We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shaky choice, until we experienced this lovely place”
Review of Morven Park

Morven Park
Ranked #4 of 80 things to do in Leesburg
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Morven Park was once the home of Virginia governor, Westmoreland Davis, and his wife Marguerite. More than 70 years after his death, the accomplishments and ideals of Gov. Davis still resonate within the 1,000 acres of this one-of-a-kind place. Each year 150,000 people visit the Park, whether participating in its competitive equestrian events, touring its three museums, attending educational and recreational programs, or just enjoying the beauty of the woodlands, mountainous ridge, historic buildings, and formal gardens. Summer tour hours for Morven Park's three museums are Thursday, Friday,Saturday, and Monday 12p.m.-5p.m. and Sunday 12p.m-5p.m. Starting September 1st, the museums will be open to the public Saturdays and Sundays 12:00 - 5:00, with the last tour starting at 4:00 pm. The historic gardens, Turkey Hill Farm, hiking trails, equestrian center and athletic complex are open every day. Operated by the Westmoreland Davis Memorial Foundation, Morven Park is a non-profit organization, relying on individual donations, memberships, and event income to finance its public programs and preservation of its historic and natural resources.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities
Level Contributor
43 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Shaky choice, until we experienced this lovely place”
Reviewed 4 March 2014

This estate was purchased by a husbandfrom the south and a wife from New York. After this lawyer became a deeply committed planter, he bought a magazine and continued agricultural education. I never heard of him, though he later became something like a Tea Party governor of Virginia.
The grounds are the big feature of this place but the house in interesting and the story of the man and his wife who turned it into a monument to him is also interesting.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank DocJim65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    44
    12
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Just beautiful”
Reviewed 5 January 2014 via mobile

We went December 31 and the museum and tours were closed. It was our last day in VA before we headed back home, so we decided to adventure on our own. There's a beautiful trail to walk, it is clean, quiet, all you see is nature, little river creeks, horses and other animals. I would think spring or fall may be a beautiful time to visit. There's even a picnic area, and you can spend the whole day.

Helpful?
3 Thank LillyandMarshall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leesburg
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“History, Charm and Elegance at it's Finest!”
Reviewed 23 December 2013

We had the pleasure of taking a tour of Morven Park today with Jackie, although two of us had been twice, we both learned new interesting information regarding Morven Park. Morven Park is not one of those locations you just want to visit once, it looks a little different each time you go. The holiday decorations and furnishings bring you back to an error of grandeur, you can almost imagine what it might have been like.

You will want to allow yourself a fair amount of time, when visiting Morven Park. Morven Park offers a tour of the Main House, The Carriage Museum, The Museum of Hounds and Hunting, and a Civil War Encampment, some might say it has a little something for everyone.

We will be back to see Popcorn and Caramel when they arrive after the Holidays. Pretty neat to hear the Whitehouse Turkeys will be coming to Morven Park.

Thanks again for the amazing tour and the step back in history!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank CerrenaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
206 reviews
75 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Fine Tour”
Reviewed 26 October 2013

We had a house tour for two with Ashley, a very knowledgeable and pleasant docent. She answered our many questions with high enthusiasm for Morven Park and its history, inhabitants, and the culture of the Leesburg area. Next visit we will plan on spending time in the park and gardens and enjoying the carriage house. Highly recommend this tour.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank eileen645
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herminie
Level Contributor
34 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“BEST HISTORIC INTERPETER”
Reviewed 14 October 2013

i liked our young historic interpeter. She was knoweldge and friendly. Ashley was her name. If you love touring old homes this is the way to go. The only thing they could improve was their gardens. Best mansion the whole trip. Happy touring.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank londonschic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Morven Park also viewed

 
Leesburg, Loudoun County
Leesburg, Loudoun County
 

Been to Morven Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing