We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enter as guests, leave as friends”
Review of Hope and Glory Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hope and Glory Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Irvington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Downingtown, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Enter as guests, leave as friends”
Reviewed 4 October 2011

Upon first glance, one might think that the warmth of the Hope and Glory comes from its sunny yellow exterior, or the beautiful flowers surrounding the property.... but the warmth truly comes from within. Peggy and Dudley are so warm and welcoming - a lovely couple and such a great hosts - that as the title of this review says, you enter the inn as guests, but you leave as friends. The staff are equally as warm and helpful in making sure that you are enjoying your stay. The decor is a stunning mix of shabby chic and elegance. We enjoyed Schoolhouse Room #4 - though I can tell that any of the rooms, cottages or tents would be delightful. A few things we thoroughly enjoyed during our stay: riding bikes to the Dog and Oyster vineyard, dining at the Inn (the complimentary breakfasts were amazing), a boat cruise on the water, dining at the Local for lunch and the Trick Dog Cafe for dinner, and I would be remiss if I didn't mention Patricio's massage. You truly can't beat the Hope and Glory for a romantic setting, genuine hospitality, and R&R. Thanks, Peggy & Dudley, and all the staff for such a lovely, memorable anniversary weekend! Many blessings, Christine & Darin

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank christine422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dpatteson, Owner at Hope and Glory Inn, responded to this review, 12 October 2011
Wow Christine,
It was so easy to warm up to you and Darin. You made what we do so enjoyable. We thank you for being our guests and this glowing review. Many blessings to our new friends and may all your days be filled with hope and glory.
Dudley and Peggy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    179
    15
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
26
128
5
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2011

We had the pleasure of staying at the Hope and Glory Inn for 3 nights, hosts Peggy and Dudley were welcoming, informative and genuinly interested in ensuring that your stay was everything you wanted. With our dog, Buster, in tow who was made to feel very welcome we were able to enjoy everything from the cosy cottage, fabulous breakfasts and dinner and afternoon tea. Overall I can only thoroughly recommend this to anyone who wants a relaxing, and friendly break with excellent service.. Do try the vineyard down the road and look at the wonderful "tents"..

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UKintheUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dpatteson, Owner at Hope and Glory Inn, responded to this review, 9 October 2011
UKintheUS, Peggy and I believe when we are told that we provide “excellent service” to guests from the UK, we have truly succeeded. Thank you for highly recommending our vineyard; our tent accommodations; our cuisine; and, our special welcoming to pets like Buster. We hope you will return and visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed 12 August 2011

My wife and I needed a getaway before the school year and we could not have picked a better place. From the first call to inquire about the Inn to the goodbye hugs from Dudley, Peggy, and Meseret - We felt right at home. The food, wine, and cocktails were top of the line for fine dinning and the service was personal without being intrusive. We loved every second of our time there and would recommend to anyone who needs some time away.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Coachjustus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dpatteson, Owner at Hope and Glory Inn, responded to this review, 30 August 2011
Coach, we thank you for the glowing review on our inn especially regarding our fine dining and style of service. We also thank you for saying you will recommend our inn to others.
It is guests like you that make what we do so rewarding.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sevenoaks
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2011

This was our first destination on a two week trip to Virginia and North Carolina and what a great start to our holiday. Our 'tent' was fantastic and ideal for a family with teenagers, it was a short walk to a beautiful pool that we had to ourselves most of the time. Breakfast in the courtyard was superb and our evening cruise was a highlight and a great chance to chat to our hosts.
Irvington and the surrounding area is quiet and relaxed so perfect for 'chilling out'.
We cannot thank Peggy, Dudley and their team enough, we were touched by their kindness and hospitality. We hope to return!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leighSevenoaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dpatteson, Owner at Hope and Glory Inn, responded to this review, 12 August 2011
Peggy and I thank you for this delightful testimony.

What we will always remember is that you and your family were wonderful ambassadors for your country.

We are so pleased you were able to enjoy our inn as a family; we thank you for your kindness; and, we are wishing for your speedy return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Beach
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2011

This is our third time staying at the inn and as always the service and stay was perfect! From the shabby chic decor and the old fashion tub in our room, to the breakfast in the garden, what a fabulous time! Very romantic inn and one of our favorites. The inn hosts, Peggy and Dudley make everyone feel extra special. We highly recommend the cocktail cruise in the summer. The secret garden with the hidden shower is a must! Highly recommend the Trick Dog Cafe for dinner or the Chef dinner at the inn. Will be back again!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SherryCannon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dpatteson, Owner at Hope and Glory Inn, responded to this review, 10 August 2011
Thank you Sherry for this wonderful review and returning as our guest – the very best compliment you could give us. We try every day to live up to what our guests and the travel writers say about us; and, we were pleased to see we were successful again with you and Todd. Thank you again; and, we will strive to delight you when you return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
College Park, Maryland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2011

Other reviewers have focused on the charming natures of Peggy and Dudley. They have previewed the shabby chic comfort, the gourmet meals and the opportunities to relax in “detention” and elsewhere throughout the inn.

For that reason, I will devote my attention to two other aspects of a superior B&B. One is the adept skill of making recommendations, regarding attractions in the surrounding area that are sure to enhance the memories of people who have chosen your inn. Dudley’s directions to things to do were like onion peels.

He heard our desire for great seafood, and directed us to a venue where the oysters represent the best of the farm raised in the Northern Neck of Virginia. He also knew we would enjoy “Something Different,” literally the name of the funky eatery we visited, and we did!

Peggy listened too. She eased any misgivings I may have had about a therapeutic massage. Patricio’s spa treatments are more than a massage. He puts his formal training, his veterinarian knowledge of mammalian physiology, his Chilean heritage and his spirit to a magical purpose. I was grateful to him for his healing skills.

Reawaken your joy! Visit Hope and Glory, if you can.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank felinebeauty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dpatteson, Owner at Hope and Glory Inn, responded to this review, 9 August 2011
We truly appreciate and thank you for a very moving review. It humbles us. We value our guests who take the time to write wonderful things about us - especially in such a poetic way.

We regrettably have not recognized all of those that have taken the time to write so many glowing reviews. We apologize; and, have amended our ways by sending our wholehearted thanks to this guest and all before her.

Yes, one of the values of staying in a boutique hotel is that you can count on the fact that our recommendations have been thoroughly researched and should be experiences that will truly delight you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton
Level Contributor
70 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2011

No trip to Virginia should be made without a stay at the Hope and Glory Inn. This place is absolutely beautiful. In our opinion there is nothing you can complain about. We had a cottage for my husband daughter and me plus a room in the school house for my son and his girlfriend. Both were absolutely beautiful. The owners, Dudley and Peggy are amazing people and exactly the kind of people who should run and Inn as their eye for detail and service is second to none. On the night we arrived we walked up to the swimming pool in the vine yard. My husband had taken off on one of the provided bikes (I think he was trying to prove to me he could still ride one!) when Peggy who we had not met us on arrival jumped out of her truck and introduced herself. We likewise said who we all were and that 'Trevor' was out on the bikes. In this one brief meeting she had all our names and greeted us with them - amazing - this shows how important all her guests are. On our second night we ate at the Trick Dog Cafe (also owned by Dudley and Peggy). The food and the service were excellent. We were late arriving as we were in detention, this seemed to cause no problem which was much appreciated!!! Peggy served us (in the bar) and spent her time talking to us about the area and answering our question which we thoroughly enjoyed, . As it was our last night I wanted to come back and have coffee in their beautiful lounge and finish outside by the fountain for a last drink. Peggy waited for us to make all of this happen. Considering the hours they must work you would have thought she would have been in a hurry to go home - but no - all that mattered to her was that we had what we wanted . She put great importance on us having a great holiday. On our last morning we were served with an amazing breakfast platter, being English, Peggy wanted us to sample regional food. Everything about this venue was above and beyond your expectations. The bedrooms, the house, the outside bathroom, the garden, the food, the service, the owners. This is a place that should be in the books that tell you where you should visit before you die. Thank you Peggy and Dudley you get 100% from all 5 of us.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VictoriaCarole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Irvington
19.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Gloucester
Hampton Inn Gloucester
#1 of 2 in Gloucester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
19.4 mi away
Quality Inn Gloucester
Quality Inn Gloucester
#2 of 2 in Gloucester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
4.7 mi away
Best Western Kilmarnock Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.1 mi away
Washington Burgess Inn
Washington Burgess Inn
#1 of 1 in West Point
3.0 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
14.5 mi away
The Gables
The Gables
#3 of 5 in Reedville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
16.0 mi away
Ma Margaret's House B&B
Ma Margaret's House B&B
#1 of 5 in Reedville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hope and Glory Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hope and Glory Inn

Property: Hope and Glory Inn
Address: 65 Tavern Rd, Irvington, VA 22480-2014
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Irvington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Irvington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Top 10 in the US" - five times. Fodor's, Frommer's and Moon travel guides - perennially awarded their highest ratings. Recommended by Select Registry. Historic schoolhouse eclectically styled in a trendy waterfront resort town full of chic shops. Soak in a hip pool; taste wine in our nationally acclaimed vineyard, The Dog and Oyster; or, cruise onto the water aboard our oyster boat, an authentic Chesapeake Bay "dead rise." Experience our spa treatments and savor our Chef's fine dining in our Dining Hall. Extraordinary corporate retreats and magical weddings. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hope And Glory Hotel Irvington
Hope And Glory Inn Irvington, Virginia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing