We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay”
Review of Hendre Barns

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fron
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hendre Barns
Ranked #1 of 1 Fron B&B and Inns
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Have just returned from 2 night stay at Hendre Barns, we had previously stayed there in 2011.
Really impressed yet again, fantastic rooms, extremely clean, comfortable and well maintained.
Emma was very welcoming and cooks an excellent breakfast. Will be returning to the area next year and will definitely staying at Hendre Barns.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MargaretD25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (29)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 29 reviews

Reviewed 6 July 2014

We stayed in the barn last year (sorry it has taken so long to write a review) and it was fantastic. We were made very very welcome by Andrew and Emma. The barn is beautifully decorated and equipped. It really is home from home and felt very opulent! There was everything we needed for a self catering break. There was also a lovely decked area with table and chairs with amazing views over the countryside.
We had a quick look at the B and B rooms during our stay and they looked to be of the same standard. Immaculate, homely and really well thought out.
We are going back in September this year as we enjoyed our stay so much last year.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Emma L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

We've just returned from 3 fantastic days staying in Aberdaron, one of the 3 B&B rooms available at Hendre Barns.

Emma is the perfect host and can't do enough for you, she also cooks a cracking breakfast. We're vegetarian and that was no problem for her, in fact nothing was.

We loved the location, remote but close to aberdovey, beaches and Portmerion. The rooms are to an extremely high standard, lovely rooms and comfy beds and the shower is one of the best I've experienced. The whirlpool jacuzzi style baths are an excellent touch and add to the luxurious feel.

We'll be back!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
Thank johntyodonty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

6 of us, and a dog, had a fabulous stay at Hendre Barns in the week before Easter. The barn has been beautifully converted and was the ideal base for our stay. We visited beaches, castles and Snowdonia and had the well thought through comforts that the owners provided to return to at the end of each day. It is probably the best equipped rental we have stayed in. Thank you Emma, we are so glad we found you.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annie111968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

What a wonderful mini break we have just had. Stayed in a luxurious room with fabulous en-suite facilities. The whirlpool bath was to die for!!! The breakfast made to your liking by Emma set you up for the day, with lovely fresh eggs from the hens and a log fire burning to keep you warm. Emma and Andrew gave just great ideas and directions for some relaxing days out in the wonderful countryside and National Park. Being just a short drive from the coast and great beaches was a surprise to me. Can not wait until we can book to go again.

Room Tip: All rooms were of a great standard
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robbie384
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

After a busy Xmas we treated ourselves to a long weekend away in this beautiful part of the world. I think it must be the best holiday cottage we have ever stayed in and we travel quite a bit. From speaking to the owners it is a new conversion, only a few months old. It really was the perfect family base for us, the cottage was really well equipped which is exactly what you need with a little one. There really is a wide variety of things to do in the area, my little boy loved the minature steam ride at Betws-y-coed. We are already planning a return trip! Our thanks go to Emma and Andrew for looking after us so well.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

We found this little gem quite by accident. One night of camping in Beddgelert had the effect of making me miss a few home comforts! Discovered the B and B in a brochure in Porthmadog tourist info. One quick conversation with Emma (the owner) later, and 3 nights were booked. Directions from Emma were spot on.
The location of the place is amazing - quiet, peaceful and stunning views over the majestic Welsh mountains.
Emma is very welcoming but with out being OTT. She has a wealth of knowledge about the area and if you do not know the area well, she will point out all the local attractions and amenities.
Breakfast could not be faulted. Although my partner and I don't normally eat much early in the day, Emma's breakfast hard to resist.
The quality of the fixtures and fittings was superb. For the price we paid (£193 for 3 nights), we were very impressed with the facilities. The whirlpool bath was a lovely extra and the bathroom was spacious, airy and incredibly clean.
The coffee/tea making supplies were plentiful and of high quality.

Having had a bit of a nose through the window of the self-catering accommodation, it is clear that the same high spec of the B and B rooms applies here.

Thank you Emma for making this trip one to remember. We will certainly be returning!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank breezeypeezey1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fron
2.8 mi away
Plas Bodegroes
Plas Bodegroes
#1 of 1 in Efailnewydd
201 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Old Rectory
The Old Rectory
#1 of 1 in Boduan
77 reviews
3.8 mi away
Somerdale Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hendre Barns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hendre Barns

Address: Pentre Uchaf, Fron, Pwllheli LL53 8EZ, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Pwllheli > Fron
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Fron
Price Range: £41 - £56 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hendre Barns 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hendre Barns is centrally located on the Llyn Peninsula with stunning views of Yr Eifl and Snowdonia beyond. At Hendre Barns we offer both self catering and B&B accommodation. Our three luxury B&B rooms each have their own private access, so you can come & go as you please. Two rooms have baths for soothing those aches and pains after a day of activities. We also offer as standard Egyptian cotton bedding, Freeview TVs with integral DVD players, comfortable seating and tea and coffee making facilities. Delfryn is our newly converted self catering accommodation. The barn sleeps six people, in three double bedrooms, two with 5' king size beds and one with 3' twin beds. With two bathrooms (one is en-suite to the master bedroom), vaulted ceilings with exposed beams and open-plan living, it is the perfect place to spend a week with family and friends. Delfryn also benefits from free Wi-Fi. Linen and towels are inclusive. Two well behaved dogs are also welcome for a fee of £25. We are pleased to be able to offer secure storage for bicycles, ample parking for boats and trailers. Attractions within easy reach include Portmeirion Italianate village, steam railways, Snowdonia National Park, coastal walking, cycle trails, beaches, golf courses and much more. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing