We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get Away Resort”
Review of The Tides Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Tides Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Irvington
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Stepped back in time at this fabulous resort. This is a destination resort and not on an interstate. Once you arrive, you are treated to true Virginia hospitality. Golfing, boating, history, it has it all. The food was fabulous. Room accommodations were more than expected. Service was above expectations. I don't usually order room service, but on this trip we were so impressed with the service and food that we stayed in the room for breakfast twice. We were greeted with cold drinks upon our arrival and the service in the restaurant was impeccable. Cell phone service is not very good. I used this to my advantage and really was able to unwind.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank roydebby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tidesgm, General Manager at The Tides Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Very glad you enjoyed your stay and were able to unwind from the real world. Cellular service can be limited dependent on your service provider, AT&T is good as is Verizon.
Maybe turning off the cell phone is what the doctor ordered!.
Gordon Slatford
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (599)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

306 - 312 of 599 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2014

I have been coming to the Tides Inn for more than 15 years, and all the renovations and additions that they have done this past winter has been truly magical and breathtaking. The terrace lounge is the place to be... It is a great place for families to spend the vacations or a weekend. The staff and the management team make sure that every guest has a better experience than Disney's customer service. They have so many activities to do that a weekend just does not do justice. Keep up the great work Mr.G.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Joshua J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

A long drive but well worth it once you arrive. A warm welcome and great staff. Food was delicious and large terrace was nice. Bed was very firm as were pillows so I'd ask for softer ones! The meeting room was spacious and had access to outside air which was delightful. Rain stopped on the way there and the sun shine was welcomed in time for our cocktail party.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Barbara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tidesgm, General Manager at The Tides Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Maybe your next visit will be for pleasure and not business although we like to think business is a pleasure at the Tides Inn.
Gordon Slatford
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

This was my first visit to this resort and I was very pleased. The staff was absolutely wonderful and very helpful. From the valet to the front desk was smooth and easy. I arrived early with no expectations of my room being ready and the front desk supervisor offered to call my cell as soon as available and I was able to check in shortly thereafter. The property is well kept and the view was so serene and pretty. The room was spacious and great. Bed was comfortable and the bathroom space was amazing. Upon arrival I was given a schedule of activities which offered a great deal for visitors to participate in. Had dinner on the property which was a pleasant experience. The reason for my visit was for work, but I would definitely go back to this hidden gem for a leisure trip.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ceeya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

We absolutely loved The Tides Inn! Plenty to do, very professional and friendly staff, and the Journey Spa was an amazing experience. When we returned home, we felt reconnected, relaxed, and recharged. I wrote a blog post about how much we enjoyed ourselves here: http://makingmindfulness.blogspot.com/2014/05/our-low-key-honeymoon.html. Check it out.

Room Tip: We loved our waterfront view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Julie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tidesgm, General Manager at The Tides Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2014

Wow.
That was quite some blog. I was delighted that we looked after you so well, the staff and I get an immense amount of satisfaction from creating great memories and we are grateful to you for sharing your experiences.
We wish you a long and happy life together and I think on your next visit I should buy you a celebratory drink.
Gordon Slatford.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014 via mobile

I love this place, and being tucked in on Carter's creek is a huge plus.
The staff are great the bar stocked and the food is good. Views are fantastic.
It would not take a lot of capital to make this place top notch. The rooms are nice and the beds are great, but I stayed in the Windsor house overlooking the water and the carpet on the balcony was moldy and the banister falling apart. TREX all the balconies and don't put carpet on them.
Go and enjoy all the scenery and don't get hung up on the small stuff.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
Thank TheHef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

This was our first trip to The Tides Inn and our stay was wonderful. We were greeted by a friendly bellman who gave us a brief tour of the facilities as we checked in. Our room was a Vista Suite which gave us an unobstructed view of Carter's Creek and the Marina. The bed was perfect! The bathroom was stocked with luxurious linens and amenities. The Spa was small but provided excellent service. The food at the restaurant was outstanding and will be addressed in another review. The only downside was that our package included "special nightly turndown service" which did not occur. The Kilmarnock Antique Gallery is just down the road and is filled with collectibles, especially oyster plates. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: I think the odd-numbered rooms face the water. The walls are thin, however, but not to a point that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NCSmokey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tidesgm, General Manager at The Tides Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Thank you for making the journey down to see us. I am glad you had a good time and I have a feeling we will be seeing you again soon.
I apologize for our missing your turndown service we will be more diligent in future.
Gordon Slatford
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Irvington
4.8 mi away
Best Western Kilmarnock Hotel
19.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Gloucester
Hampton Inn Gloucester
#1 of 2 in Gloucester Courthouse
406 reviews
19.3 mi away
Quality Inn Gloucester
Quality Inn Gloucester
#2 of 2 in Gloucester Courthouse
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hope and Glory Inn
Hope and Glory Inn
#1 of 1 in Irvington
223 reviews
4.4 mi away
Kilmarnock Inn
Kilmarnock Inn
#1 of 2 in Kilmarnock
131 reviews
14.8 mi away
The Gables
The Gables
#3 of 5 in Reedville
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tides Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tides Inn

Address: 480 King Carter Drive, Irvington, VA 22480
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Irvington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Irvington
Price Range: £133 - £213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Tides Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On a lush peninsula in Virginia's historic Northern Neck, the waterfront Tides Inn has welcomed generations of friends and families who cherish the relaxed pace of local life and the Southern hospitality of our staff. Guests can learn to sail at the on-site sailing school or explore the calm waterways via paddle boards, kayaks and canoes while spotting golden eagles, osprey and herons. The 18-hole Golden Eagle golf course is a pleasantly challenging wooded course with water hazards, and there is also a Par-3 course, tennis, croquet, and spa, plus bicycles for pedaling into town. Our farm-to-table cuisine highlights oysters from the nearby Rappahannock River, and we're located on the Chesapeake Bay Wine Trail with several Virginia wineries nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Preferred Hotels, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Travel Republic (UK) and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Tides Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Tides Hotel Irvington
Tides Hotel Irvington
The Tides Inn Irvington, Virginia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing