We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet night sleep, but a somewhat dumpy place!! Pet friendly.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Quality Inn & Suites
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Lexington
guysmom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Quiet night sleep, but a somewhat dumpy place!! Pet friendly.”
Reviewed 27 August 2007

Well, hubby and I needed a place to stay overnight on our way home. We used the coupon saver booklet found for free at the rest areas, and found this place listed in there. The price was very, very reasonable with the coupon (good thing! because it's not worth any more than what we were charged!!).

We got a ground floor room because of our aging dog, so that was good. But our room did smell of pet odors....now, they charge an extra $8.00 per pet per night, but apparently THEY DON'T USE THE MONEY on pet odor cleaning products!!!

Two of the 4 lights in our room had burnt out light bulbs!! But the bathroom was clean. The carpet as a whole is in TERRIBLE shape...they need to replace the entire carpeting!!

Breakfast is virtually non-existent, with basically coffee, juice and toast, so we went to the pancake house across the street.

Basically, we got a good night's sleep, they are pet friendly, and the person at check-in last evening was friendly.

  • Liked — Pet friendly, free wi-fi
  • Disliked — Poor breakfast, dingy and old carpeting, rooms not taken care of (burnt out bulbs)
  • Stayed August 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank guysmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    47
    41
    21
    23
See reviews for
84
37
7
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Davidson, NC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2007

DO NOT STAY HERE!!!

Honestly, this place was awful. Literally, the Ramada signs were gone -- it had just changed to an America's Best Value Inn -- what a joke! Ramada pulled out just in time to save their reputation!

I travel a lot and stay in some cheap hotels, but this one wasn't cheap and it was far nastier than the cheap ones I have stayed in before. We were in town for a W&L alumni weekend -- though I have no idea how anyone in their right mind would have selected this place to host alumni. This was the place that time and cleaning staff had forgotten about. The room was so dated, it literally had the same print hanging in the room on two separate walls. The bed was uncomfortable and the $5 alarm clock was bolted (not kidding) to the nightstand!!! Should have checked out immediately, but we had no where else to go except my car -- which I seriously considered for a few minutes were it not for the running water issue. Speaking of which, the bathroom was awful -- I don't have to go into sordid details, but take my word for it, you won't scrub-a-dub-dub in that tub! Oh yeah, and one night there was a huge cockroach climbing the wall -- thank goodness I drove a mile down the road and previously purchased a newspaper -- SMACK!

The pool -- well we won't even go there, because we didn't.

The breakfast was nasty -- it looked forgotten because the restaurant had been closed for weeks. I felt like I was sitting in a ghost town.

Overall, this place is terrible. It looked like someone stopped caring about the maintenance of this place in 2004. Simply put -- don't stay here -- keep driving -- home can't be that far away!!!

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Too many to list here... see review
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Crottsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lexington hotels

Palatine, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2007

This hotel is truly a dump. After traveling from
Williamsburg and driving the Skyline drive, we simply needed a room for an overnite stay. We traveled farther than I thought we would, so I hadn't researched Lexington area hotels.. We took an exit off of 81, and saw the Ramada Inn sign advertising an indoor pool. Our grandaughter wanted to swim, so we pulled in. I was relieved they had a room available, the clerk was pleasant enough, and check- in went smoothly. The exterior of the hotel looked fine, but the lobby looked drab and outdated. I thought, well, we would only be staying overnite, it should be ok. While my husband parked our car, my grandaughter and I made our way down the corridor with our luggage. I started to get concerned when I noticed the carpet looked like it hadn't seen a vacuum cleaner for some time. My concerns were validated when I opened the door to our room. It looked Dull, drab, and had a musty smell. The beds looked uncomfortable, I did a quick laydown just to check, they were. I said to my grandaughter " I don't think we will be staying, but lets peek in the bathroom anyway." I was not prepared for what I saw. Half the bathroom ceiling was on the floor. There must have been a leak from the floor above. When we told the clerk, she didn't seem that surprised and didn't hesitate to check us out as quickly as we checked in. This hotel should be closed down, I can't believe Ramada would allow one of its properties to fall into such a state of disrepair.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — the whole experience
  • Stayed March 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank plantladytwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
State College, PA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2006

I would not recommend this hotel to anyone. It is an older hotel that has not been maintained. The clerk was very nice, and surprisingly, there were many other guests. Our first disappointment came when we entered. The sign on the door said the restaurant and lounge were closed for renovations. The hotel websited failed to mention that they were closed.

Secondly, the smell of the place is strange. It was not horribly offensive, but it was strong. Perhaps years of flowery cleaning products built up. The room was also quite strong smelling. There were water stains on the ceilings throughout the place; the wallpaper was peeling and stained; the shower curtain rod had been pulled away from the wall (so the curtain did not stay shut); wall corners chipped away...need I say more. Our dog found something on the floor next to the table that interested her.

I bought a can of lysol and sprayed everything down. The breakfast was a joke. Stale donuts and decaf coffee. There was some sort of tour group visiting (they did not speak english) and they were allowed in the restaurant and served a little more (I saw eggs)

The pancake restaurant across the street was decent. My kids enjoyed the pool, but had to take a shower as soon as they returned because their skin itched from the chlorine.

  • Liked — close to interstate
  • Disliked — It was disgusting
  • Tips/Secrets — skip it
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Angel62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
227 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 230 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2005

Terrible hotel. I was there May 21rst for only one night, thank God! Check inn was very uninfomative. We were 3 in the rooms. I have the lady at the front desk what's there best rate for a triple room, she kept telling 73.00 for 2. I said OK, gave my credit-card and she charged 78.00 plus all taxes. I asked why 78.00, she said we are 3 in the room but that's what I told you. She didn't admit any wrong doing, anyway it was late after a long drive we needed some rest. They advertise a free "hot-breakfast", but only 1 per room, again we were three and the coffee is not even included. The room was horrible, kind of a back flash in the 70's!! The bathroom was not really clean, we found a long hair in the bathtub!!! The counter top of the lavatory was in desperate need of a make-over. The beds had seen better years. Every thing in the room was tied down to the furniture, even the light buld!!!! Really, never again.

  • Stayed May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jojo2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scranton
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2005

I am always grateful for a roof over my head and a shower after a long day on the road. This place did provide that.

The hotel is less than sanitary and less than secure for its guests. It smells terrible. The same dirty dishes sat in the hallway for the entire period of our stay.

There is a HoJo's next door that looks nice. Eat breakfast at Aunt Sarah's across the street.

Helpful?
2 Thank ChuckScranton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darnestown, MD
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2004

Nice, clean hotel, with kind helpful general staff. Unfortunately, two staff members made the same mistake in quoting me their check out policy when I made our reservation. Although the manager admitted it was his staff's error, he refused to satisfy their agreement, penalizing us and leaving us in a very difficult bind. He stated, "He does not trust anyone" and would not work with his customer towards a satisfactoy agreement.
Its a pretty and comfortable hotel, but I would not stay again at a place where the general manager is not willing to work with a customer to resolve issues.

Helpful?
5 Thank wendy20878
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lexington
3.4 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#7 of 16 in Lexington
82 reviews
3.9 mi away
Best Western Lexington Inn
Best Western Lexington Inn
#4 of 16 in Lexington
390 reviews
3.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Virginia Horse Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
No photo provided
17.2 mi away
Natural Bridge Park Historic Hotel
3.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lexington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn & Suites

Property: Quality Inn & Suites
Address: 2814 N. Lee Highway, Lexington, VA 24450-3132
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Lexington
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Lexington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Quality Inn & Suites hotel in Lexington lets you relax and focus on the people and experiences you came for. We’re merely minutes away from the Virginia Military Institute. You’ll find plenty of other local sites, activities and attractions to explore near our pet-friendly hotel in Lexington, including: Southern Virginia University, Virginia Horse Center, Natural Bridge of Virginia, Stonewall Jackson House, and Lee Chapel & Museum. You can also easily get to a number of local parks, entertainment venues, shopping centers and restaurants. Our Value Qs deliver professional, responsive and friendly service, as well as amenities that give you more for your hard-earned money like an indoor heated pool and a business center, plus: free hot, fresh and healthy breakfast, free WiFi, exercise room, free coffee, copy, print and fax machines. Each guest room offers a refreshing shower, hair dryer, microwave, refrigerator and coffee maker, along with an iron and ironing board. Your Q Bed features a comfortable, premium mattress and linens, a generous supply of fluffy pillows and a soft, plush blanket—because we know how much you value a good night’s sleep. Get your money’s worth at the Quality Inn & Suites. Lexington hotels like ours offer the best hotel rates and the best amenities, so you can focus on the people and travel memories that really matter. Book today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Quality Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn And Suites
Quality Hotel Lexington
Americas Best Value Inn Lexington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing