We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It's charming, but .....” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hope and Glory Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hope and Glory Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Irvington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Potomac, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“It's charming, but .....”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2013

We stayed at the Hope and Glory at the end of July. We booked last minute and we took what they had left. A VERY small room on the top floor. It was clean and nicely furnished but you couldn't move. The bathroom was a closet. One person could barely fit in it.

The Innkeepers are lovely. They can't be nice enough. We were there the weekend of the second annual crab festival which we wanted to attend (it was across the street from the Inn). It was sold out and I assumed since the Hope and Glory was serving wine (more on this in a moment) we thought they would find us tickets. No such luck.

Hope & Glory runs a vineyard about a mile away from the Inn. It is also lovely. There are small cottages you can rent there as well. That's where the pool is. In the middle of the woods off property. Something they don't mention on their website.

As vineyard owners you would think when you checked in you might get free passes to a wine tasting. Not even a glass of complimentary wine.

I'm not a B &B snob, but honestly for the amount of money we paid per night, there should at least be cookies or wine and cheese at some point in the afternoon. Nothing.

This is a lovely B &B - it's just too expensive for what you get.

Room Tip: All the rooms have photos on line. It's just a question of how much $ you are willing to spend...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Stacy_S_4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    176
    15
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
26
125
5
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, AZ
Level Contributor
75 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2013

We were very pleased with our visit to the Hope and Glory. Our room (no. 3) was large and nicely furnished with an excellent bed and spacious private bath. bath. It had a semi-private balcony. The property was totally refurbished a few years ago by an innkeeper with excellent taste who obviously hired an excellent architect. Cottages are available in addition to rooms in the main building. The innkeepers themselves are very friendly and very helpful in identifying local attractions. The good (not great) breakfast was served in a lovely, shaded garden setting. We will visit again! We didn't eat dinner there but the dining room has been well-rated by others.

Room Tip: Given the location all rooms will likely be quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DAGTucson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2013

We had a very nice stay in July 2013. Our room was clean and nicely decorated. The owners and staff were kind and very attentive. We went on the cocktail cruise on the Faded Glory which was fun. The cruise leaves from down the street so we used the hotel bicycles to get there. I was a bit disappointed to learn that the pool was over at the vineyard and not on the hotel grounds as it made it slightly more inconvenient. We didn't end up having time to get to the pool.
We had a very nice experience but I thought the hotel was pricey. Then again, I am a bit of a cheapskate!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jlrva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2013

We stayed here this last Monday night and had a lovely visit. I can not say enough about the manager. Her warmth and spirit make you feel comfortable from the moment you step into the front door. My fiance is not a "B and B" fan to be honest and we typically stay in large hotels/resorts when we vacation. However, I really wanted the cozy and intimate feel of a smaller establishment for this short trip and the cottages seemed like a nice option. We stayed in cottage #1 and it was gorgeous. The inn was impeccably decorated and the gardens divine. We really enjoyed riding the bikes around town, to the nearby historical church and the winery. We dined elsewhere for dinner but had a relaxing drink and played a game of checkers upon our return. I absolutely loved breakfast served by the owner herself on the back patio. I was a bit disappointed that multiple restaurants and shops were closed since our trip was on a Monday/Tuesday, but we pretty much had the place all to ourselves including the pool the next day. That being said, I kind of felt like maybe it would have been nice had we been offfered an upgrade to a cottage with a kind bed or balcony. We literally were 1 of 2 tables at breakfast the next a.m. As for the value of this inn.... I can say that the nearby Tides Inn is less expensive for a weekday this time of year, but breakfast is not included. My only other complaint is that the pictures online are a bit misleading, as I thought this inn was on the water and definitely is not. Overall a lovely experience, but I can not say I'd spend 300 dollars to stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JoeyandTinaCarney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013

Hope and Glory was nice but nothing spectacular. The area is adorable and the people at the inn were nice, but it is quite pricey and I really, really don't get why everyone loves it so much. FYI...There is no TV in the rooms. I think this should be stated on their website - if it is, I couldn't find it anywhere. I rarely get to relax and watch TV and this was a treat I had been looking forward to.....Since there was no TV, I thought I'd relax on the balcony and read. It was after dark, so I needed a little light in order to read. There was a fixture on the balcony ceiling, but it didn't work. I called the main desk and she said the light was not functional!!! For $270 a night, I they could have done a little better.

Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank KathleenR1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dpatteson, Owner at Hope and Glory Inn, responded to this review, 13 July 2013
Hi Kathleenr1,

We are most disappointed that we were unable to delight you. We are bit perplexed that your visit occurred almost a year ago and why you choose to write us now. Our Manager does remember you and felt she did her best.

You were kind enough to identify two things for us to reflect on for improvement.

You would have liked a TV in your room.

The Hope and Glory is a place to disconnect from life’s stresses; and, our guests have thanked us for 13 years that most of our accommodations, by design, do not have TVs.

We considered adding “no TVs” to our website and decided it was not necessary because we do list all of the amenities in our rooms. Should someone wish a TV, we have two for everyone’s viewing. We also have vineyard accommodations called tents which do have TVs which was an option for you when you made your reservation or while you were our guest.

Because we believe the word “no” (as in “No TVs”) is inhospitable and not in our vocabulary; using that word in print on our website was more so unacceptable.

The balcony ceiling light was not functional.

The light on your porch you wished for reading was not functional on purpose. We learned from our guests that it attracts bugs, especially in August; and, it shines, often annoyingly, in the room next to yours which also shares your balcony.

To make us a better hotel, we have asked our staff to more sensitive to those who miss TVs and the outdoor light. A little bit of explaining can go a long way.

Please come and stay with us again.

Dudley and Peggy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elkton, Maryland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2013

We went to H&G Inn to celebrate my birthday!! The owners were away on vacation during our week long stay June 10 to June 15. However, the staff was wonderful.
Meseret was very pleasant and friendly and greeted us warmly upon arrival.  She escorted us to the cottage.  She recommend fine restaurants and we enjoyed every place we had dinner.  She was attentive, kind and sweet. The main Inn and our cottage (#6) were beautiful and very comfortable,  We got a good night's sleep on the very comfortable bed.  Our cottage was immaculate.  The privacy was good and we appreciated the convenient parking and ease of carrying  our luggage a short distance to the cottage. The breakfasts every morning were, as they say, "to die for"!!!  Beautiful presentation by their wonderful "chef" Karen (who by far was the most helpful during our stay), and a delicious and fulfilling breakfast every morning!!!  It was especially thoughtful of her to ask if I had any favorite foods I would like to be served for my "birthday breakfast".  I told her Eggs Benedict--and it was excellent!!! The dinner served at the Inn by Chef Ann was excellent. Every course was presented well and quite delicious!!!   It was a very nice touch when my delicious sticky toffee pudding was served with a candle to celebrate my birthday and with guests singing Happy Birthday---sweet!!
The pool and the vineyard was wonderful!!!  Kudos to whoever maintains that pool!  It was immaculate and not over chlorinated (which destroys bathing suits!!).  We had a lovely time relaxing by the pool--it was great and we were the only ones there!  The vineyard experience was also nice.The cocktail cruise was wonderful and the weather cooperated so we were able to take in all the beauty of the area while exploring the Rappahannock River--awesome!!!!  Overall, we had a wonderful time and it was a great way to celebrate my birthday!!

Room Tip: We had cottage 6 which is nice and secluded in the back of the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joanne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2013

We've lived in VA since the mid 1980s and just learned about Irvington a month ago. This tiny town is nestled in with other historic towns in the VA Northern Neck along the Rappanhock River. Irvington offers a touch of history, shopping, dining, flat land to bike, a vineyard, oysters and more. For us, it all began at the Hope and Glory Inn.

We were welcomed by the owners, Dudley and Peggy, who then introduced us to Mezeret. She gave us a tour of the "whimsical and romantic" former school house and made sure we had everything we needed in our lovely yellow room with a balcony. Everyone shared their warmth, kindness and professionalism throughout our two night stay.

The grounds are dotted with plaques reminding us of important things like "breathe" and beautiful flowers throughout the front yard and surrounding the breakfast area. We found lots of little treasures inside and out. Anne's delicious dinner was such a treat! I'll try to recreate some of her meals using her new cookbook.

We drank some fabulous wines and ate roasted oysters nearby at the owner's vineyard called the Dog and Oyster Vineyard. The Pearl was my favorite white wine! Just a short walk away we floated in their pool flanked by a large wisteria.

It truly was an escape for us...just about 3 hours from Northern VA. Enjoy!

Room Tip: I imagine each room is uniquely decorated, equally stunning and comfortable!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Irvington
4.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Kilmarnock
19.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Gloucester
Hampton Inn Gloucester
#1 of 2 in Gloucester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
19.4 mi away
Quality Inn Gloucester
Quality Inn Gloucester
#2 of 2 in Gloucester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.1 mi away
Washington Burgess Inn
Washington Burgess Inn
#1 of 1 in West Point
3.0 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
16.0 mi away
Ma Margaret's House B&B
Ma Margaret's House B&B
#1 of 5 in Reedville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
19.8 mi away
The Inn at Tabbs Creek Waterfront B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hope and Glory Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hope and Glory Inn

Property: Hope and Glory Inn
Address: 65 Tavern Rd, Irvington, VA 22480-2014
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Irvington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Irvington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Top 10 in the US" - five times. Fodor's, Frommer's and Moon travel guides - perennially awarded their highest ratings. Recommended by Select Registry. Historic schoolhouse eclectically styled in a trendy waterfront resort town full of chic shops. Soak in a hip pool; taste wine in our nationally acclaimed vineyard, The Dog and Oyster; or, cruise onto the water aboard our oyster boat, an authentic Chesapeake Bay "dead rise." Experience incredible spa treatments and savor our Chef's fine dining in our Dining Hall. Extraordinary corporate retreats and magical weddings. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hope And Glory Hotel Irvington
Hope And Glory Inn Irvington, Virginia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing