We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My Kilmarnock "home away from home"!”
Review of Back Inn Time

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kilmarnock
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Back Inn Time
Ranked #2 of 2 Kilmarnock B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 September 2012

The best part of returning to Kilmarnock is getting to stay at Back Inn Time again, as I did last week. John and Lisette Raymond, the hosts, love what they do, and it shows. They are outgoing, friendly, helpful, and thoughtful with every little detail. The wonderful classic old home is filled with interesting collections and antiques, the gardens are gorgeous, private and spectacular, all combined with a warm and gracious welcome and 'incredible' -- there's no other word -- breakfasts....truly, why would anyone stay anywhere else?

Room Tip: All the rooms are exceptional, with private baths, and lovely and interesting decor. Choose from &q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JTTRBUG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
backinntime, Owner at Back Inn Time, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2013

Thanks again for the wonderful reviews, always love it when you come and visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (81)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

74 - 80 of 81 reviews

Reviewed 7 April 2012

Our three nights were like home away from home! From the initial welcoming to the marvelous breakfasts each morning and a comfortable settling in each night - a delight! And if my husband says we'll be back - that's a compliment! A wonderful place to cozy up for a visit near the sea! John and Lisette's warm hospitality and exquisite care were greatly appreciated!
Jack and Judy

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jack and Judy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
backinntime, Owner at Back Inn Time, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2013

Thanks for the lovely compliments. Hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2012

We were pleasantly surprised by this quaint charming four room B&B. The Innkeepers, John and Lisette, greeted us when we arrived making us feel most welcomed. Our room was nicely decorated and very clean. The breakfast we received each morning was delicious; each day a new experience. Lisette even tried a new recipe on us and we enjoyed each bite! John and Lisette took the time to sit and visit with us providing recommendations on what we should do that day. Back Inn Time B&B is conveniently located so that you can get a good feel for the Northern Neck of Virginia. Lots of history, shopping, and restaurants to enjoy. Or a great place to just get away from it all for a while. Thanks John and Lisette for a wonderful time!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denise H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2011

Once we arrived we were greeted by the inn owners, who were very welcoming. The room was just right, and breakfast in the morning was splendid.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kurtbaier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
backinntime, Owner at Back Inn Time, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2011

THanks for the wonderful reviews, they are greatly appreciated

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2011

One of the nicest B&Bs we've had the pleasure of visiting. Lovely grounds, beautiful old house set well back from the road, well appointed rooms, tasteful furnishings, friendly innkeepers, delicious and ample breakfasts, and very reasonably priced.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SeattleWolverine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2011

My husband and I decided to travel to his hometown for a few days. We wanted somewhere to stay that was relaxing and could accomodate us with our 17 month old daughter. John & Lissette gave us just that. The rooms were beautiful and comfortable. They supplied us with a pop up crib for our daughter which was greatly appreciated. There aren't even adequate words to describe the hospitality and food. Fresh ginger snaps when we arrived and the most delicious breakfast. The location was ideal, just a few blocks from the center of town. The property was lovely and we are hoping to return during warmer weather when we can enjoy all the outside sitting areas.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shepherd22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2010

This was my third stay at Back Inn Time, and the hosts, John and Lisette, were helpful, kind, yet not intrusive. A sad visit for me, to be with my Father during his final illness and death, and the hosts comfortably accommodated my erratic hours. Best part of every day was coming back to my room, always welcoming, often with fresh flowers, and finding a plateful of fresh cookies thoughtfully left out for my return, along with beverages and chocolates. Lisette and John could not have been more supportive, yet respectful of this challenging time. My sister, a travel agent, also visited here and though she does not like B & Bs, was charmed and delighted with the comforts and privacy we were given.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JTTRBUG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kilmarnock
1.2 mi away
Best Western Kilmarnock Hotel
0.6 mi away
Kilmarnock Inn
Kilmarnock Inn
#1 of 2 in Kilmarnock
127 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hope and Glory Inn
Hope and Glory Inn
#1 of 1 in Irvington
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Back Inn Time? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Back Inn Time

Address: 445 Irvington Rd, Kilmarnock, VA 22482-9532
Region: United States > Virginia > Kilmarnock
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Kilmarnock
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing