We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection (but pricey!)”
Review of Keswick Hall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Keswick Hall
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Keswick
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 March 2012

I can't say enough good things about Keswick (and a few quibbles at the end of the review- including a $62 for a small breakfast!) First, the service is incredible. Each staff person we encountered was gracious, friendly and helpful. The small luxurious details are everywhere. Public restrooms have individual cloth hand towels and upscale soaps and lotions. Lovely decor-- just as you would imagine an English country manor. There were fresh flowers in our room, which was furnished with a beautiful 4 poster bed. Our bathroom looked like it came straight from the pages of the Restoration Hardware catalog, complete with a huge bath tub, luxurious toiletries, cozy bathrobes, and a towel warmer. There is a gorgeous workout room, with great equipment and a beautiful view. Grounds of the estate have beautiful landscaping. We enjoyed ourselves playing tennis and walking on the secluded nature trails.

There were numerous complimentary aspects of the stay. We were given a free upgrade to a balcony room with a view. There was a lovely (free) set up with coffee and gourmet teas in the lobby. Bowls of fresh fruit in the gym and the golf club were there for the taking. Several activities, including tennis courts and bicycles, are available at no charge.

Now the quibbles: Given how generous the other aspects of the stay were, we were really surprised at a $62 breakfast that consisted of an egg white omlette, glass of milk, and toast for me; three triangles of french toast, glass of orange juice, and a very small fruit plate for my husband. With tip, it came to $62!!! It was beautifully presented and served in their elegant restaurant, but still... We came on the "Reader's Choice" package so there was a $50 resort credit per day but we didn't realize it could be used to reduce the room rate until we checked out. The impression we got was that we had to purchase something at the resort (hence the breakfast).

Also, we didn't realize that certain activities would not be available until April (such as the indoor pool, which was under renovation, and archery, which we really had our hearts set on doing). Strangely, the sheets on the bed were a little rough, which was odd in such a luxurious setting. Finally, there is a dress code for tennis that “colors are allowed but the clothing must be predominantly white, and no gym shorts.” Fortunately, it wasn’t enforced when we were there since we had no advance warning and wouldn’t have been able to play.
But these were small things-- overall it was great and I would highly recommend the splurge.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank praline1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JenniferCrispPRMgr, Public Relations Manager at Keswick Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2012

Thank you for posting a review of Keswick Hall. We are so pleased that we were able to exceed your expectations in most areas but we apologize that you did have some disappointments. The indoor pool renovations are now complete and we look forward to having archery open for the spring season but we do regret that those wonderful aspects of the resort were not available during your stay. We do hope that you will visit again to enjoy those!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (478)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

326 - 332 of 478 reviews

Reviewed 5 March 2012

Where to start? The previous reviewers have used the pertinent words: "graceful manor, stately, bucolic," and I would add, warm and friendly. We have a well-mannered pointer that was treated like she just won Westminister. (she didn't.....). Our dinner in Fossett's was memorable. The service was attentive without being intrusive. Throughout the house there were flowers that looked as if they had been picked on the proberty....seasonal witchhazel and other flowers that in no way had that "florist shop" look. At one point we were reading in a sitting area and someone came to lay a fire (if we wanted one....we did.). I honestly can't remember when I enjoyed a stay more.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jacqrio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JenniferCrispPRMgr, Public Relations Manager at Keswick Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2012

Thank you for your review and for adding "warm and friendly" to the list of favorite words to describe Keswick Hall. The florals in the hotel are often picked from the gardens at the Estate and we are always delighed to welcome canine traveling companions. Thank you for choosing Keswick and we hope that you will return again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2012

Keswick Hall is classic and classy in all of the right ways. My girlfriend and I popped down from DC for a mid-week break and this stately property in bucolic Virginia horse country exceeded all expectations.

The place can come off as a little stuffy, to be fair. The restaurant, Fossett's, maintains a 'business casual' dress code. Which is maybe more than most folks want to live up to when they're on vacation. However, the staff itself was very enthusiastic, warm and welcoming, putting any notion of not feeling like we fit in to rest.

From the water pitcher and ice bucket being filled upon our entry to the room, to the staff bringing around complimentary chocolate covered strawberries on Valentine's Day, the service really was great. Visiting the bar area, more casual than the restaurant, was a great treat. The bartender was very knowledgeable and poured a great cocktail. The atmosphere itself really felt otherworldly. Like vacationing in Thomas Jefferson's guest house or 'Downtown Abbey'. Right down to the colonial decor, old, dark wood, crackling fireplaces and billiards (OK, 'snooker') room.

They also have a year-round heated infinity pool which looked amazing, but we didn't have a chance to dip in. Also - I don't golf or play tennis - but that's at your disposal too. As is a very well appointed workout room.

Also, downtown Charlottesville is an easy 15 minute drive. We went into town daily and often dined there. The food in Charlottesville is surprisingly diverse and good. Whiskey Jar was a notable hit.

Great for a romantic weekend away for a couple or just a relaxing, serene trip away for anyone.

My one and only gripe....with all of the other amenities being so wonderful, down to the real pewter flatware in the restaurant, why are the bedsheets so, so scratchy? Why??

Thanks, Keswick. Great stay. Keep up the good work and friendly, attentive service.

Room Tip: Make sure you have one facing the grounds, not the parking lot. Additionally, our third floor (top...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Socrateslunchbox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JenniferCrispPRMgr, Public Relations Manager at Keswick Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2012

Thank you for your recent visit to Keswick and for posting your review, including mention of all the many activities that the resort offers and some of the details that we are delighted to hear enhanced your stay.
We have also taken note of your comment regarding the sheets and apologize that they were not as comfortable as the rest of your experience. We couldn't agree more with your observation that sheets should never be more than luxurious and will review the handling of those for the comfort of our future guests.
We hope that you will return soon for another escape!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2012

This graceful manor has everything you could ask for. It exceeds itself in its plush interior to its wonderful restaurant and gardens that encompass the manor from golf to a leisurely bike ride around the countryside, what more do you need to relax and step back in time. Well worth the money.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank roscrea1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatthiasSmith, General Manager at Keswick Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2012

We're so glad that you were able to "step back in time" with us here at Keswick Hall! Sounds like you were able to enjoy many aspects of our offerings, both indoor and out. We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2012

My wife and I took a quick mid-week break to the Keswick and I have to say, it couldn't have been more relaxing, beautiful and enjoyable. The drive to Keswick Hall is almost worth the trip in and of itself. The grounds are immaculate and the hotel is simply picturesque. We were able to enjoy a wine tasting overlooking the grounds and I have to say that was a high point of our stay. It's not inexpensive, but for what we got in return, we certainly enjoyed our stay. If you are a person who likes larger, more modern hotels it certainly is not for you. But if you like the experience an intimate inn can provide, this might just be your choice!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TAS504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatthiasSmith, General Manager at Keswick Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2012

Thank you for posting a review following your "mid-week break" with us. We're so glad that you enjoyed not only the wine tasting, but also the grounds and our intimate setting... not to mention the beautiful drive!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2012

I was just at Keswick with my mother who is 81, my daughter who is 23 and my sister whose birthday we were celebrating. This was a surprise for her. We have stayed there a couple times before and it is one of our favorite places. This visit we were upgraded to a balcony suite which was fabulous! We happened to have beautiful weather, so we could actually really enjoy the balcony/porch. The hotel and staff were wonderfully helpful and made our stay very memorable. The dinner we had at Fossetts was, once again, one of the best meals we've ever had! All four of us raved about it. The service and small touches by the staff for my sisters birthday were so appreciated and lovely. The pool was open and heated which was an additional treat! All in all it was a fabulous night which made us want to return again and again! Thank you Keswick!

Room Tip: I've stayed in four different rooms and they have all been wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lolosplace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatthiasSmith, General Manager at Keswick Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2012

Thank you for the wonderful review and for returning to Keswick Hall for your family get-together and surprise birthday celebration. We greatly appreciate you recognizing our friendly staff, who enjoyed making sure it was a "fabulous night"!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2012

It was the first time we visited Keswick Hall. My husband and I went with our daughter and her husband and their girls. Our rooms were beautifully decorated and spacious and accomodating. From the first minute we set foot inside the door, the manager , the doormen, the concierge and all the waitstaff helped us settle in and made our stay wonderful. Our daughter and her girls were recovering from bronchitis and everyone did their best to make them feel better. My daughter and her family came with their puggle and he was welcomed every where and it felt decidedly like home but better. We had only one slight glitch, as my husband has reported, with the High Tea but that was minor in the grand scheme of things. I have made reservations to return this spring and summer and am readying myself to make reservations for the fall as well . I sincerely appreciate all the graciousness that was shown us and the joy of being able to travel and find refuge in a most welcoming atmosphere especially as we had a small child and a dog in tow. Thank you Orient-Express for not only Keswick Hall but also for the Inn at Perry Cabin !

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pamela R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatthiasSmith, General Manager at Keswick Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2012

Dear "Pamela R:"

What a wonderful compliment that our staff made your maiden Keswick Hall visit "decidedly like home but better." Thank you. And, thank you again, not only for letting us know that our offerings suited you and your family so perfectly, but also for reiterating -- so very nicely -- that we missed the mark on your High Tea. While I greatly appreciate that, in the grand scheme, you viewed our missteps as minor, we take this grievance quite seriously, and I invite you to contact me directly now, or during one of your planned returns this spring or fall, so that I may have the opportunity to thoroughly reset the stage. In the meantime, very best wishes for a healthy New Year!

Sincerely,

Matthias

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Keswick
1.8 mi away
Clifton Inn
Clifton Inn
#23 of 35 in Charlottesville
355 reviews
6.5 mi away
Omni Charlottesville
Omni Charlottesville
#5 of 35 in Charlottesville
1,853 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Charlottesville
Hilton Garden Inn Charlottesvill...
#7 of 35 in Charlottesville
974 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Monticello
Comfort Inn Monticello
#22 of 35 in Charlottesville
543 reviews
7.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlottesville
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlo...
#1 of 35 in Charlottesville
974 reviews
6.4 mi away
200 South Street Inn
200 South Street Inn
#11 of 35 in Charlottesville
718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Keswick Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Keswick Hall

Address: 701 Club Dr, Keswick, VA 22947-2615
Region: United States > Virginia > Keswick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Keswick
Price Range: £150 - £547 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Keswick Hall 5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
History and spectacular landscapes come together at Charlottesville, where Thomas Jefferson country meets Virginia's Blue Ridge Mountains. Celebrated landmarks, including Jefferson's Monticello and the University of Virginia, are clustered here among swathes of the East Coast's most beautiful scenery, home to renowned horse races, hunts and vineyards. This is the setting for Keswick Hall & Golf Club, an impressive resort with 48 newly refreshed guest rooms, a luxurious spa and the award winning Pete Dye golf course, Full Cry. Enjoy tennis, archery, award-winning dining, croquet, children's activities and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Keswick Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Keswick Hall Hotel Keswick
Hall At Monticello Charlottesville Keswick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing