We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sao Rafael Suites
Nearby Hotels
US$208
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$149
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Baia Grande(Sesmarias)(Great Value!)
US$142
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$138
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Torre Velha Hotel(Albufeira)(Great Value!)
US$59
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Vila Joya(Gale)
US$965
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$212
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Vila Gale Atlantico(Gale)(Great Value!)
US$141
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Maritur(Albufeira)(Great Value!)
US$94
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$75
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (974)
Filter reviews
974 results
Traveller rating
415
321
149
49
40
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
415
321
149
49
40
Show reviews that mention
All reviewskids cluba la carteold townsuite hotelall inclusive drinksgolf breaksmall kitchenall inclusive packagegolfing holidayfamily suitestar hotelitalian restaurantgames roommichael jacksonsister hotelpool bardouble room
Filter
Updating list...
559 - 564 of 974 reviews
Reviewed 29 September 2012

Hotel looks beautiful & rooms lovely but only news channels on tv and view of the car park couldnt be hidden unless you drew the only curtains which shut all the light out competely .
Was expecting quiet but no atmosphere at all and became quite dull. Need to put some background music on at all meals to give some ambience. and at reception too. Wasn't helped by staff who had little personality , though were civil and polite bar Philipe at reception who was great.
Bar prices expensive but good choice but have to go find which bar is open and felt like never enough staff around to help. Signage in hotel very poor and found one bar by mistake!
Food poor. Generally warm or cold and bland. Additional restaraunts poor -cold pasta and pizza served al la carte? Very strange. If your vegetarien forget it.
Beach nice & restaurant on beach better than hotel.
Garden very poor state of affairs and desperately need sorting out, shabby and untidy. No assistance to get a sun bed that wasn't dirty or broken, no waiter service , no anything all week.
Looks like a 5 star hotel but sadly is not .

Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Grace G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CSHOTELS, Manager at Sao Rafael Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your time to post your review regarding your recent stay at the CS São Rafael Atlantic Hotel.
I do regret to read that you were disappointed with your stay with us. Regarding the TV channels I must mention that we do have News channels and also a variety of Series, Nature, Sport and Movie Channels. We also have ambience music in all Hotel areas. I was surprised with your comments about the Hotel Team since we do receive many feedback from our guests prizing their services. Filipe was really happy for your mention and he was thankful for your words. I would like to point out that we provide all the information about the times and spots of the Hotel. Besides that our Team is always pleased and available to help you in anything you need. Concerning your comments about the prices please allow me to mention that the prices we practice are not much higher than the prices that you can find in local restaurants, and we do guarantee the quality of our products as well as the five stars standards of our services.
Your comments have been noted and we will work on the less positive aspects in order to solve them in a satisfactory manner.

I hope you come back soon to find out our improvements.

Best Regards,

Álvaro Aragão
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2012

I was first introduced to trip advisor after myself and my husband had booked the CS Sao Rafael Atlantic Hotel for our honeymoon, and I have to admit, after reading several reviews of the hotel, I had my reservations about what would greet us upon arrival. I had been reading wrong. This hotel is outstanding!! I have stayed in other Thomson Platinum hotels over the years and it was obvious this was the next step up. We had champagne upon arrival, a quick and easy check in and had our bags brought up to our room. The next 7 days were heavenly. Pleanty of choice of where to sit (by the pool, in the pool bar, in the grassy grounds surrounding the hotel), pleanty of choice of food for breakfast, lunch and dinner and the staff were exceptional. There was not alot surrounding the hotel but a 5 minute walk found you at a small supermarket to stock up on crisps, water and wine. I am genuinely baffled how ANYONE can put this hotel down.

Room Tip: We were given a choice about having an ocean view room upon booking (for extra money) but chose to not specify a room. I think we ended up with what they would class as "basic" but we found it to be "outstanding". We had a room right next to the entrance of the hotel, cracking spot to people watch!
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katie_Ault
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CSHOTELS, Manager at Sao Rafael Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for sharing your wonderful review regarding your recent stay at the CS São Rafael Atlantic Hotel.
I was delighted to know that we had the honor to welcome you on a very special occasion, your Honeymoon. I was very pleased to read that you were highly satisfied with our Hotel facilities and standards. Thank you very much for you compliments about the food. I already pass your comments to our Executive Chef who was very happy to know that you appreciated our options. Our Hotel Team was very proud to know that you appreciated their attentive service.

I do hope to have the pleasure of welcome you again soon and present you with another “heavenly” holiday.

Kind Regards,

Álvaro Aragão
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2012

We were very disappointed with this hotel. The reception staff were very unwelcoming - no smile or welcome. The little man kept us waiting 20 minutes to check in whilst he had a telephone call. The lady could only speak three words of English 'NO & YOU PAY'.
The room - the shower fell off the wall upon first use, the air con didn't work in the bedroom. There was a kitchenette with a kettle but coffee and milk sachets were not provided - YOU PAY. Only one small bottle of water provided per week!! The large Tv's did not have any sound only on news channels.
Dining room - No staff on duty before 8am, stewed, cold coffee, fried eggs piled in a tureen, cold and oily. One small bottle of sparkling wine provided for the whole restaurant, not replenished when empty.
Poolside - no waiter service, no clean towels available before 10.30am!!
The beach was at least 1km from the hotel and a long trek uphill on return.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CSHOTELS, Manager at Sao Rafael Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your time to post your feedback regarding your recent stay at the CS São Rafael Suite Hotel.
I do regret that your stay with us was not up to your expectations. I was surprised with your comments about the Hotel Team since your opinion doesn’t match with the majority opinion of our Guests.
Our Team is highly professional and they go extra miles just to provide a pleasant stay to all our guests. I will certainly follow up with our Executive Chef your remarks about the food and he will for sure take the necessary measures to improve the quality of our options. Concerning the way to the beach and in order to ensure our guest’s wellbeing and relaxing holiday we provide a free transfer to the São Rafael Beach and to Albufeira several times a day. It is our pleasure to provide fresh pool towels every day to our guests, before 10:00 AM at the Reception and after 10:00 AM and during all day the towels can be changed in our Relax Center located in the same floor as our 3 outdoor swimming pools.

While we continue to make the necessary improvements to maintain the high standards of customer service that we have set, I do hope that we get another opportunity to welcome you back in a near future.

Best Regards,

Álvaro Aragão
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2012

We stayed at CS Sao Rafael Suites for the third time in 18 months and we were really happy to return. On booking we asked for a larger room to accommodate a group of five girls and have to say the room did not disappoint. The beds are really comfortable and each of the rooms have the benefit of air conditioning. There was two bathrooms both really spacious, fresh towels daily, power showers were so relaxing and water temperature perfect all day long. The balcony attached to our room was huge overlooking the sea (we were on the third floor) and had ample seating for all of us.

There are three pools attached to the hotel, although the water temperature is cooler than normal, its very refreshing to get in when the temperature in the heat is so hot. We normally made it down for breakfast by 9.40 a.m. and there was still plenty of choice available. The restaurant while slightly noisy this time round,you have the option of seating either inside or outside. The only reason for the noise is due to the large amount of golfers staying at the hotel during our visit which is great to see !! We went out to either the old town or the strip each night, the hotel booked a taxi for five each time which normally cost €10, the journey is around 10 mins drive.

We ate every day in the pool bar and no complaints from any of us. Good choice of food and staff very helpful and attentive. Throughout our visit we could not fault the service or the staff and thank you again for helping to make a great holiday.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sheec99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CSHOTELS, Manager at Sao Rafael Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2012

Dear valued Guest,
Thank you for sharing your feedback with us and other travellers after your recent stay at CS São Rafael Suite Hotel.
Thank you very much for your loyalty.
I´m very glad to know that you enjoyed your stay , our facilities , the standart of our rooms and our food options.
It is my pleasure to share your review with our dedicated team, they will be very happy to know that you consider them to be attentive and helpful, we are very proud to welcome you any time.

Looking forward to welcome you on your future visit,

Sunny Regards from Algarve,

Álvaro Aragão
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2012

CS Sao Rafael Suite Hotel is a beautiful, contemporary built hotel situated in the quiet area of Sao Rafael (amfive minute taxi ride from Albufeira Square). On arrival we were greeted outside by pleasant and friendly staff who insisted on taking our bags to our room for us. Staff on reception were always helpful and available on a 24 hour basis they answered any questions or queries that we had and also and booked taxis for us at any time - nothing was too much trouble.

On to the hotel itself. One word. Wow. This hotel has been has been completed to an excellent standard, the rooms are spacious, comfortable and more importantly luxurious. Maid service in this hotel is also impeccable, our room was always fresh and airy and linen was changed every two days as standard unless requested otherwise. The restaurants were also beautiful, we never ate at the hotel of an evening but the breakfast was fantastic. Crepes, pastries, bacon, cheeses, cereals, fruit etc. etc. the choice was fantastic and suited all types of individuals.

The pool areas were also very spacious and well presented. This hotel has three generously sized pools with very comfortable loungers and lovely large parasols. There was no fighting for loungers or space around the poolside what so ever, there was ample room for all guests without feeling 'on top of one another' which is a common issue in large hotels. Staff happily wait on guests around the pool side serving drinks and beautiful sandwiches during the daytime.

All in all this hotel is simply fantastic, the location is perfect; if you want to be near to restaurants and bars of an evening the average taxi journey to Albufeira is between €5-7 each way taking a mere five minutes. During the daytime you are away from the hustle and bustle of Albufeira and approximately 5-10minutes walk away from the local beaches which too are very beautiful, clean and well maintained. There are a couple of lovely local restaurants nearby to the hotel, I would definitely recommend Praia Grande which has an open air veranda with a view of the beach and most importantly beautiful food.

If your thinking of booking this hotel your a fool not to, I can guarantee you won't be disappointed it was simply marvellous :)

Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Loraine_P89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CSHOTELS, Manager at Sao Rafael Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for you wonderful review regarding your recent stay at the CS São Rafael Suite Hotel.
I was delighted to read that your holiday with us caused you a “Wow!” effect. I was glad to know that our Hotel standards and facilities were up to your expectations. Thank you so much for your inspiring words about the Hotel Team, they were very proud to know that you appreciated their services. Our Executive Chef was also happy to read that you enjoyed our Breakfast options. It is true, the Pools and gardens are a very relaxing and peaceful area.

It is a great honor to read that you would recommends us without any hesitation.

I do hope to have the pleasure of welcome you back in a near future,

Sunny Regards from Algarve,

Álvaro Aragão
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews