We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Informative visit to old Slavery-era church” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Historic Christ Church

Historic Christ Church
Ranked #1 of 9 things to do in Irvington
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Dating from 1735, Christ Church is among America's most important examples of Georgian architecture.
Queens, New York
Level Contributor
50 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Informative visit to old Slavery-era church”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

We enjoyed our visit, which was very informative, hosted by friendly and helpful volunteer staff members.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jimbo_Queens_NewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    12
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Irvington, Virginia
Level Contributor
137 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“An Architechural national treasure”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

This is one of those out of the way local attractions that's worth visiting. This church was built in the mid 18th century. The brick work is wonderful and the architectural detail is really wonderful. The docents are all volunteers and are quite knowledgeable. This church is small by almost any standard but it is a wonderful example of pre revolution houses of worship.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Norman S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“wonderful historic site with great museum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

This is my second trip to Christ Church on the Northern Neck of Virginia. It's an amazing historic church built by Robert King Carter.

You can tour the church and spend time in the wonderful museum that has information about many different aspects of the church, the area, the historical people, etc, They even have a couple hands-on things for kids (and adults, too-- check out your skills in building an arch with a corner stone!)

The site has limited hours in the winter, but if you call ahead you probably can arrange for a tour. The folks who work at the Foundation are so dedicated and proud to show you the church and the museum. There is a suggested donation of $5, but I am sure all are welcome.

As you approach the area you will see brown signs to Historic Christ Church. There are many restaurants and fast-food options in the nearby town.

This place is a little off the beaten path, but it's worth the trip. The drive through the Northern Neck to get there is beautiful.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank bless456789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irvington, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Wonderful Slice of History”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

Well worth a visit if you are new to the area. The museum is quite good for a small church. Lots of interesting history.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank TravelswithFin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level Contributor
39 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“wonderful memories .........”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

I grew up near here and visited often. for a while my grandfather was the groundskeeper. we went to many special services and events when I was growing up. it's a beautiful place and full of history. it's a shame that the church is not as important to us now as it was to our forefathers. maybe it should be.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jlk57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Historic Christ Church also viewed

 

Been to Historic Christ Church? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing