We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Comfortable Motel in a Scenic Location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Lexington

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Howard Johnson Inn Lexington
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Lexington
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very Comfortable Motel in a Scenic Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

We needed an inexpensive stopover motel on a long, late-night trip from DC to South Carolina. The unit was very comfortable and the staff extremely friendly. The breakfast was good. The mountain was great. We were just passing through, but it would be a wonderful location if you were visiting the area for the parks. Note that it is a Wyndham motel, but the link to Tripadvisor in the Wyndham survey email did not work.

Room Tip: Ask for a mountain view. We got one at the same rate as other rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank M0mmaDu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

882 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    216
    283
    217
    97
    69
See reviews for
430
186
80
101
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
161 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

The hotel was a place to stay after a day on the road. The room was on the smaller side, not notable, nor perfectly clean. The complimentary breakfast was crowded with limited choices of anything worth eating. I had an English muffin with the usual watery orange juice. They had an outdoor pool, unused on this rainy day.

Stay, if you need to decent place.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank WVUNeal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Central PA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

First time in area, not sure what to expect. Hampton was $200, Wingate $140 - no thanks.
Furniture is dated but rooms were clean. There's a thing or two, here and there, which needs to be fixed. But, the rooms and hallways were clean, hallways were a/c'd, awesome views from balcony. All staff very friendly. Strong wifi signal, throughout.
I travel, alot. There was nothing here that would keep me from not returning - unless Hampton dropped to $85.
Very nice breakfast bar - with waffles. Nice pool area if travelling with kids. Lexington is 7 minutes down the road.

Room Tip: Ask for 'mountain' side for awesome sunsets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dbenn63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio
Level Contributor
26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

This motel is about 6 miles from downtown Lexington so no walking. OK if you are interested in an interstate night but don't need to see the historic town. The staff was very friendly and the views are quite pleasant.

The room was dated HOJO, lumpy beds and pillows, etc. Each room has a balcony with sliding glass door, cheap locks, and a sticker warning "Please lock balcony door at night". Not my idea of a restful night even in Lexington.

They do a good job with what they have but I will stay at a newer property next time. I do not feel that safe on the outskirts of town.

Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank emiaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lexington hotels

Huntsville, Alabama
Level Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

First off, we had a coupon for $50.00 on a Thursday. We traveled from Alabama and it was very late when we arrived. The guy at the desk told my husband that they didn't have any rooms available left at that rate. Being so late and we were so tired we just took the $90.00 room. We were going to wake up at 6am the next morning and drive to our next destination..Well at 5:15am I woke up and felt something on my face. I tried to brush it off, well whatever was on my face, had legs and a hard shell and I had to slap it off of me. It totally freaked me out. There was no way that I could lay back down. I've stayed in many hotels before, however, I have NEVER had a bug crawl on my face. YUCK! I would never stay at the place again!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LBurt82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lexington hotels
3.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Hunt Ridge
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#11 of 16 in Lexington
3.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
3.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Virginia Horse Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Lexington
3.5 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#10 of 16 in Lexington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
3.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Lexington Inn
BEST WESTERN Lexington Inn
#4 of 16 in Lexington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Inn Lexington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn Lexington

Property: Howard Johnson Inn Lexington
Address: 2836 N. Lee Highway, Lexington, VA 24450
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Lexington
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Lexington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Inn Lexington 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn Lexington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Hotel Lexington
Howard Johnson Lexington
Lexington Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing