We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy, Comfortable and Peaceful”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Kilmarnock Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kilmarnock Inn
Ranked #2 of 2 Kilmarnock B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Chantilly, Virginia
1 review
“Cozy, Comfortable and Peaceful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2013

The Kilmarnock Inn is a very special place in the heart of Downtown Kilmarnock. This quaint Inn is perfectly located in Downtown Kilmarnock, close to shopping it is very well decorated and the atmosphere is very zen. I had stayed in the Inn this past weekend and am looking forward to repeating my stay with some friends to enjoy the atmosphere, the food and the shopping. I actually purchased a dinner gift card for two of my dearest friends that will be celebrating their wedding anniversary. I just know they will have a pleasant meal and will most likely stay the night. Looking forward to my next stay there. Thank you for a pleasant experience!!!!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eva S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    85
    17
    8
    1
    1
See reviews for
18
50
6
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Colonial Heights, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2013

I waited a week to write this review because I wanted to make sure I could tell it without emotion. We came to the Northen Neck to celebrate my husbands birthday- I'd planned a day of golf, followed by a relaxing stay with dinner at the Kilmarnock Inn with our best friends, who were also going to stay at the Inn. We arrived around 4 PM to check in and to confirm our dinner reservations (we had phoned the 6:45 reservation in earlier that day). The staff was very friendly, but couldn't find our reservation. This should have told us that they weren't very organized, but we gave them the benefit of the doubt. They apologized and said that apparently someone had neglected to write it down but they could accommodate us, We were given the tour and taken to our cottage room, which was comfortable and clean. They even called someone to pick up firewood upon request for the outdoor fire pit.
We had time to relax in the gathering room and watch football on the big screen TV before retreating to our room to get ready for dinner- we were very satisfied with the lodging and enjoyed socializing with other guests.
Here's where it all went downhill- we arrived for dinner and we ordered four cocktails. One arrived correct, and the second was wrong. The other two were not delivered, so they were ordered again.
First course: we ordered two crab soups and our friends ordered one salad (which they were told was large enough to split). We were served one crab soup (which was cold and had to be returned) and two salads (with feta, instead of removing it as requested), We finally got the two hot soups delivered and they were good. Our friends removed the feta and ate their salads.
Next came the entrees: one salmon (asked for vegetables and no risotto) three steaks (one med rare, two med well). The steaks were served incorrectly, so we traded plates and moved forward.
Keep in mind, we'd ordered another round of drinks which were also delivered incorrectly( jack and ginger instead of coke) and then were delivered a different bourbon than requested. We were told they were out of the call brand requested- I'll never know what we were actually served...both husbands know their bourbons, and this was nothing they'd ever tasted ( or want to repeat).
The salmon was bland and raw in the center, risotto was served instead of vegetables. By this point, we were looking for the hidden camera and for someone to come out and say this had been a bad joke. No luck- wait staff just seemed totally unorganized and clueless. Nice enough, but without direction. The manager stayed by the bar and never entered the dining room or asked how the service was going.
The highlight of the evening was the homemade ice cream- which was delicious.
I would highly recommend eating elsewhere when you stay at the Inn. Don't put yourselves through the frustration. This clearly fell way below our expectations- such a shame because it's got great potential.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DeborahT332
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brentwood, Tennessee
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

I stayed two nights at the Kilmarnock Inn in a room that looked like my own cottage. It was a lovely room with a queen bed, flat screen tv and a bath. But I also had my own front porch with table and chairs that faced a commons area that was a lovely garden with benches and chairs. Opposite my room, across the commons area was an entertainment room for invited guests to use for visiting. The breakfast was included and it was wonderful.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anne1941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

Wonderful place to stay and enjoy the sights in the Northern Neck. Joined friends from all over Virginia (and North Carolina) for a wonderful weekend. Inn keepers were more than accommodating. Highly recommend to all!!!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BarbShoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level Contributor
345 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

This was my husband's surpise birthday gift. I booked the Cavalier room (which has a nice covered private balcony and HUGE bathroom - its got a deep 1 person jacuzi that became a 2 :)). We used it as a base for some boat shopping Saturday in Deltaville. We had a lovely dinner on Friday night - they make excellent Maryland Crab soup - and coming from the Bay area, I ought to know! Then in the morning, our stay included a FULL breakfast - it was huge and quite good. Then when we returned on Saturday evening, we relaxed with a bottle of wine in the common room below the Cavalier. We had the place all to ourselves. Sunday morning we awoke to a breakfast buffet that was not quite as good as the food off the menu, but are they ever? We would certainly visit again. If you go, say hello to George Washington, the FIrst Cat of the Inn.

Room Tip: Any of the rooms on the courtyard would be nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nav1go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Umbertide, Italy
Level Contributor
110 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013

The inn is nicely situated in the center of Kilmarnock Virgnia a nice little town. Main building is an old restored house. Outside in the back are several newly built buildings housing rooms. I liked the fact that they all had balconies or porches fronting on a central green space. The room itself was OK. TV quirky. The ice bucket had a broken scoop. There was a room with communal TV and ice machine. Too bad the ice machine didn't have a way to scoop in the ice. The hot water in the bathroom tub ran out when the tub was about 4" deep (and this was in the afternoon when the Inn was not busy nor fully booked!) The plug to keep the water in the tub didn't stay plugged so you had to keep your foot on it. There used to be a nice mirror on an arm but the arm remains but alas no mirror. Our room was Tyler. They are all named after presidents.

The restaurant left a lot to be desired. We ordered the special NY strip steak. It was about 1/3 inch thick and gristly and stringy. It is odd that an Inn in Virgina wine country doesn't have a single Virginia wine. Shame on you! Included breakfast was a buffet. Overcooked dry scrambled eggs, runny deviled eggs, dry biscuits. Innkeeper needs to look into these issues. They are not that hard to fix.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shtinky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk, Virginia
Level Contributor
210 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013

Stayed at the charming Kilmarnock Inn in downtown Kilmarnock, VA for a friend's 50th birthday bash in Deltaville, VA across the Rappahannock River. The Inn was charming, the breakfast buffet was excellent, and the serene courtyard was a great place to relax, have a drink, or just read. We only wished we had stayed two nights or had been able to sample their dinner fare - the menu looked wonderful!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tyler L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kilmarnock
1.2 mi away
Best Western Kilmarnock Inn
Best Western Kilmarnock Inn
#1 of 1 in Kilmarnock
3.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
23.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Gloucester
Hampton Inn Gloucester
#1 of 2 in Gloucester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
23.3 mi away
Quality Inn Gloucester
Quality Inn Gloucester
#2 of 2 in Gloucester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Hope and Glory Inn
Hope and Glory Inn
#1 of 1 in Irvington
5.0 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
10.4 mi away
The Gables
The Gables
#3 of 5 in Reedville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
12.1 mi away
Ma Margaret's House B&B
Ma Margaret's House B&B
#1 of 5 in Reedville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kilmarnock Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilmarnock Inn

Property: Kilmarnock Inn
Address: 34 E Church St, Kilmarnock, VA 22482-9522
Region: United States > Virginia > Kilmarnock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Kilmarnock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Kilmarnock Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opening in June of 2008! Celebrating our Presidential Heritage. Classic Bed and Breakfast with outside cottages sorrounding a 100 year old pecan tree with beautiful fountain. Right in the heart of downtown Kilmarnock, an easy walk to restauarants, shopping and more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kilmarnock Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kilmarnock Hotel Kilmarnock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing