We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too much for too little”
Review of Hope and Glory Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hope and Glory Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Irvington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Arlington, VA
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Too much for too little”
Reviewed 13 February 2008

My fiance and I stay in many inns, and even in the off season, this inn is very expensive for what you get. The breakfasts are good, but not outstanding. The linens and towels are, as some other reviewers noted, nowhere near luxury (far below the standard of, say, a Westin). The soaps and shampoo were also a big disappointment - they left a funny smell and didn't seem to quite get you clean.

Our bathroom in our cottage had a moldy shower nozzle and more peeling pain than I consider appropriate, even for "shabby chic." The ripped fabric on the couch might have been for shabby chic effect, but at the cost we paid per night, I like my furniture in one piece.

The worst problem by far for us was the fact that the cottage we booked was one of the inn's "pet friendly" accomodations. We were not provided advance notice of this, and had an awful night's sleep as a result of pet allergies. After contacting the inn about that issue after our stay, they informed us that we should have spoken up because they would have moved us to a non-pet friendly room. While I suppose we should have said something earlier, I also think that's something the inn should warn guests about before they book their stay. I certainly would have booked another room if I had known dogs were allowed in the cottage I chose.

  • Stayed December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank mlw3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dpatteson, Owner at Hope and Glory Inn, responded to this review, 14 February 2008
We, as owners, do value constructive comments from our guests and appreciate that they have taken the time to write. Particularly knowing their stay with us was two "awful" nights, we do wish our guests had given us the opportunity to make it right after the first night.

Regarding our pet friendly accommodations, we note on our website and in our printed materials that certain cottages are pet friendly. We thank you for your suggestion to be more specific. In fact, we took it to heart; and, concluded that we should strive to be more sensitive to all allergies (food, feathers, pets…) of our guests. As a result, we will add in our reservation confirmations a request that guests provide us with advance notice of any allergies so we may better accommodate them.

All of your other comments were already on our “punch list” for 2008. As we noted in a previous management response, we are completing this winter an update of our accommodations. Your cottage’s furnishings will be refreshed; and, the bathroom will be redone. We also noted in a prior management response that we were upgrading our towels and toiletries.

We sincerely hope you will give us another opportunity to host you at the Hope and Glory.

PS - we might add that we have soft water in Irvington which is probably why you didn’t seem to get the soap off.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    179
    15
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
26
128
5
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2008

I stayed here for a friend's wedding. The house, rooms, and ground were beautiful, but EXPENSIVE. I don't think I would have minded if the proprieter had been more customer friendly...during the welcome reception the night before the wedding a passerby threw a wine bottle at our party in the backyard. No one was hurt, but after being called the proprieter blamed us for the disturbance...please note, we were not loud, drunk, or outside after hours. This was not to be the last time our party was lectured though...individually at least five of the ADULT, PAYING guests were lectured for indiscretions such as talking to loud in their rooms, complaining about the state of their rooms (outside cottages had bug problems), and playing their IPOD too loudly at the wedding reception!! The wedding was also marred by the proprieter taking center stage at the ceremony (she's in all the pictures of the bride walking down the aisle) and enforcing "rules" not in the preset contract...as noted we were not allowed to play our IPOD at the reception because it was too loud (not sure how professional DJs play their music at this location) and having too many children under 5 eating free! The final insult though occured during check-out when, on top of our $250 per night room rate, the proprietor added a $50 a night "wedding fee." When asked about this charge, she assured us the bride and groom were aware of this charge, however we discovered later it was an outright LIE. We also discovered the bride and groom had written a constructive letter to the proprietor detailing their disapointment with their overall service, to which they got a nasty letter in reply. Based on all this, I recommend you think twice about staying at this inn and to definately choose another location to get married.

  • Liked — Outdoor shower
  • Disliked — Price, rudeness of proprietor
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank SLONorthCarolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2008

I fell in love with the Inn when I first visited several years ago, but a few small things are starting to slide. Some examples that spring to mind: The buildings could use a fresh coat of paint. I agree with a previous reviewer that the oversized, fluffy towels of the past have been replaced with thin, cheap ones. The cotton blankets on our bed had holes. Although perhaps off-season, it was a beautiful night and I wanted to use the outdoor bathtub, but it was full of decaying leaves that I had to clean out. Basically, I think that perhaps the shabby chic theme has allowed the owners to let some things get overlooked, but excuses aside-- for $300/night it was a little difficult for this guest to appreciate.

Overall: The Hope and Glory Inn is still a gorgeous, breathtaking inn, and the owners, Peggy and Dudley, have continued to add reasons to return with the addition of a pool, boat, and vineyard. They should, however, consider spending some time on the on-site amenities, as well as the off-site.

  • Liked — The beautiful ambiance: the gardens, the owners, and the overall feeling
  • Disliked — $300 for cheap towels, blankets with holes, prefab shower
  • Stayed December 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank summgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dpatteson, Owner at Hope and Glory Inn, responded to this review, 28 January 2008
Thank you “summgirl” for returning as our guest and saying the inn is still “gorgeous and breathtaking”! We do appreciate the compliments throughout your review.

We can also assure you we have left nothing “to slide”. We do not always look our best at the end of our season and in the dead of winter.

Your suggestions are exactly what we had already scheduled for our “winter work”. Painting is high on the list; and, the shower in your cottage will be replaced and updated – most baths were completed last winter. Although the quality of our towels is high and has not changed in the last eight years, we will make improvements in 2008.

We can understand your disappointment with the outdoor shower being closed for the season (to prevent the pipes from freezing). Spring-like weather in December would make a dip irresistible.

We look forward to your return and we thank you for your suggestions.

Dudley and Peggy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falls Church
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 September 2007

My wife and I loved the accommodations but the best part of the our trip was getting to meet and spend time with Dudley and Peggy.
They simply make it impossible not to enjoy your stay.
We can not wait to get back! Do not hesitate to stay and the Hope and Glory Inn.

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank WPV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reston
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 September 2007

Our family (my husband, me and our 13 month old daughter) just returned from a long weekend at The Hope and Glory and we could not have had a more enjoyable time. Everything was beyond perfect from the moment we arrived to the moment we departed. Dudley and Peggy are the most wonderful hosts who make you feel rigth at home and address you by name each time they see you. We were a little nervous bringing our 13 month old daughter on vacation, but the Inn was so welcoming to all of us and it was a perfect get-away for our family. We highly recommend the Inn and will absolutely return for another trip. Thank you for a great weekend!
Will, Liz and Ryan

  • Liked — Very friendly and always felt welcomed and at home
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank willjones1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern VA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2007

My husband, daughter and I stayed here as a last minute getaway before our second daughter was born last June. I had read an article about the Hope and Glory Inn in Mary Englebreit's Home Companion months before our visit and was so looking forward to visiting the Inn after the rave reviews in the article....we stayed in a cottage near the main house.

Pros...
We loved the privacy that the separate cottage offered so we did not have to feel as if our five year old daughter was bothering other guests.

The main house and the cottage decorations were lovely. Definately have to be a lover of shabby chic (which I am) to appreciate them. Extremely romantic setting.

Town is cute...fun to meander through the boutiques.

Cons...
High price....at the $300 plus per night that we paid for the room, I was disappointed to find a $2 each charge for the glass of diet coke that my husband and I requested for breakfast. We were not told about the charge in advance but even if we had been seems tacky to charge a guest for a glass of diet coke when they are already paying $300 plus per night for the room. We did not drink and juice, tea or coffee for breakfast (just the diet coke) so they would have saved a little money on our portion of those drinks anyhow.

The bath room was tiny...very shabby chicy which I don't mind but some might hope for a larger bathroom at the rates that the Inn is charging. The bath amenities were definately not first rate for this price...we got one tiny bottle of shampoo (not enought for three days and three people...two of them with long hair) and one tiny bar of soap....perhaps this issue has been remedied since our visit but I would definately hope for more luxury bath amenities than a Motel 6 at this price point.

  • Liked — Beautifully romantic decor
  • Disliked — Value
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank kerri53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dpatteson, Owner at Hope and Glory Inn, responded to this review, 17 August 2007
Kerri53,

Of most importance, Peggy and I truly thank you for staying with us and recommending our inn to so many -

An amazing honeymoon, A romantic getaway, Girlfriend getaway, Older travelers, Families with young children, Families with teenagers, Tourists.

Although we remodeled our bathrooms this year, there is not much we can do about enlarging them since most of our cottages are historic structures; yet, we can address the other “cons”.

With regard to your next two comments, we wish you had brought them to our attention during your stay. Upon check in, we stress that we are here to serve you; and, if we have overlooked anything, please make us aware so that we can have had the opportunity to correct it before your departure

The posting of your diet cokes at breakfast was in error. We presumed that the soda charges were incurred at some other time during your stay. In reviewing your folio it appears that was a charge from our bar “Detention” which was most likely an error on our part. Please accept our apologies. Again, had you brought this to our attention, we would have removed them from your folio. We will still do so. Sodas are complimentary at breakfast along with limitless coffee, tea, hot chocolate and juice.

We pay a premium for our toiletries which are only top of the line; and, regret they did not meet your needs. Were you short in supply, we would have gladly brought you more; or, in your case, taken the time to find you what you wanted even if it meant a trip to the store in your behalf.

We were here to serve you during your stay; and, with notice, your needs would have been met immediately - this is the standard we set for our inn.

We look forward to your return and we thank you again for recommending us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
E&DLynch
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2007

The service was first-class. Amazing ambiance and food.
Peggy and Dudley make this in one of a kind. Thier love for the inn is reflected in its charm, decor, cleanliness, beautiful gardens and outstanding service. I recommend this for anyone who truly wants a great experience in a romantic inn.

  • Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank E&DLynch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Irvington
19.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Gloucester
Hampton Inn Gloucester
#1 of 2 in Gloucester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
19.4 mi away
Quality Inn Gloucester
Quality Inn Gloucester
#2 of 2 in Gloucester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
4.7 mi away
Best Western Kilmarnock Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.1 mi away
Washington Burgess Inn
Washington Burgess Inn
#1 of 1 in West Point
3.0 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
14.5 mi away
The Gables
The Gables
#3 of 5 in Reedville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
16.0 mi away
Ma Margaret's House B&B
Ma Margaret's House B&B
#1 of 5 in Reedville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hope and Glory Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hope and Glory Inn

Property: Hope and Glory Inn
Address: 65 Tavern Rd, Irvington, VA 22480-2014
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Irvington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Irvington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Top 10 in the US" - five times. Fodor's, Frommer's and Moon travel guides - perennially awarded their highest ratings. Recommended by Select Registry. Historic schoolhouse eclectically styled in a trendy waterfront resort town full of chic shops. Soak in a hip pool; taste wine in our nationally acclaimed vineyard, The Dog and Oyster; or, cruise onto the water aboard our oyster boat, an authentic Chesapeake Bay "dead rise." Experience our spa treatments and savor our Chef's fine dining in our Dining Hall. Extraordinary corporate retreats and magical weddings. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hope And Glory Hotel Irvington
Hope And Glory Inn Irvington, Virginia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing