We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All aboard for an amazing adventure!”

Wandering Duck Canal Boat Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
US$261.52*
and up
4-Day Narrowboat Adventure from Manchester to the Peak District
Ranked #1 of 1 things to do in Buxworth
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Wandering Duck is the unique canal boat experience. They offer day tours for small groups of up to 8 people. Their day tours are hands-on; have a go at steering their 69ft Narrowboat, or help work the locks.
Useful Information: Lockers / storage, Food available for purchase, Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We had a super girlie weekend aboard the wandering duck. The boat was clean, well designed and equipped, had 2 bathrooms with showers, 2 x 4 bunk beds which were comfy, double up front and there was plenty of room for 10 of us. We did the adventurous route which entailed 16 locks, a couple of tunnels and an aquaduct on the first day and 18 locks on the second day so we were certainly kept busy!! We decided we wanted to get involved rather than do a relaxing trip and were thrilled with our choice.. It was super you could help out with the locks, steer the boat, sit back, walk along the canal path, canoe in the boat.... The choice was yours! The food was made by Ruth and was yummy, plentiful and healthy. Ruth and Mark made great hosts and you were made to feel at home on their boat and they looked after us very well. They were friendly and knowledgeable and fun too. What are you waiting for get boating !! Vikki

Thank 76Vikki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark B, Owner at Wandering Duck Canal Boat Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Thanks Vikki. I'm really pleased you had such a good time and your review is really really helpful to us (and hopefully helpful to others too). The Canal Boat Adventure is an adventure alright, but you guys took it in your stride and worked those locks no problem at all!

It would be great to see you all again - perhaps go for the other route next time (or on second thoughts maybe you should come with us to Wales!)

Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (59)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

45 - 49 of 59 reviews

Reviewed 30 May 2014

Fantastic few days aboard the Wandering Duck (Canal Boat Escape trip) despite the weather... Great scenery, food, wine, tea, music and company. My particular highlights were the locks, the chocolate brownies and watching the surfing ducklings, but there was nothing I didn't enjoy. Thank you again, Ruth and Mark, for a brilliant trip - I will be back soon!

Thank victoriaellis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark B, Owner at Wandering Duck Canal Boat Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Thanks Victoria for the lovely review. I'm glad you enjoyed the 2 nights onboard and that the rain didn't hamper your experience at all. You did a great job of steering the boat and those surfing ducklings were very cute! We love cruising in the Spring when there's loads of duckings and goslings about.

I hope we see you again some time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Just how much fun can you have messing about in a boat .... well it turns out you can have loads. Mark and Ruth who run the Wandering Duck Tours have hit the nail on the head by providing hosted breaks on their lovely canal boat. You get all the fun of travelling up (down?) our beautiful canal system without needing to know how to drive a canal boat. But if you want to, our brave hosts will let you take the helm and of course there's all those swing bridges and locks to negotiate ... and Mark provides great lessons on how to open and close them properly!

Accommodation is clean and fresh, showers cosy with lots of hot water. We had plenty of room (8 of us in total) and the food is just great. Mark and Ruth cater for both meat eaters and us veggies (lovely toad in the hole Ruth!) and everyone can enjoy Ruth's wonderful cake and pudding baking!! She even made a birthday cake for one of our crew!

I would thorough recommend this as a way to see some beautiful british countryside at a chilled and relaxed speed, whether you are travelling solo or fancy a short break with friends ... and you automatically get some great historical heritage thrown in as well. This is a great way for visitors to our beautiful country to get to see a bit of hidden Britain!

Thank lynncphoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark B, Owner at Wandering Duck Canal Boat Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Thanks so much for your lovely review and all those great photos!!

It was a genuine pleasure to meet you all and Ruth will be very pleased you enjoyed all the baking! Thanks for the kind comments about the boat too - we think a decent shower with plenty of hot water is really important so I'm glad you mentioned it :-)

I hope we get to see you all on the boat again some time. Thanks again for the review, it's really helpful to us and others.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

What an amazing few days we're having with the Wandering Duck Tours crew - Mark & Ruth. The boat is beautiful, the friendly atmosphere & the fantastic attention to detail! 6 'loud' girlies having a fantastically, relaxing few days with great hosts - OMG you have to try the homemade chocolate fudge pudding :0)

1  Thank HelenChad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark B, Owner at Wandering Duck Canal Boat Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Thank you so much Helen.

We're really pleased you had such a great time. I'm surprised Ruth hasn't kept the chocolate pudding a secret but if you head over to the website she's made it public in the blog. Don't go telling everyone - you can claim it as your own ;-)

We'd love to see you guys again for another trip - it was lots of fun!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

We went for a girls weekend on the wondering duck and we really had a great time. Really nice and clean boat. Ruth and Mark were fantastic and the whole trip was greatly enjoyed. Opening the locks was not my strong point but I ended up enjoying it. We were 10 of us so plenty of hands to help. The food was really nice and despite being 10 of us the space was relatively comfortable. We all said we will go back and try the scenic route. I will recommend the wondering duck to anyone who wishes to have a fulfilled week end. Stella

Thank frikisob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark B, Owner at Wandering Duck Canal Boat Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

Thank you Stella, I'm glad you had a good time. You did a great job with the locks and steering the boat!

The "Canal Boat Adventure" is certainly my favourite route as it's such an interesting transition from countryside to city. I think you'll really enjoy the "Canal Boat Escape" though as it's beautiful scenic countryside the whole way, plus you can take a walk to Lyme Park on that one.

See you next time :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Wandering Duck Canal Boat Tours also viewed

 
Whaley Bridge, Derbyshire
Castleton, Hope Valley
 

Been to Wandering Duck Canal Boat Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing