times per day). The reception is open 24 hours. Baia Grande Hotel has 4 meeting rooms for your events, "Sao Rafael", "Sesmarias", "Albufeira" and "Atlantico" with a maximum capacity of 300 people. The Baia Grande Hotel can also organize your banquets, weddings, company parties and other special occasions meet your needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelUp, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Baia Grande reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baia Grande Albufeira
Baia Grande Hotel Albufeira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing