We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice out of the way hideout”
Review of The Tides Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Tides Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Irvington
Certificate of Excellence
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Nice out of the way hideout”
Reviewed 29 August 2013 via mobile

If you are looking for a nice out of the way place, this is it. It is tucked in a quiet town with not a lot to do but relax. My room was clean and spacious. The wifi was not all that great and my balcony was a little dirty. It also had a musty smell that old places on the water sometimes have. The food was great as well the views.
The pool area is great, the beach area okay, but the water is not the greatest to swim in.
Definite place to return to

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheHef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tidesgm, General Manager at The Tides Inn, responded to this review, 3 September 2013
We have found that Wifi is never a system to turn your back on. Every year we double our bandwidth and increase capability but even that does not always keep pace with the changing face of communication. we appreciate your candor and will keep trying harder.
Little note on swimming, we have two pools in season, one salt water the other fresh, the Chesapeake is fun to swim in but we are a long way from the Atlantic and more akin to an inland sea.
We look forward to your return.
Gordon Slatford
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

559 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    292
    165
    50
    36
    16
See reviews for
158
285
3
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013

My wife and I visited Irvington, VA recently and stayed at the Tides Inn. The rooms are a little pricey for the area, but the service and ammenities are well worth it. Request a room facing the water and enjoy a relaxing weekend in a very small quiet Virginia town. While we were here, we enjoyed some cocktails on their patio facing the water, took a boat ride around the area as well as rode some bikes over to a couple shops and winery nearby. The Inn is very family friendly, but also good for couples to get away for the night or weekend.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bhickman2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tidesgm, General Manager at The Tides Inn, responded to this review, 3 September 2013
Thank you for your review.
A hint on room rates, weekdays are nearly always more economical than weekends, we often have promotional rates and would encourage speaking to one of reservation specialists to find the right package and room for you.
Gordon Slatford
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013

The good things:

1. Friendly, attentive staff
2. Lovely views of bay from balcony and restaurant terrace
3. Breakfast - good choices and very tasty
4. Comfortable bed and linens

The bad things:

Overall the hotel just wasn't worth the high cost and resort fee

1. Use of carpet in outdoor areas/balconies means we were often walking on soggy carpet - gave the feel of a low-rate motel rather than a resort. This must be unhygenic. Room smelt a little musty.
2. Terrible gym - It's completely misleading for the hotel to describe this as a fitness centre (and nothing around for miles as an alternative)
3. Limited dining options

And a further minor irritation was the pompous emails received before and after the stay. They seemed to have been written by someone who had swallowed an english dictionary from the 1800s.

Room Tip: visit La Source in Kilmarnock for much cheaper but high quality spa treatments
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hotelfussy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tidesgm, General Manager at The Tides Inn, responded to this review, 3 September 2013
Friendly staff, lovely views, good tasty breakfast, comfortable bed, We are glad these critical standards were to your liking. Outdoor carpet is designed to get wet and provide a better surface than wood and gets washed every time it rains. I am sorry the Tides did not suit you, we wish it was different but accept your comments with humility.
Gordon Slatford
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Charles, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013

We spent the past weekend at the Tides Inn with our daughter and Son-In-Law. We arrived by boat and they arrived by car. We stayed at the marina and they stayed at the inn. Everything about the resort is wonderful, the staff, the food, the grounds, the activities, and the view. What a relaxing place to be! This place is a good value. We will return.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GLSw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashburn, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013

We went to the Tides Inn for three nights with our best friends who have children the same age as ours. (15 year old girls and 13 year old boys) Despite the fact that it rained every day of our stay, there was still plenty to do. (and this is coming from a sun worshiper) We played golf every day on the free, nine hole golf course, played tennis on the free clay courts, played croquet, took kayaks out, swam in the pool, played chess, went for spa pedicures, ate dozens and dozens of local oysters, drank local wine, rode bikes, roasted marshmellows, etc. We were there to celebrate my husband's 49th year and we go away at this time every year to say goodbye to summer. The kids wandered freely the entire time. We went to the Homestead at this time last year. The activities offered by The Tides Inn were way less expensive than the Homestead's activities. Our rooms had nice patios overlooking the water. Staff was super friendly and very helpful. We went out for dinner twice and the Tides offered us free shuttle service both nights. Food was pricey in the restaurant. Room service was actually cheaper.

Room Tip: I don't think there's a bad room in this place. They all seem to overlook the water. Higher...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tidesgm, General Manager at The Tides Inn, responded to this review, 3 September 2013
We are glad you had a great stay despite the rain, it was good of you to reassure our customers that rain or shine the Tides' is fine.
We have some lighter fare items from our bar menu available in room service but regular dinner items are as you would expect a little more expensive when delivered to your room.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Gordon Slatford
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013

My husband and I really enjoyed this resort and look forward to returning with our kids. We found the setting beautiful and relaxing. We loved having cocktails on the terrace while listening to live music and watching the sun set. Idyllic.

Our room was in the main building and was very spacious. My only complaint is that the HVAC was quite loud and there was some weird clicking we couldn't identify. When we return we'll try to request a different room type to see if it's any better. But the details of the room were top notch--fluffy towels, comfortable bed, very clean, etc.

We really enjoyed the resort activities, such a cycling into town (enjoyed the great local coffeeshop!) and playing disc golf. The resort activities staff were very helpful about suggesting destinations off the resort to visit as well. And there was no pressure to eat in the resort restaurants, which we appreciated. The breakfast and dinner we did have there were delicious, but pricey.

Overall we really enjoyed the mix at the resort--families and couples, young and old, big groups and small. It was a pleasant environment.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BEM124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesapeake, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Dissapointed upon arrival at 4pm (check-in time) on a Sat that they were out of cookies. Pretty much set the tone for their attention to detail. This was my first trip to the Inn and had always heard that they had a first class reputation. The Room was very nice but the attention to detail and customer service was average at best, Shower head in room was about 5 ft off of the floor and you had to be a contortionist to get your head wet. Room service breakfast on the first morning was horrible, breakfast on the terrace was excellent and service was great. The grounds and piece of property were awesome, but the facilities need some updating.

Lots to do for a weekend with plenty of resort activities. Prices charged were for high end, facility was average.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tidesgm, General Manager at The Tides Inn, responded to this review, 3 September 2013
We are sorry you did not have a great stay, it is our intent to welcome all guests with cookies and lemonade there is no shortage but clearly we were replenishing them, they are very popular!
Our Food and Bev team will try to determine what went wrong with your in room breakfast but we are pleased you enjoyed breakfast on our terrace overlooking Carter Creek. Feedback good and bad helps to make the Tides Inn better.
Gordon Slatford
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Irvington
4.8 mi away
Best Western Kilmarnock Hotel
19.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Gloucester
Hampton Inn Gloucester
#1 of 2 in Gloucester
359 reviews
19.3 mi away
Quality Inn Gloucester
Quality Inn Gloucester
#2 of 2 in Gloucester
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.6 mi away
Washington Burgess Inn
Washington Burgess Inn
#1 of 1 in West Point
12 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hope and Glory Inn
Hope and Glory Inn
#1 of 1 in Irvington
208 reviews
4.4 mi away
Kilmarnock Inn
Kilmarnock Inn
#2 of 2 in Kilmarnock
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tides Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tides Inn

Property: The Tides Inn
Address: 480 King Carter Drive, Irvington, VA 22480
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Irvington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Irvington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Tides Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On a lush peninsula in Virginia's historic Northern Neck, the waterfront Tides Inn has welcomed generations of friends and families who cherish the relaxed pace of local life and the Southern hospitality of our staff. Guests can learn to sail at the on-site sailing school or explore the calm waterways via paddle boards, kayaks and canoes while spotting golden eagles, osprey and herons. The 18-hole Golden Eagle golf course is a pleasantly challenging wooded course with water hazards, and there is also a Par-3 course, tennis, croquet, and spa, plus bicycles for pedaling into town. Our farm-to-table cuisine highlights oysters from the nearby Rappahannock River, and we're located on the Chesapeake Bay Wine Trail with several Virginia wineries nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with 5viajes2012 S.L. and Preferred Hotels so you can book your The Tides Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Tides Hotel Irvington
Tides Hotel Irvington
The Tides Inn Irvington, Virginia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing