We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Couldn't be any better!”
Review of Back Inn Time

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kilmarnock
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Back Inn Time
Ranked #1 of 2 Kilmarnock B&B and Inns
Atlanta Ga
Level Contributor
106 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Couldn't be any better!”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Each room is tastefully decorated with its own modern shower. The bedding is luxurious and the sheets freshened in the sun are a thoughtful touch. Brand new air conditioners in each room mean that the temperature can be any you prefer! In my case chilly :) Ask to see Lisette's tea sets and other charming antique glassware. The rest of the house is both cozy and beautiful. It reminds me of a more intimate boutique hotel. Love it!! The grounds are beautiful with lots of artistic and polished touches. The back patio is a great place to sit and have an iced tea while enjoying a good book. The front yard is a nice place to relax and enjoy Virginia's charm and tranquility. Lisette and John are both warm and welcoming with just the right amount of hosting. Would definitely recommend Badk Inn Time, amd have many times since we left.

Room Tip: All of the rooms have different looks, but are equally nice so hard to choose just one
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelisHeaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
backinntime, Owner at Back Inn Time, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
What kind words, love hearing them and thank you for writing a great review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    7
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
14
34
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Our hosts were thoughtful and cordial for our brief visit. Our room was comfortable and the breakfast was delicious. Easy to find in a quite central location convenient to exploring the Northern Neck area. Definitely will revisit and spend more time.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank G M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
backinntime, Owner at Back Inn Time, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Thank you for your review, your kind words are encouraging and appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Culpeper, Virginia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Lisette and John are wonderful hosts and Lisette's cooking is well known to be wonderful.
The home is easy to find, a perfect getaway with beautiful grounds and landscaping, lovely guest rooms. We had tea on the outside deck - delicious toasted homemade bread, strawberries and tea of our choice. Everywhere I looked were interesting objects, structures and plantings. Lisette's bubbly personality and dazzling smile added joy to my visit. Both she and John help with sights and events to enjoy in the area which is perfect for long walks. My room was enchanting and so comfortable, with every amenity - spa toiletries, rainfall shower, a tray with bottles of interesting drinking water. Breakfast! WOW. Started with a beautifully presented slice of pineapple on the peel and sectioned, a yogurt sauce and nut pieces. Orange juice and Water in stemmed glasses, non stop coffee, a main dish of melt in your mouth ham, a large sort of frittata featuring hashed potatoes and a smoky flavor, garnished with a sliced fresh strawberry, followed by 2 sticky bun donuts and truly delightful company and conversation. This was a very restful and refreshing break. I recommend it for a getaway visit - 2.5 hours from Washington, 1 hour from Richmond. Perfect.

Room Tip: I loved my room overlooking the back garden and the décor was beautiful - white with an antique whit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CulpeperVA22701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
backinntime, Owner at Back Inn Time, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Thank you for the wonderful review, it is always welcome and appreciated
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level Contributor
79 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Owners Lisette and John continue to add delightful things to their wonderful elegant home...this visit I was envious of the incredibly yummy bedding in "Romance" (they've named their rooms "Romance", "Elegance", "Tranquility", and "Inspiration" for the type of decor in each), my favorite room. I felt as though I was sleeping on and in a wonderfully soft cloud! While it seems they've already thought of every luxurious and thoughtful touch imaginable, somehow they keep on adding and creating amenities and improvements. They greet you like a returning friend, bake cookies to delight you, and create every morning a breakfast feast - no other word - that is overtopped only by the one you'll receive the next morning. I have traveled almost exclusively via B & B's for many years, and this is the best one I've ever visited. I think good hosting comes down to a hospitable and welcoming 'gene', and Lisette and John truly have that.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JTTRBUG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
backinntime, Owner at Back Inn Time, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
It's always a pleasure seeing you again. Thanks for the wonderful review. It's always welcome and appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budd Lake, New Jersey
Level Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013

We have had the pleasure of staying at Back Inn Time several times now and each stay has been very enjoyable. Lisette and John are the perfect hosts and are very hospitable. Both the interior of the house and the grounds have been decorated with care and the breakfasts are outstanding. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LynnO561
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
backinntime, Owner at Back Inn Time, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Thank you for the great review, it's always appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glen Allen, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2013

The whole family stayed the night for the Christmas by the Bay Parade. The moment we walked in, it was so warm and inviting! The Christmas decorations and the hosts made you feel like you were right at home! The rooms were beautiful and cozy. The breakfast was scrumptious! I can't say enough how grateful we are to have been able to share our memories with this wonderful couple! No wonder my parents stay there all the time!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mamamoodyof2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
backinntime, Owner at Back Inn Time, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Thanks for the great review, we enjoyed having the whole family. Makes me miss family holidays.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glen Allen, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Our stay was wonderful. The property and landscaping are incredible, the owners are very pleasant and inviting, the accommodations are private and relaxing, and breakfast was unbeatable. I cannot say enough about the breakfast- each one unique and seemingly better than the last. Will definitely return.

There is an excellent YMCA within walking distance (0.7 miles).

Thanks so much!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank apathyinspired
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
backinntime, Owner at Back Inn Time, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Many thanks for the lovely review, they are always appreciated
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kilmarnock
1.2 mi away
Best Western Kilmarnock Inn
23.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Gloucester
Hampton Inn Gloucester
#1 of 2 in Gloucester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
22.9 mi away
Quality Inn Gloucester
Quality Inn Gloucester
#2 of 2 in Gloucester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Hope and Glory Inn
Hope and Glory Inn
#1 of 1 in Irvington
5.0 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
10.9 mi away
The Gables
The Gables
#3 of 5 in Reedville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
12.5 mi away
Ma Margaret's House B&B
Ma Margaret's House B&B
#1 of 5 in Reedville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Back Inn Time? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Back Inn Time

Property: Back Inn Time
Address: 445 Irvington Road, Kilmarnock, VA 22482-9532
Region: United States > Virginia > Kilmarnock
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Kilmarnock
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing