We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming and delicious too!”
Review of Hope and Glory Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hope and Glory Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Irvington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 April 2013

I am very fortunate to live on Virginia's Northern Neck, only a few miles from the Hope and Glory Inn and the Tides Inn in Irvington. Many reviewers have lauded the marvelous accommodations and the charming owners of the Hope and Glory, Peggy and Dudley Patteson, and I agree with all that praise! In addition to the Inn and the hosts, the Hope and Glory has offered cooking lessons and dinner conducted by their marvelous Chef, Ann Kirkmyer. These have been great fun as well as scrumptous! Ann is a Paris-trained chef with a delightful personality. She put together four different menus offered over the winter months. My husband and I took the sophisticated retro dinner class featuring martinis, Steak Diane and cherries jubilee, and the easy entertaining class featuring champagne and coq au vin. One can take the class and stay for dinner, take the class only, or come for dinner only. We did both. Ann has inventive ways of taking basic ingredients, like peas or potatoes, and turning them into very special side dishes, using ingredients that can be purchased on the Northern Neck. After the demonstration class, the "students" retire to the cocktail lounge of the H&G for a drink, then head back to the dining room to taste the delicious food prepared from the menu. The classes are small and fun. Even though the winter has now given way to spring and the classes will not be available until later in the year, Ann is the full-time chef at the Inn and her dinners are available from Thursday through Monday. You will be charmed and your taste buds will be thrilled!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Susan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (213)
There are newer reviews for Hope and Glory Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

114 - 120 of 213 reviews

Reviewed 12 April 2013

My husband and I, sadly, just left Hope and Glory Inn. We have been in Virginia for less than a week and have about 5 more days to go on a whirlwind tour. We really should have planned more time in this lovely little town and less...anywhere else.
We stayed in a cottage out back and it was delightful. The furnishings were comfortable, decorations so pleasant, and the rocking chairs on the front porch were exactly what we needed. We felt pampered from the moment we arrived, as another reviewer said, "without an ounce of stuffiness." Every need was answered and we had the quiet serenity we craved. Maraset welcomed us as a perfect hostess always will, and Peggy handled every curveball we sent with complete grace. Several different times we needed something out of the ordinary, but that didn't faze these innkeepers. Need a place to make a four hour phone call? Check. Gotta hang out somewhere after check out? Check. Leave your backpack? Check.
I sure hope we have a chance to come back to the Irvington area. Hope and Glory will be our destination, for sure.

Room Tip: We loved Cottage 5. If you don't like stairs, though, pick a different one. They seem to be all...
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Staying at the Hope and Glory Inn was one of the highlights of our Virginia roadtrip. Near Stratford Hall in the Northern Neck, The H&G exceeded all our expectations. Peggy and Dudley are wonderful hosts, the rooms are beautifully decorated and exceedingly comfortable, and the dinner in the restaurant sublime. My family cannot wait to return to the Hope and Glory.

Room Tip: We had cottage six and it was fantastic.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flicklives
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2013

The inn is beautiful, as wonderful as the pictures and much more. Both the the cottage we stayed in and all of the common areas offered comfort and class without an ounce of stuffiness. The staff were all attentive and helpful without being intrusive. Peggy and Dudley are the consumate innskeepers. The provide a delicious breakfast, wonderful conversation and great advice about the area.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CSid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2013

At this time I am unable to review the rooms at this Inn. We celebrated a very special birthday here in the dining room. The food was exceptional and service could not have been friendlier or more attentive. We will without a doubt visit the Hope and Glory again and will look forward to a return visit.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank petite0ne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2013

My wife and I enjoyed the Hope and Glory so much we thought it made Irvington a destination in and of itself. From the excellent hospitality, to the beautiful accommodations, to the charming idiosyncrasies--everything lived up to reputation and went beyond. Dinner was fantastic, and we made many friends both there, and throughout the town. The boat cruise was outstanding as well, and worth making time for.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank agunn3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2013

We spent a weekend at the Hope and Glory with our young dog in tow. We'd read a lot about Irvington and abut the Inn, and despite the hype, we were anything but disappointed. The Inn is beautiful, so well-decorated and with just the right amount of whimsy thrown into the mix. We had a dog-friendly room just steps from the garden - very convenient for the pup's late night outings. We ate dinner at the Inn one night, too, which was wonderful. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Meghan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Irvington
4.7 mi away
Best Western Kilmarnock Hotel
19.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Gloucester
Hampton Inn Gloucester
#1 of 2 in Gloucester Courthouse
373 reviews
19.4 mi away
Quality Inn Gloucester
Quality Inn Gloucester
#2 of 2 in Gloucester Courthouse
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.1 mi away
Washington Burgess Inn
Washington Burgess Inn
#1 of 1 in West Point
12 reviews
4.1 mi away
Kilmarnock Inn
Kilmarnock Inn
#1 of 2 in Kilmarnock
121 reviews
16.0 mi away
Ma Margaret's House B&B
Ma Margaret's House B&B
#1 of 5 in Reedville
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hope and Glory Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hope and Glory Inn

Address: 65 Tavern Rd, Irvington, VA 22480-2014
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Irvington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Irvington
Price Range: £120 - £244 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Top 10 in the US" - five times. Fodor's, Frommer's and Moon travel guides - perennially awarded their highest ratings. Recommended by Select Registry. Historic schoolhouse eclectically styled in a trendy waterfront resort town full of chic shops. Soak in a hip pool; taste wine in our nationally acclaimed vineyard, The Dog and Oyster; or, cruise onto the water aboard our oyster boat, an authentic Chesapeake Bay "dead rise." Experience our spa treatments and savor our Chef's fine dining in our Dining Hall. Extraordinary corporate retreats and magical weddings. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hope And Glory Hotel Irvington
Hope And Glory Inn Irvington, Virginia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing