We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs an upgrade!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Howard Johnson Inn Lexington
Ranked #11 of 16 Hotels in Lexington
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
158 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Needs an upgrade!”
Reviewed 1 February 2014

We stayed here for one night in January 2014. It was conveniently near the highway, but apart from that the surrounding neighbourhood is absolutely boring. There is nothing there! The hotel itself has certainly had its heydays and could need some renovation. Not just a new layer of paint! Rooms were OK, but I would not recommend staying here for longer periods of time. Staff was friendly and helpful though! Complimentary breakfast sugar and carb loaded!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anders J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

905 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    217
    287
    221
    105
    75
See reviews for
437
190
84
108
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

My husband and I stayed here last evening on our way to FL. We needed a pet friendly hotel as we were traveling with our little dog. We were quite impressed with the cleanliness,comfort and stunning views! The staff was excellent. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on an upper floor with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annlouise4949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlantic City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
369 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 234 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014 via mobile

Nice place for a weary traveler to rest their head. Cheap....clean and friendly. Pet friendly too. Stopped here on my way to North Carolina. Free continental breakfast and USA today news paper. Lots of motels on this strip of why. This one looked better than most. Fine place for one night stay.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank billyandbobthedog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lexington hotels

Roanoke, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 January 2014

We travel for Agility Trials which means traveling with dogs. This is the nicest motel. Very dog friendly. Large rooms w/ fridge - comfortable beds. Nice hot breakfast. Staff outstanding & friendly - very accommodating. Let us checking early

Room Tip: Get a room on front side of building for beautiful view of mountains & sunset. King rooms great
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KD S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Mexico
Level Contributor
72 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

This hotel is an anomaly for the HoJo chain. We're told it's the oldest hotel in Lexington, which might lead one to believe it's a dog, but whoever owns this one has done--in our view--a super job of keeping it up. The rooms are large and clean, the beds are comfortable, and the view is amazing. This place sits at the top of a hill, with sweeping views of the countryside, and this is horse country, so it has a rural feel. Friendly staff, and the usual continental breakfast (waffles, cereal, fruit, biscuits, sometimes gravy, toast, coffee, juice) served by a lady who's actually happy to help you and happy to be working there. We adjusted our route back to NM from the east coast just to stay at this hotel again...and we'll be back. An added benefit: a mile up the road is the TA Lee Hi truck stop and Berky's Restaurant. Good menu, good food and--if you're hungry--check out the buffet. No wonder there are so many truck drivers there. Bottom line, this is a great, bargain hotel in a beautiful part of Virginia. If they ever close down, we'll be sad.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in front, on an upper floor, and enjoy the view. You can open the door to the balcon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MontagnardNM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lexington hotels
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#7 of 16 in Lexington
3.5 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
3.5 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#10 of 16 in Lexington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
3.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Inn at Hunt Ridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Best Western Lexington Inn
Best Western Lexington Inn
#4 of 16 in Lexington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
3.5 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Lexington
3.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Virginia Horse Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Inn Lexington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn Lexington

Property: Howard Johnson Inn Lexington
Address: 2836 N Lee Hwy, Lexington, VA 24450-3132
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Lexington
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Lexington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Inn Lexington 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn Lexington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Hotel Lexington
Howard Johnson Lexington
Lexington Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing