We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing week, with lots of activities”
Review of The Tides Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Tides Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Irvington
Certificate of Excellence
Queens, New York
Level Contributor
50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Relaxing week, with lots of activities”
Reviewed 24 April 2014

This was our first visit to this area, well off the beaten I-95 path. Our deluxe room was very relaxing and had a great water view. Enjoyed playing golf, tennis, bike riding and hiking in the area. Amazing cuisine and wine list at dinner.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jimbo_Queens_NewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tidesgm, General Manager at The Tides Inn, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Plenty to do and a great meal at the end of the day, not much else to add and TV Flynn our executive chef will be delighted with the brevity of your review.
Thank you.
Gordon Slatford
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

545 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    284
    161
    49
    35
    16
See reviews for
154
277
3
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Level Contributor
94 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We stayed at the Tides Inn for two nights and had a wonderful time! The resort is lovely. The property is beautiful, with an amazing view of the water. Our room was spacious, nicely furnished, and extremely clean. We were well looked after and never felt anything but pampered. Our king sized bed was very comfortable.

We enjoyed a meal one night in the main dining room and were very pleased. Not only was the food wonderful but we also enjoyed VA wine and beer flights. We considered changing rooms to get a balcony and the staff couldn't have been more accommodating or more helpful, showing us the various options. There was a beautiful pool and marina, although both were quiet as it is still a little early in the season. There is a large outdoor patio overlooking the water, which was the perfect place to enjoy a cocktail in the afternoon. In addition, the patio fire pits made for a comfortable after-dinner spot to relax.

The inn provides bikes for guest use, but we also enjoyed a short walk into "town" and enjoyed browsing in some shops and eating in a lovely cafe called The Local. While the men played golf, we drove to nearby Kilmarnock, and enjoyed looking around. We also walked to The Dog and Oyster Vineyard and enjoyed a wine tasting.

We were surprised at how much we found to do in this quaint northern neck of VA. We enjoyed wine and oysters one afternoon at the Merroir in Topping, VA, while sitting outside and looking out over the water, and had a wonderful dinner at Eckhards, also in Topping.

All in all, we had a lovely stay at the Tides Inn and found plenty to do to entertain ourselves.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank G501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tidesgm, General Manager at The Tides Inn, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Thank you for your review, seems like we looked after you very well and nice to know you enjoyed the area and its offerings.
Gordon Slatford.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

This wasn't our first trip to the Tides Inn, but it was the first time we took our kids. It was pretty quiet, as we were there during the week, but we took advantage of many of the fun activities. We chartered a boat, the kids played golf, my son fished from the docks and we played lawn games and rode bikes when the weather allowed.

Yes there is some room for updating, but overall the property is well kept. The food in the dining room for dinner was good, we actually found our appetizers tastier than the entrees. We didn't eat any other meals of the property, so I can't speak to that. I do know the kids loved the s'mores by the fire pit. We will most certainly return again, hopefully when it is a little warmer.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank girlfromVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarsdale, NY, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

The food, the staff, the views from our room were all terrific. There is so much to do at this resort, if only sleeping in was one of them. The neighboring room's conversations kept us up at night and woke us each morning at 6am. We could look past the ants in our room, but not the lack of privacy.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Leslie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ocean Isle Beach, North Carolina
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

We just spent 2 nights at the Tides Inn. The view is gorgeous and Eddie the valet and greeter was quite welcoming. The first impression was good but by day 2 we started looking closer. First of all, let me say the rooms are clean and comfortable with a lovely remodeled bath. The bath, however needs some more lighting and the tub is hazardous to get in. It's very large with no wall rail to help the climb up, in and out. There is also no light in the tub area. Not sure how people much older than us could get in and out. The grounds needs some sprucing up, but in their defense they just came off a long winter. As we sat on the lovely patio for a drink, we noticed a cigar butt, lemon and plastic cup that had been there since our morning coffee in plain sight. It looks like they need the staff to keep the pick up and clean up more regularly. Now, for the restaurant. We ate a very expensive breakfast that was just OK. Guess we paid for the water view while eating. We noticed they stated a dress code for dinner in the room information, but when we went to the East Room for dinner ( overpriced), a man came in in jeans and tee shirt. So, upon leaving we mentioned it to the maître de. He explained, they no longer have a dress code. My husband went to the room and brought down what the room book stated. He apologized for the misunderstanding. Really, what's the problem with a dress code? Is it that hard to put on a collared shirt and khakis when you are paying about $100 for dinner? The place cost us a cool $650 with all the taxes, fees and 2 meals. Not worth it. If this old property gets their act together and goes back to their roots they can revive a tired old girl to her former glory. Looks like poor management may be the culprit.

Room Tip: We had a garden view room but could still see part of the cove. Not sure a water view or balcony wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 49406Re_Act
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tidesgm, General Manager at The Tides Inn, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Thank you for your review. We try to assist our customers with recommendations on dress code Our wording for the area mentioned is “Jackets are appreciated” but in the true spirit of hospitality if a guest is well behaved then only the more egregious transgressions of a dress recommendation would illicit our intervention. The Tides is a relaxed retreat from the urban environment and dress recommendations are, when you think about it, designed to generate a level of behavior rather than view.
Dinner for two with drinks was less than $80.00 for both you and your wife and served overlooking the amazing waters of Carters Creek.
I was glad you appreciated the rooms and the extensive bathrooms, the Patio overlooking Carter Creek and the customer service you received.
Gordon Slatford.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Our entire 9-member immediate family came from various parts of the country in order to surprise and to celebrate my wife's "significant" birthday occasion over a 3-day weekend at the Tides. We had a marvelous time and really appreciated the superb assistance the entire staff provided to us and in making the weekend the success that it was.

Room Tip: Main building on the ground floor (called Virginia, I think). Convenient to the grounds, all activit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pete M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tidesgm, General Manager at The Tides Inn, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Smaller properties like the Tides can cater so well to small family gatherings. I see it all the time where our families really feel like they are in their own home and can just concentrate on having fun.
Thank you for your review
Gordon Slatford
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampton, Virginia
Level Contributor
426 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Always a pleasure to enjoy the Tides Inn at any time of the year. From the time you enter to the time of departure you feel pampered and welcome. This was a 2 day trip for my husband and me
to relax and we found the perfect spot. Lovely rooms, breakfast in bed and quiet time outside on the patio sipping Lancaster lemonade. There is something to do for everyone from kids to adults including a lovely boat ride through the local waterways and coves. The restaurant and service is
wonderful . The gift shop is stocked with interesting items priced reasonably. In the evening there are S'mores roasted on the patio and milk and cookies in the library. We already look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2muchfun4us
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tidesgm, General Manager at The Tides Inn, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Welcome back and we appreciate the review you have provided our guests.
It is so nice that Spring has finally arrived and I see we have abundant numbers of Osprey nesting on the creek this year.
Best regards
Gordon Slatford
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Irvington
19.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Gloucester
Hampton Inn Gloucester
#1 of 2 in Gloucester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
19.3 mi away
Quality Inn Gloucester
Quality Inn Gloucester
#2 of 2 in Gloucester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
4.8 mi away
Best Western Kilmarnock Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.6 mi away
Washington Burgess Inn
Washington Burgess Inn
#1 of 1 in West Point
3.0 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hope and Glory Inn
Hope and Glory Inn
#1 of 1 in Irvington
5.0 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
14.7 mi away
The Gables
The Gables
#3 of 5 in Reedville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tides Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tides Inn

Property: The Tides Inn
Address: 480 King Carter Drive, Irvington, VA 22480
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Irvington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Irvington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Tides Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On a lush peninsula in Virginia's historic Northern Neck, the waterfront Tides Inn has welcomed generations of friends and families who cherish the relaxed pace of local life and the Southern hospitality of our staff. Guests can learn to sail at the on-site sailing school or explore the calm waterways via paddle boards, kayaks and canoes while spotting golden eagles, osprey and herons. The 18-hole Golden Eagle golf course is a pleasantly challenging wooded course with water hazards, and there is also a Par-3 course, tennis, croquet, and spa, plus bicycles for pedaling into town. Our farm-to-table cuisine highlights oysters from the nearby Rappahannock River, and we're located on the Chesapeake Bay Wine Trail with several Virginia wineries nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and Preferred Hotels so you can book your The Tides Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Tides Hotel Irvington
Tides Hotel Irvington
The Tides Inn Irvington, Virginia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing