We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely beautiful, providing a relaxation experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hampton Inn Lexington - Historic District
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Lexington
Certificate of Excellence
Alliance, Ohio
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“Absolutely beautiful, providing a relaxation experience”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

The Hampton Inn in Lexington is by far the most beautiful hotel I have stayed in. It has the charm of the old South. The landscaping is enjoyed from the outside of the building to the inside court. The rooms are spacious, clean and comfortable. The price was high but included some nice features. A separate mini-kitchen area was included, featuring a sink, counter, cupboards, microwave and refrigerator. The mini-coffeemaker was not cleaned of a used teabag from the last guests.

The breakfast included yogurt, fresh fruit, small pastries, bagels, omelets (which were delicious, though pre-made), cereal, oatmeal, hard-boiled eggs, make-your-own waffles.No meat was available on the breakfast bar.

The service of the staff was outstanding.

The room amenities were standard - nothing special. Four adults and one baby stayed in the double queen room, and there was ample space for a crib. The bathroom was average sized. There was no fan or heat lamp in the bathroom. I would have appreciated extra bath towels

I gave this hotel a four-star rating instead of five for the following reasons: the price was high, the bathroom amenities were average, the breakfast bar was a little below average for a Hampton Inn of this price.

The surroundings and room were beautiful, the staff went over-the-top in customer service, and all-in-all it was worth at least a one-time experience staying at this Hampton Inn.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

852 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    534
    224
    61
    20
    13
See reviews for
375
260
53
95
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Danville, United States
1 review
Reviewed 19 June 2014

This Hampton Inn utilizes a beautiful 1827 historic house for its administrative functions, public spaces and breakfast service. It has a beautiful setting and lovely grounds with ancient trees. The guest room we stayed in was well furnished and very comfortable.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Gary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reston, Virginia
Level Contributor
102 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We have stayed at this hotel several times and truly enjoy every visit. This hotel is beautiful with nicely manicured lawns and the staff are wonderful and attentive. The manor house adds to the ambience and is great for relaxing, breakfast or an afternoon tea. This stay included rooms for us, the bride & groom, wedding guests and hosting a post-wedding brunch. We started coordinating with Christina last summer to get a block of rooms and a banquet room for the the brunch. Once we selected a caterer for the brunch, Southern Inn, they started talking to each other and suggested that we move to a larger room, since it would give us more room and a better flow; we were so happy we did! We got back to the hotel late Saturday night after the wedding with the centerpieces. They took them to the banquet room. When we checked on the room Sunday morning, Barbara had everything set up. All the guest tables, bistro tables, food tables, and TV for a Slide show.

Room Tip: Our room was on the 3rd floor overlooking the pool. It was great and quiet. It also had a refriger...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gmiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chantilly, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Great location and wonderful hotel with excellent service. Not far from the downtown area, which is very pleasant to walk. Many small local shops nearby. The hotel staff was very pleasant and always available. Not far from VMI.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank David V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Wylie, South Carolina
Level Contributor
36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Business travel stay. Nice property. Seemed a little pricey but nice and clean and the service was good. Continental breakfast was included. Pretty convenient location just off the highway. Would recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jimmywiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melvindale, United States
1 review
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Wonderful experience. We had a problem with noise in the adjoining room which kept us awake until 2 a.m.. We reported it next morning & was promptly given a refund for that nights stay by Cherie. She is an excellent employee. Great staff

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Emma L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dalton, Georgia
Level Contributor
98 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Incredible is not sufficient to describe the Hampton Inn Lexington. Amazing lobby area is an old home of Colonel Alto form the Civil War era. Beautiful landscaping and rooms clean and fresh. Do Not Miss Lexington, VA on your travels and stay at the Hampton. Breakfast always amazing at Hampton Inn.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Don S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lexington
0.4 mi away
Robert E Lee Hotel
Robert E Lee Hotel
#6 of 16 in Lexington
162 reviews
2.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Inn at Hunt Ridge
11.9 mi away
Natural Bridge Park Historic Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Lexington
1.6 mi away
Best Western Lexington Inn
Best Western Lexington Inn
#4 of 16 in Lexington
385 reviews
2.0 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#7 of 16 in Lexington
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Lexington - Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Lexington - Historic District

Property: Hampton Inn Lexington - Historic District
Address: 401 E Nelson St, Lexington, VA 24450-2725
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Lexington
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Lexington
#1 Business Hotel in Lexington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Lexington - Historic District 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In June of 1997 the tradition of Col Alto was reborn as it opened its doors once again to welcome visitors to the City of Lexington. Step onto the beautiful grounds of the Hampton Inn Lexington-Historic District hotel and be mesmerized. You'll find our breathtaking historic manor house-the Col Alto Mansion-nestled on seven acres. Stay in one of the 76 rooms featuring contemporary touches or one of the 10 restored manor rooms offering a glimpse into the past. Take a short walk and you'll discover Washington and Lee University. While there, be sure to see the historic landmark Lee Chapel and Museum. Pay respects at the cemetery named for 'Stonewall' Jackson, a Confederate general during the Civil War. Visit Virginia Military Institute, one of six senior military colleges in the United States. Hungry or in need of some retail therapy? Take a stroll down to Main Street to find lots of wonderful, locally-owned restaurants and unique shops. Or if you prefer, take a scenic drive down the road and you'll discover the beauty of nature at Natural Bridge, one of the seven natural wonders of the world. Enjoy your stay in our Historic Robert E. Lee, Stonewall Jackson, VMI or the Washington and Lee Rooms featuring period décor within the Manor House with wine and hors d'oeuvres served upon arrival, breakfast served in-room, evening turndown service, and terrycloth robes or relax in our contemporary guest rooms and accessible rooms featuring a refrigerator and microwave. All rooms feature a 37-inch LCD HDTV with cable channels, lap desk and free Wi-Fi, and many rooms offer a wet or dry bar. Enjoy complementary hot breakfast in the manor house overlooking the grounds or perhaps a dip in the outdoor pool or whirlpool spa on a beautiful day. Get lost in time when you stay at the Historic Hampton Inn Col Alto. Located 8 miles off the Blue Ridge Parkway. Within walking distance to Historic Downtown Lexington, Washington & Lee University, Virginia Military Institute and minutes from Natural Bridge, Goshen Pass and McCormick Farm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hilton Hotels Direct, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hampton Inn Lexington - Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Lexington - Historic District Hotel Lexington
Hampton Inn Historic District
Lexington Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing