We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Inn, but with problems...”
Review of Hope and Glory Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hope and Glory Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Irvington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 July 2006

My wife and I stayed at the Hope & Glory for the 4th weekend. We were told there was a cancellation, and that a cookout was planned for Sunday night. We traveled there -- we'd never been to the Northern Neck before.

Let me say the Inn is indeed terribly romantic, as they say. But....

-the cookout was apparently cancelled
-our cabin ("cottage") had a tiny shower, no bathtub, for $250 per night...
-we were never told about the existence of a pool (2 miles away) until the subject came up by accident the day of our departure
-the neat "outdoor bathtub" enclosure was overrun with insects.

All in all, we had a nice stay, the breakfast was fine (certainly not tremendous), etc. For the price we paid, we think we did not get good value. Much more TLC vis a vis the clientele is, we think, needed.

  • Stayed: July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank NorthPotomac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dpatteson, Owner at Hope and Glory Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2007

At reception our guests are provided with a welcome letter which states "if you should desire something we have overlooked, simply ask". As innkeepers, we value this courtesy so we can strive to better their experience.

Re: the cancelled cookout - Because we are most sensitive to the experience of our guests, although rare, we may chose to cancel an event when the number of attendees is low . In this case, the number of guests was only two. We always suggest another venue.

Re: tiny shower and no bathtub - As much as we would like to enlarge our bathrooms, the historic preservationists would not allow it. We are upgrading them for the 2007 season.

Re: pool comments - We regret that you were unaware of our newly opened pool located in our vineyard property just a short .5 of a mile from the inn and not 2 miles. It is mentioned in our brochure; and, noted on all of our e mails.

Re:-insects in the garden bath - Insects are normally found outdoors. This comment is the first; and, our staff who cleans the garden bath daily has never seen an insect problem.

Re: TLC - We do regret anytime a guest feels our TLC may not have been at it best. Unfortunately, we, the owners, were in New York during July and August focusing all that we had on cancer treatments. With this exception of this period of time, our Trip Advisor comments have been nothing but the highest praise - all 5s.



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (221)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

216 - 221 of 221 reviews

Reviewed 30 March 2006

My fiance and I escaped to the Hope and Glory Inn for a magical weekend at this little gem. Arrived Friday,3/17/06, left Sunday 3/19/06. Had room #5 on the top floor of the main house. Great bed, nice shabby chic decor, very quiet and romantic. Breakfast was all together at 9am, wonderful conversation with the other guests. Beautiful gardens out back. Rode the free bikes the Inn provided all over town. The owners Peggy and Dudley were very welcoming and charming and told us all about the area and gave us some great restaurant recommendations.

  • Stayed: March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter73981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2005

My fiance proposed to me here in May 2005 - actually on the back porch of one of the "tents" off the property (just down the road at the Vineyard Grove). The tents are amazing - the same decorator as does the inn and its cottages makes every corner worth a look! We returned in August 2005 to plan our wedding here - we can think of no more perfect place and want so much to have our family and friends experience the wonderment of the inn and the town of Irvington. Never have we experienced such a gem! A warm welcome awaits you from your hosts Peggy and Dudley - you'll leave thinking you have known them forever, and planning to return to visit again!

  • Stayed: May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jeanne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
439
Reviewed 4 December 2004

The Hope and Glory is wonderful. We fell in love during our first stay, and were so enamored, that we have returned several times. It is magical! It you want to get away from the maddening throngs, this is a good place to land. The staff is outstanding, breakfast is yummy and the decor is cute and clever

Irvington is a sweet and simple little town, yet chock full of sophisticated touches. The Trick Dog Cafe is a treat -- Don't miss it!

5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2004

We stayed in cottage #3, which was perfect for my husband and me and our 14-year old son. Two bedrooms and one bath, with a really cute "Shabby Chic" living room and dining area as well. The breakfasts were wonderful, and the staff could not be friendlier or more helpful. Community tennis courts are right next door. The Trick Dog Cafe is a wonderful treat for dinner.

2  Thank Travelbuff32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Saint Paul, MN
13
Reviewed 24 September 2003

We came across this amazing gem of a B&B right in the middle of nowhere. It was sort of like stepping into a fantasy -- beautiful decor, fabulous gardens, attentive staff, great food, every detail perfect. It was almost like magic. We checked in and never wanted to leave. Unfortunately the weather was somewhat inclement so we didn't get to try the outdoor shower/clawfoot tub which looked awesome.

I guess the same owner also has a restaurant -- The Trick Dog Cafe -- it's supposed to be great, but we didn't get a chance to check that out either.

I would definitely recommend this, and we'll certainly be going back.

3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Irvington
4.7 mi away
Best Western Kilmarnock Hotel
19.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Gloucester
Hampton Inn Gloucester
#1 of 2 in Gloucester Courthouse
403 reviews
4.1 mi away
Kilmarnock Inn
Kilmarnock Inn
#1 of 2 in Kilmarnock
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Flowering Fields B&B
Flowering Fields B&B
#1 of 2 in White Stone
6 reviews
14.5 mi away
The Gables
The Gables
#3 of 5 in Reedville
32 reviews
16 mi away
Ma Margaret's House B&B
Ma Margaret's House B&B
#1 of 5 in Reedville
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hope and Glory Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hope and Glory Inn

Address: 65 Tavern Rd, Irvington, VA 22480-2014
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Irvington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Irvington
Price Range: £97 - £200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Top 10 in the US" - five times. Fodor's, Frommer's and Moon travel guides - perennially awarded their highest ratings. Recommended by Select Registry. Historic schoolhouse eclectically styled in a trendy waterfront resort town full of chic shops. Soak in a hip pool; taste wine in our nationally acclaimed vineyard, The Dog and Oyster; or, cruise onto the water aboard our oyster boat, an authentic Chesapeake Bay "dead rise." Experience our spa treatments and savor our Chef's fine dining in our Dining Hall. Extraordinary corporate retreats and magical weddings. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hope And Glory Hotel Irvington
Hope And Glory Inn Irvington, Virginia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing