We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hampton Inn Lexington - Historic District
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Lexington
Certificate of Excellence
New Jersey
Level Contributor
76 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Perfect Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

If you are interested in exploring the charming town of Lexington, and want to be within walking distance of the historic district, this is the inn for you. Those who have stayed at Hampton Inns elsewhere will find that this one is a bit different, since the main building is a restored nineteenth century home, and the more modern extension is built contextually, so that guests feel fully immersed in the charm of old Lexington. The rooms are modern and comfortable, and parking is convenient. Guests enjoy a breakfast buffet in the historic home, which is well appointed and gracious. My family and I felt right at home, and the friendliness of the staff certainly enhanced our experience. All in all, this was a very pleasant experience, and certainly the best we have had at a Hampton Inn.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

822 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    517
    214
    59
    19
    13
See reviews for
363
250
53
89
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Granada Hills, CA
Level Contributor
69 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

Excellent and convenience location near both campuses. Historic building with spectacular grounds. Rooms are very nice and well furnished for the price. HD LCD TV with an actual HD picture. Bathrooms are very nice and look like they have been recently updated.

Our rooms, 236 & 238 did not have a balcony and they were both near the exit door. I highly discourage these rooms or any room near the exit. The door leads to the parking lot and it slams every 10 minutes. We even had a group of guests come in drunk at 2:00 a.m..

Breakfast although free, was horrible. The egg ommleete, at least I think it was an omeltte tasted horrible. To management, please updgrade your breakfast option and I will change my 4 stars to 5 stars because the customer service was absolutely spot on.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joidevivre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfield, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014

We have stayed at this hotel in the past and the people are extremely courteous and in this neat town your visit is enjoyable. I could give you a great place to eat-if you wish a simple southern cooked style meal.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Dennis R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

I've stayed at this Hampton Inn several times, since my son goes to college in Lexington. Although the rooms were outfitted a few years ago, the hotel is very well-run, the staff is delightful and the complimentary breakfast is well above average. The other great things are its proximity to town and the grounds of the hotel on a beautiful property with a historic home that serves as the front desk, a nice sitting room and the breakfast area. It's a great place to stay when your goal is to be in town to visit your kid at school.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

The Lexington Hampton Inn is one of the prettiest properties I've seen for this chain, integrated as it is with a beautiful 19th century estate. The rooms were clean and well appointed; the breakfast was excellent.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank 934nadinep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United States
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014

Nice older place to stay; I'd go back and recommended it. Breakfast wasn't bad for hotel; temp in dining area a warm; staff providing food were very friendly and nice. Down note, light from hallway came into room from door...a bit of a pain but nothing that a towel couldn't take care of.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Iric B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlborough, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

Of all the places we have stayed over the years, this was one of the best. The staff was friendly and extremely helpful. The woman at the desk helped us to find a wonderful place for dinner. The warm cookies in the lobby were a delightful touch. The room was perfect. The area the hotel was located in was safe and had a lot of historical things to see. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Diane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lexington
0.4 mi away
Robert E Lee Hotel
Robert E Lee Hotel
#5 of 16 in Lexington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
2.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Hunt Ridge
2.1 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Lexington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Lexington Inn
BEST WESTERN Lexington Inn
#4 of 16 in Lexington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
11.9 mi away
Natural Bridge Park Historic Hotel
2.0 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#10 of 16 in Lexington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Lexington - Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Lexington - Historic District

Property: Hampton Inn Lexington - Historic District
Address: 401 E Nelson St, Lexington, VA 24450-2725
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Lexington
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Lexington
#1 Family Hotel in Lexington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Lexington - Historic District 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In June of 1997 the tradition of Col Alto was reborn as it opened its doors once again to welcome visitors to the City of Lexington. Step onto the beautiful grounds of the Hampton Inn Lexington-Historic District hotel and be mesmerized. You'll find our breathtaking historic manor house-the Col Alto Mansion-nestled on seven acres. Stay in one of the 76 rooms featuring contemporary touches or one of the 10 restored manor rooms offering a glimpse into the past. Take a short walk and you'll discover Washington and Lee University. While there, be sure to see the historic landmark Lee Chapel and Museum. Pay respects at the cemetery named for 'Stonewall' Jackson, a Confederate general during the Civil War. Visit Virginia Military Institute, one of six senior military colleges in the United States. Hungry or in need of some retail therapy? Take a stroll down to Main Street to find lots of wonderful, locally-owned restaurants and unique shops. Or if you prefer, take a scenic drive down the road and you'll discover the beauty of nature at Natural Bridge, one of the seven natural wonders of the world. Enjoy your stay in our Historic Robert E. Lee, Stonewall Jackson, VMI or the Washington and Lee Rooms featuring period décor within the Manor House with wine and hors d'oeuvres served upon arrival, breakfast served in-room, evening turndown service, and terrycloth robes or relax in our contemporary guest rooms and accessible rooms featuring a refrigerator and microwave. All rooms feature a 37-inch LCD HDTV with cable channels, lap desk and free Wi-Fi, and many rooms offer a wet or dry bar. Enjoy complementary hot breakfast in the manor house overlooking the grounds or perhaps a dip in the outdoor pool or whirlpool spa on a beautiful day. Get lost in time when you stay at the Historic Hampton Inn Col Alto. Located 8 miles off the Blue Ridge Parkway. Within walking distance to Historic Downtown Lexington, Washington & Lee University, Virginia Military Institute and minutes from Natural Bridge, Goshen Pass and McCormick Farm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Hilton Hotels Direct so you can book your Hampton Inn Lexington - Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Lexington - Historic District Hotel Lexington
Hampton Inn Historic District
Lexington Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing