We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Meal at 1850”
Review of Maple Hall Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Maple Hall Inn
Ranked #5 of 18 Lexington B&B and Inns
Reviewed 14 August 2014 via mobile

You must go! Just re-opened and it is terrific. The food is out of this world. We had the Buffalo Creek beef and the duck breast. Both meals were perfectly seasoned and had great accompaniments. Wednesday and Thursday no corkage fee! Well done!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Knowamy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (113)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

101 - 107 of 113 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2014

What a delightful discovery: Maple Hall has reopened under new ownership! It's a beautiful place and the new restaurant is not to be missed. The food is fabulous--fresh, local farm to
table--the chef, an award winning talent. The atmosphere is charming. We plan to dine there every chance we get.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Arl W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Had an opportunity to dine at the Maple Hall Inn restaurant as they are preparing for their grand re-opening. Restaurant 1850 has lovely atmosphere. The food is delicious, and it is beautifully presented. Employees are kind and knowledgable. Visiting Maple Hall was an inspiring and refreshing event - there is nothing like it in Lexington!

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RockbridgeFoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2012

We stayed there for a weekend with friends who also had young children. We were the only ones in the main house, which is a step back in time. Despite reading other reviews that portrayed this place negatively, we had a great time at a place that reminded me of staying over at my grandmother's house (all the warm fuzzies included). It was quite nostalgic and it was great to sit out on the front porch or balcony with some wine and good friends!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mamaluvs2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2011

Dead flies in the bath, musty, damp and right beside the main road...not how it's portrayed by the website. Service was polite and good however.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Binky1390
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2011

My only criticisms of this hotel are that there is no safe in the room and there is no Wi-Fi. I left my laptop and valuables on a table in my room and nothing was stolen. It is that kind of hotel. Quiet, secure, and with friendly service. The rooms I saw were spotless, and the furniture was Victorian-style but in excellent shape. The art work was Victorian, and there were ceramic logs in the in-room gas fireplace. The floor was shiny, random-width wood plank (probably the original), set off by attractive area rugs. US highway 11 was visible from my window but I never heard a sound from it. The continental breakfast was ample with yogurt, juice, cereal, milk, coffee, fruit, bagels, jams, and various rolls and sweet breads.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Upsilon6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2011

We had a reservation for two nights, and left after the first night. In spite of what their website says, there is NO resturant, and no lounge. The room in which we stayed had not been maintained well. There was pleanty of room, but it was just not functional. The A/C made noise all night sounding like a dish washer (my wife's description). My wife said that the room was not cleaned well enough. Security was lacking, since the front desk was vacant from 8 PM until the next morning about 7 AM.
Sorry, we'll not return.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
9  Thank JRWJR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lexington hotels
6 mi away
Hampton Inn Lexington - Historic District
5.9 mi away
Robert E Lee Hotel
Robert E Lee Hotel
#6 of 16 in Lexington
212 reviews
3.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Inn at Hunt Ridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Brierley Hill Bed and Breakfast
4.8 mi away
Frog Hollow Bed and Breakfast
5.8 mi away
The Georges
The Georges
#2 of 18 in Lexington
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maple Hall Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maple Hall Inn

Address: 3111 N Lee Hwy, Lexington, VA 24450-3200
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Lexington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Lexington
Price Range: £93 - £166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Maple Hall Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Three historic guest residences sitting on a well manicured 7.5 acres with swimming pool, spring-fed pond, walking trails, and views of rolling Virginia countryside. Private bathrooms in every guest room. The Manor House c.1850 has 11 guest rooms with a gas fireplace, Egyptian cotton sheets, period antiques, and free WiFi. Modern conveniences in a museum! Flat screen televisions with ESPN and HBO in every room. The Guest House c.1820 has three guest rooms; 1 king and 2 queen rooms all with private bathrooms. The king room includes a living room, full kitchen, washer/dryer, and Keurig Coffee Bar. The Pond House has 4 large guest suites with living rooms, and bedroom with private bath. It also offers 2 King suites with sitting area and access to a shared lounge space with microwave, mini refrigerator, and coffee station. The Pond House offers a back porch veranda complete with seating and tables overlooking the pond, and walking trails. Restaurant 1850 is located on the first floor of the Mansion and offers a fine dining option on Friday and Saturday evenings, as well as, special events, private dinners, and breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Maple Hall Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maple Hall Lexington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing