We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely The Best”
Review of Plas Bodegroes

Plas Bodegroes
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$31 - US$62
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: 5 star Restaurant with Rooms in Georgian manor house with private gardens. Four course dinner Tuesday - Saturday £48.50, Sunday Lunch £24.50
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Absolutely The Best”
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Enjoyed a fantastic dinner, the food,service and friendliness was superb, we visited here in June which was excellent, but they have raised the bar even higher, I will never understand why this establishment is not Michelin Star rated, the menu was varied and the hors d'oeuvres and chefs special delicious

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    29
    15
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Always a treat”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Plas Bodegroes is always a highlight of the holiday and this visit did not disappoint. There was the usual very warm welcome and the staff were very friendly. The food was lovely and done to a high standard. The attention to detail is wonderful.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Catrin O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Never fails”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

I have been coming here regularly ever since it opened 28 years ago and it came up trumps again. This time was a Sunday lunch which began with drinks on the verandah overlooking the beautifully kept lawns and garden. There followed a delicious three-course meal of perfect portions to leave you full but not too drowsy to drive home! Coffee in the courtyard was tranquil and felt like a special treat in the "typical" Welsh summer weather. A blend of seafood ragout, Welsh beef and a good old crumble were on the menu this time for me. Others had gazpacho, pork, hake, Eton mess and Welsh cheeses - all equally well judged. I just wish it were nearer!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Chappaz63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales, UK
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“A first class first visit”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We finally made the effort to visit Plas Bodegroes for Sunday lunch. We had a drink on the veranda and chose guinea fowl ballotine (me) and goats cheese on walnut toast (significant other) for starters, and hake (me) and roast beef (significant other) for mains. The food was excellent, as was the service. A unhurried, but professional, atmosphere meant that we could relax and enjoy the experience. Cheese and biscuits (me) and lemon posset (significant other) to finish. I'm told that the lemon posset was superb; I wasn't allowed a taste. A couple of coffees rounded of a very pleasant meal. The sun had its hat on by the time we paid the bill so we took a turn around the well-kept grounds. The lunch was extremely good value, although for me the portions could have been a little more generous. The next time we have something to celebrate we shall return to sample the dinner menu.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ygwyniad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abersoch, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Consistently Superb”
Reviewed 19 July 2014

This is our fourth visit in as many years with each visit bettered by the last. Considering the quality of the food, the location and setting, coupled with superb levels of service from the staff, we found a table of four, a couple of bottle of wine and pre-dinner drinks exceedingly good value, a point bolstered by the need to book well in advance.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank iloveabersoch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Plas Bodegroes also viewed

Pwllheli, Gwynedd
Pwllheli, Gwynedd
 
Morfa Nefyn, Gwynedd
 

Been to Plas Bodegroes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing